We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Show Prices
#162 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 678: English reviews
Granada, Spain
Reviewed yesterday NEW

nice and clean hotel, with clean but not too spacious room. The staff is very kind and helpful and the prices are good. you are situated in front of the botanic garden with some nice bar where you can have a nice breakfast. The tram station is less than 100m and bring you to the central station or to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gian_Andrea71
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the zoo in a fairly residential area. We stayed in a family room for four, all single beds. Whilst the rooms werent spacious, the basics were all in place. We had an issue with the rooom not being spotless on arrival but this was dealt with. The front desk staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel F
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mel, thank you for writing your review. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with and that we were able to take care of the roomproblem straight away. I hope we may welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans

munich
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was near to the Center, 10 mins walking. Clean and caffe gratis, but the computer in the reception was too old. The receptionist were very friendly and tried always to help with taxi... Also discount flyers available

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcabad_235111
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kind regards, Hans

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year as a group of 5 couples. The rooms were clean and modern, beds were very comfy. The bathroom was lovely and modern, we always had hot water in the shower. But the skin was tiny you are literally sitting on the toilet with the sink on your lap. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly C
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Holly, thank you for writing review. I am glad to read that you and the others of your group enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Hans

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff really friendly cannot do enough for you, it's quite close to the main square like 10 minute tram ride 20/30 min for walk! Very clean & modern rooms. No complaints at all. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alishakilic
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for your kind words and your review. I hope we may see you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came back here in November with some friends and the service was just as good as before. Pleasantly smooth check in, and lovely stay! Even accommodating when we came back in the early hours one morning. Breakfast fantastic as always, and a highly recommend the double chocolate muffins and bacon (not together!), I definitely ate my fair share! Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chloe C
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, thank you very much for your review and your kind words. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice cozy hotel. Nice rooms with 4 beds (if you are travelling with the family is a plus). The beds are extra confy and warm. Breakfast has a good selection of food. The location, although not central, it is at walking distance of all major Amsterdam atractions. When returning to amesterdam I'm sure to stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomás T
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Tomas, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday (infact, i am writing this whilst in bed at the hotel)!! The location: Quiet area, just outside of the city center, literally a minute walk to the nearest tram stop (but we have been walking everywhere as it is easy enough to find your way around). The hotel: Friendly staff on reception and free tea/coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex P
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Alex, thank you for writing your review and congratulations on your birthday. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Hans

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We expected something else. Not in any way worth the price. Breakfast : standard and for that reason very expensive! Room extremely small, but clean. Bathroom the same. Staff in reception just as friendly as needed. Not exceptional but not rude. A guy (staff) didn't seem to care when we told him in a nice way, that there was something...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael A
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you for your review and thank you for informing us about our staff, we will certainly discuss this with them. I am sorry that the expectations you had of our hotel did not match with the reality. We would have gladly offered a roomchange if we had known. We do try to provide as much information about...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to be told we could not check in until 3pm when our booking said it was 2pm, we had to sit in reception and wait until 3pm to be able to check in & go to our room. We then got given our room which was on the -1 ground underneath reception, next to the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taylajayhammett
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thankyou for writing your review. I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not match with your expectations. We would have gladly offered a room to your liking if we had known this during your stay. We are always open to offer a roomchange. The key for your room is also used to open...

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#128 of 361 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#123 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: €71 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back would be better”
 of 5 bubbles 701melf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Does not apply. It's somewhere to rest after a long day of enjoying beautiful Amsterdam”
 of 5 bubbles sheelaghm994, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one that isn't in the basement!”
 of 5 bubbles Smigiggles, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Small twin room was actually very spacious! ”
 of 5 bubbles 875martinen, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the top floor. Even then you can still hear everything from the rooms around you.”
 of 5 bubbles karenlross, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay