We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Amsterdam Schiller

Show Prices
#154 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Amsterdam Schiller
See the most recent reviews
Showing 814: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 18 December 2014

The hotel in a great location. Located right in the city center, close to all the attractions. 100 meters from the flower market, 200 meters from the shopping street, close to the canals. The hotel is located in Rembrandt Square, full of cafes and restaurants. The only minus is some noise at night from the cafes and dozens of young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Assaf666
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Assaf666, Thank you very much for your review! I am happy you liked your stay at the lively Rembrandt Square. Our location is splendid indeed. We are looking forward meeting you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards,

Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Arrived on an early flight and was given our room when we arrived. Room lovely, housekeeping good even responding to requests quickly. Bar staff very professional and welcoming. A particular mention of Manon and Claudia who were very knowledgeable and kind to us on our short visit. Highly recommend this hotel not only for its location but.also for its high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackdonna1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear jackdonna1, Thank you very much for your comment on this web site! It makes me proud that you mentioned Manon and Claudia in your comment. It is always great to read that staff members are going the extra mile to help our guests. I will make sure to share your comment with the two ladies! Thank you for recommending...

Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 8 December 2014

It's located in one of the most popular and fancy squares in Amsterdam. Very good wine service. Nice place and nice people. Thanks to you, Claudia, for your kindness and expertise on blending Rioja wines and sushi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JuanFCaparros
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear JuanFCaparros, Muchas Gracias for your review! Rembrandt Square indeed is one of the most beautifull spots in Amsterdam I must admitt. I am happy to read that Claudia had a special connection with you! Kind regards,

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Service was very courtuous and pleasing. Room are large enough, had an awesome view and the price was very affordable considering the awesome location and beauty of the place and surrounding. Didn't have breakfast there, but should have. We had to walk quite a bit to find a suitable breakfast serving restaurant that wasn't an Hotel or a coffee shop.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guillaume C
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Guillaume C, Thank you very much for leaving us a comment on tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you liked your stay with us and regret the fact that you did not have breakfast with us as I am sure you would have loved it! Maybe during a next visit you can try our fresh baked assortment on...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 November 2014 via mobile

1) Location: top for party-seekers. The city is rather small, youccan either visit places on foot, by pt or taxi. Lots of bars and clubs round the corner. Restaurants rather touristy. 2) Room: size ok. Bed too small, we have seen single rooms with bigger beds. Windows not dense (its november!!!) so half of the room feels like a fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABZH_ontour
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear ABZH_ontour, Thank you very much for your review! I am happy to read you liked our location. I am happy to tell you that as of december 1st new beds will be installed in NH Schiller. The beds are a part of the NH Brilliant Basics programe and will give comfort for all our guests. Thank you very mucht...

Reviewed 20 November 2014

Stayed here for business, do ask for rooms at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Staff at the breakfast would walk you through the breakfast table, telling you what is available and what could be requested. Staff at the counter were giving you tips on where to go for a walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meg L
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Meg L, Also on behalf of Ali I would like to thank you for your comment! It is a pleasure to read that the teams of the different departments did such a great job in providing the right service to you! Reading your reaction makes me proud and proves we are on the right track! Kind regards,

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Charming older hotel in a great location. I was able to walk to the Rijksmuseum in about 20 minutes. Excellent breakfast buffet, including gluten-free bread and options. Very comfortable bed. Very friendly helpful staff. I would like to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca L
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca L, How nice of you to leave us a comment! I is great to read you liked your stay with us and where able to enjoy the nice sights Amsterdam has to offer. Kind regards,

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 November 2014

If you need a place to rest your head in the centre of Amsterdam then this place is OK. As its the location for broadcasting an evening chat show in the bar, there is no-where else to go apart from your room as the bar and restaurant are closed to guests unless you want to come early or be part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve D
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Steve D., Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you bumped in the crowd of the Late Night Show which is broadcasted from our brasserie. The location of the hotel is great indeed and I am happy that you liked it. Maybe it is an idea to stay opposite of the NH Schiller in NH Caransa during...

Skanderborg, Denmark
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Both for business and for leisure trips, I love staying at this hotel (or the nearby NH Doelen). The hotel is placed very central in Amsterdam, and the prices are very fair. On top the staff is just great. I definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter O
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Peter O, Thank you very much for your praise of our staff. It is very pleasant to have you as our loyal guest! Once againg thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers! Kind regards,

South East London
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed in a jounior suite room 517 5th floor over looking the square, having requested a back of the hotel room 4months before I was slightly upset as I wanted to avoid any noise at night time, I was told there were no jounior suites at the back of the hotel having said that the noise from the square...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Movardo
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Movardo, Thank you very much for your review! I am happy to read that our staff reacted well on your request for a quiet room and were willing to move you in case you did not like the room we booked for you. It is great that you did find the noice less present as it is written in...

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (322)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (53)
Viewed
Superior Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,736 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: €109 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and NHHotels so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Amsterdam Schiller staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from NH Amsterdam Schiller staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on opposite side of square!”
 of 5 bubbles 233shirleyp, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some noise as city hotel overlooking vibrant square. Room 2nd flr but told higher rooms quieter and if issue they'd move us.”
 of 5 bubbles 571valn, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter, but as stated I requested a quiet room but put at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 855sue, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms not facing the square are definitely quieter”
 of 5 bubbles etravel81, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room when booking. Try and get breakfast included in the rate”
 of 5 bubbles lasvegas1232014, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay