We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel The Exchange

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 738: English reviews
St. Helens, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location, right on Damrak, rooms clean and quirky, and a perfect little coffee shop under the hotel which was great for breakfast. Staff was helpful and we had a late flight back so our bags was looked after all day by the Reception Staff. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Joe, thank you very much for sharing your great experiences. We are happy to read that your stay at Hotel The Exchange was perfect. We would love to see you back again. For your next stay with us, we recommend to book directly via our own website to receive the best price. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

clean even though all white!! nice and helpful personel, great location easy to find and not far from center, train station and Dam square. Comfort (slept like a baby) and the hotel's cafe made some good coffee and the people worked there were very nice and helpful too!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamza F
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Hamza, thank you very much for this great review. We are happy to read that we had good coffee, nice staff and you slept like a baby! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have no idea why people are complaining about this hotel? We have just returned from a 3 night stay over new year and we couldn't speak more highly of it! Staff were brilliant from check in, we arrived early .. check in accepts card payment only, no cash but we knew this beforehand due to contacting the hotel! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, thank you very much for this great review! It's very nice to read you had an amazing stay in our hotel last week. We are happy to read the staff and location were perfect and you had a great shower and the most comfortable bed ever. We would like to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Hotel...

Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very conveniently located, about 5 minutes walk from the train station. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend it. I think probably this is one of the most affordable and center located hotels in Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki4477
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Niki4477, thank you for your excellent review. We are happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and that our staff is friendly and helpful. We hope we may welcome you agian. If you plan to visit us again, please book via our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchnage Team

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel from 2016.Jul.08 - 10 for two nights at a cost of $570 CDN. I am finally getting around to writing a review, sorry for the delay. This hotel is extremely conveniently located a short walk from the main station. It has a very small doorway entrance and is more easily located by looking for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easyHwolf
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear easyHwolf, thank you very much for your detailed description of our hotel.We are very happy to read you enjoyed our central location. Due to our special design, all rooms are impregnated and approved by the fire department, so it is definatellt safe. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you're after something a little different right in the heart of Amsterdam, look no further than Hotel the Exchange. It's about a 5 minute walk from the central station, and even less to Dam Square and all the shopping you could possibly want to do. The room I got had a huge comfy bed with the perfect number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella K
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Ella, thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you had a good stay in the coolest hotel ever. We hope you will be back soon in Amsterdam and visit us again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this hotel from the minute I walked through its door. It feels like a little secret place of quietness on a very busy street. Location is perfect, a short stroll from the main station. The room was small (we did book the smallest) but it was absolutely fine to be honest. Dont let this put you off you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tresadla
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's very nice to read you had a warm and cosy stay in our hote! We are happy to read you will certainly be back and will recommend our hotel to others. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked because of price. Doing my search it was best value for me as traveling alone. the hotel floors are separated into two halves and have different elevators. The 1st night I got took the wrong elevator and thank goodness a staff member was available to help me find the room ( never had this problem before). also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sea-mike
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately you experienced some troubles with finding the rooms, but we hope it was nice to explore the hotel. Of course you can request a room which is accessible with only one elevator upon your next visit with us. Please contact...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Hi i recently stayed in this hotel and can say its fit for purpouse,we stayed in a room that had fabric pleats all over,inclyding the only window room was small no tea/coffee facilities but very clean,i wpuld stay again just in a different room is excellent for.the city very close xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa, thank you very much for sharing your experiences. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel and room were very clean. We do have coffee- and tea facilities in our 5star rooms and provide water kettles upon request in all other categories. We hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Hotel...

Reviewed 7 December 2016

My friend and I were on a short break in the city- my first visit. The Exchange is easy to miss because of its narrow frontage- just a doorway wide- but once inside this charming hotel is a haven from the bustle of one of Amsterdam's busiest streets. We were given a fabulous upstairs room with wonderful views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Heather, thank you for your amazing review. We are happy to read that Hotel The Exchange is good for short breaks like yours. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. For the best price, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

770 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (207)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 361 in Amsterdam
932 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#138 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
411 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: €96 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Woking
5 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor 4, Get a room with a view of Damrak”
 of 5 bubbles JoeM641, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room serviced by the elevator in the lobby so you don't have to change elevators to get to the room.”
 of 5 bubbles sea-mike, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We used the cheapest of budget rooms and found it to be perfectly suited to our needs”
 of 5 bubbles bassmanjoe90, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the back so it wasn't attached to any other room which was great!!”
 of 5 bubbles Kat_1177, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has several room categories and star levels, be sure to know what you are booking.”
 of 5 bubbles V7441LImichelleb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay