We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Start your review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I love this Hotel! If you walk through the reception , you feel always you are in the palace! Nice atmosphere , nice restaurant and cafe! They have kind of renovation outside but its ok. If you have time ,try and enjoy their terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilk t
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner & I travelled to Amsterdam over Easter. After much research we booked the InterContinental Amstel. My partner is an IHG Ambassador & having stayed at many IHG hotels over the years, know that the brand stands for luxury holiday travel & excellent customer service. The Hotel is stunning - it sits on the bank of the Canal &...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bl0ndie72
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I very much appreciate it that you took the effort to write such a comprehensive review. It is a true pleasure to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your Easter break at our hotel and loved the palatial style of our hotel. I am also proud that my team provided you with helpful service and made your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent high tea and amazing service! We have had high tea all over the world and agree that this hotel's offering ranks among the best. The fresh stropfwafels at the end are a really thoughtful touch. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoRoamingTravelers
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments about the Royal Afternoon Tea. It is an absolute pleasure to read that you ranked our high tea as one of the best of the world. We look forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam in the near future. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. we were upgraded to a superior room overlooking the Amstel river. what an amazing view. the room was spacious and bathroom and ameneties superior. the concerige was very knowlegable and helpful it assisting with restaurant bookings and tickets for sightseeing. Felt like a king

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumendra N
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. We are pleased that we could make a memorable anniversary here with us in the Amstel Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed to amazing view over the Amstel river and that the concierge was very helpful in assisting with bookings and tickets to enjoy our bustling city. I look forward...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Professional service staff, especially if you're checking in as a club member. The rooms are neat and clean, with nice linen on the bed, but the mattresses are a little old. In general, they have good amenities but they need to upgrade to a universal outlet, like usb outlets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dd N
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for your review about your stay with us. It fills me with joy to see that your received professional service, especially during your check in. Thank you for your feedback about the rooms, I will take it definitely into consideration and next time you plan on visiting our hotel please contact me through amstel@ihg.com so...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

As always, i had an excellent stay at the famous Amstel hotel from Intercontinental. I first stayed at this hotel when i celebrated with birthday 5 years ago where my partner treated me with a special breakfast with my own chef :) Love this hotel as i can just step out and walk around and be able go shopping and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissTabbs
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is a pleasure receiving this great review and reading that you had an excellent stay with us. In addition, I am very happy to see that you received great service from all my team members. I look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Victorian ''Grande' Hotel now is a modern five star . This is a 'must' to visit when in Amsterdam. the decor is georgious & the service superb. it is historic, built originally in 1866.There was a pianist at the pino when i went there for tea

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pajamahead
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for your review about your experience at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It is an absolute pleasure to see that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and find it a must to visit. I am also very happy to read that the service was superb. My entire team and I look forward to welcome you back...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely, old school hotel with great service. Rooms are spacious, if a little dated. Concierge was really informative and helped get the reservations we needed. Overall a great place to stay just outside of the city center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JdB7906
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. I am more than happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the great service you received. In addition, it is a pleasure to see that our concierge gave you a lot of information and assisted you with anything you needed. Thank you once again and I look...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a last minute family night away with a suite and adjoining room at the Amstel. It was disappointing! Our river view was completely obscured by scaffolding blocking the windows, stains on the carpet and sofa, and the food and organization of breakfast was below expectation.. This hotel needs some serious updating to justify its reputation and price. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nH1
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your honest review. I am happy to read that your children loved the pool and that you received pleasant service by my team. However, I feel sorry for the discomfort that you have experienced during your stay because of the scaffolding and the disappointing breakfast. I kindly ask you to contact me through...

Derby
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Weesperplein metro, and is well positioned on the banks of the Amstel. I was welcomed by the doorman, and then given a very warm and friendly welcome by the check-in agent (after the 10 minute wait...). I was given details of the hotel, along with good things to do in Amsterdam....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youngsterdave76
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you were welcomed in a very warm and friendly way and enjoyed the Dom Pérignon suite. I would like to thank you for your compliments to my team. I look forward to welcome you back when you visit...

711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (621)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (304)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
449 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,491 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: €367 - €807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room overlooking the River Amstel is recommended”
626edwinc, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Brasserie restaurant is a must visit and you can sit, eat and drink on the Amstel river with great views.”
JonathanR517, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View of the Amstel River.”
peggyt_12, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for executive suite and try to avoid 4th floor rooms.”
TariqShalfan, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suite on the Amstel--Fabulous!!!”
CBSciarra, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5