We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Save
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good40%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“dam square”(211 reviews)
“great location”(148 reviews)
“superior room”(35 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
246
293
121
40
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
246
293
121
40
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationmini barroyal palacered light districtminute walkshower curtaintrain stationthird floorrooms are smalldamrakeuroseuropetwindutch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel and staff , easy walk from train station , rooms were nice and clean , lots of food (restaurant was under construction) and good shopping near by , really enjoyed talking to late night staff in lobby , will definitely stay here...More

2  Thank Hipchik69
Response from Hotelamsterdam93, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your review, rest assured that your compliments will be shared with our staff! We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam. Kind regards, General Manager

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a few blocks away from Centraal Station and is surrounded by shops, convenience stores, fast food, and is across from a department store. The rooms are small, drab and not furnished well. The lighting is insufficient and the mattress and pillows need...More

1  Thank Geminifoodie
Response from Hotelamsterdam93, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We regret to learn that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. The points mentioned have our attention and we are happy to inform you that the mattresses will be replaced very shortly. We will take your comments about...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Dark, small room. Restaurant was closed for refurbishment. Overall a very poor hotel. Location was good but I really cannot think that justified the price. There are much better options than this hotel.

1  Thank a_bc565
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Arrived to find that the hotels entire front is being renovated by less than subtle workmen going hard at it with power tools for near 2 straight days. Starting earlier than supposed to and working later !. The noise level was unacceptable. Our bathroom smelled...More

1  Thank Mark A
Response from Hotelamsterdam93, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded 4 July 2017

We find it most regrettable that you were not aware of the construction works, as we are making a serious and conscious effort to be as transparant about this as possible. However, 3rd party websites may not always adhere to our requests. May we invite...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

In general and cI though was the drilling noise ( I guess from construction that is hapoening on site) at 9 AM. This went on for at least half an hour. Cocierge staff were helpful and bed was comfortable. My room also got a lot...More

Thank Noushin A
Response from Hotelamsterdam93, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Indeed, renovation works are going on and during the previous weeks we have had the worst part over and done with, which unfortunately seems to have taken place during your stay, which we regret. We do indeed have strict agreements...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$218 - US$426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$218 - US$426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
Amenities (2)
Nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leslie0910
8 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Georgia V |
Phone no to this hotel
0
Votes
Amul M
11 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hotelamsterdam93 | Property representative |
Hello sir, thank you for your interest in our hotel! The renovation will still be ongoing in March, but limited to works during business hours only. However, during the renovations unfortunately our balcony rooms are not... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Call the Hotel for the best room pros and cons"
Read review
"Great location"
Read review
"avoid the room 424, 218 is great"
Read review
"don't go to this hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing