We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Show Prices
#84 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

From start to end it was an amazing stay! Superb staff at reception, friendly and helpful during check in and check out! Concierge had a personalized and amazing plan for us during our stay! During night a room service order and it was great! Modern and refurbished rooms, no detail has been forgotten! I would definitely recommend this hotel, completely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fleur S
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is great, The rooms have very nice modern new furniture, The staff are awesome from the check in, concierge, cleaning staff, waiters and all. Actually i liked everything and will go back on my next visit.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donda79
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Donda, Thank you for your time to write your experience in NH Collection Barbizon Palace. We will share your comments about the service of the staff with our teams. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work. We are happy to read you like our new interior after the renovation. We are looking forward to welcome you...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A great hotel, easy to reach from the airport and located close to centre. Excellent rooms , helpful staff. Brilliant room facilities . Would highly recommend a visit. I didnt have breakfast at the hotel. A great little cafe is just outside hotel if you dont want breakfast at the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tmrps
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Tmrps, Thank you for your outstanding review. We appreciate this really much. We will share your comments about the service of the staff and rooms with our teams. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work. Indeed we are fortunate with the location of the hotel. It will help our guests to enjoy the heart of Amsterdam...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for a long weekend the start of Jan and I loved it! The rooms were lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and in the middle of everything !! Would definitely recommend ! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice_Virgo_1992
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Alice, Thank you for your outstanding review. We appreciate this. We will share your comments about the service of the staff with our teams. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work. Indeed we are fortunate with the location of the hotel. It will help our guests to enjoy the heart of Amsterdam within a few footsteps....

Larnaca
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had booked to stay for New Year's Eve at this quite expensive hotel, because of its central location (close to Sky Lounge where we planned to celebrate New Year's and close to the train station), because it seemed like a decent hotel and because it was a special night for us. And it was, generally, a good hotel. Nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheByzantinist
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear TheByzantinist, Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed you stay in the hotel, the room and our new design.Indeed we are fortunate with the location of our hotel. It will help our guests to enjoy the heart of Amsterdam within a few footsteps. We constantly aim to provide our guests...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am extremely disappointed with my stay at the NH barbizon palace and still dissatisfied with this 5 star hotel who did not offer a five star service but a 3 star service . To begin with, once i arrived to the hotel, there was no bellman to carry my luggages so i had to carry them by my own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omar B
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Omar, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in NH Collection Barbizon Palace with us. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not completely meet your expectations. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have...

Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a 4 night stay here with my boyfriend and I cannot fault this hotel at all! The staff were amazing and the standards are incredible! The only down side to it is that the mini bar in the room is well over priced but that is expected with it being a 5* hotel. I will be returning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taylordover
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to read you think our service and standards are incredible. We will share your comments with our team, as this is a reward for their continuous work to give every...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfectly located opposite to the centraal with all activities just happening on the back side. It's really amazing, clean with so helpful staff looking for you to offer help. Love it and recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wkgunnere
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Wkgunnere, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with our team, as this is a reward for their continuous work to give every guest a memorable stay. We are delighted that you will recommend us and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay at the Barbizon every year with exception of last year due to the hotel been refurbished. I can say that the quality of the refurbishment is better than i ever excepted, the hotel lobby looks amazing and the rooms are of top quality using top end products throughout. The service the staff deliver is second to none 24/7.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t-pott72
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear T-pott, Thank you for this outstanding review. We really appreciate this. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with our team. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work. We are delighted to read that you think our refurbishment was beyond your expectations. We are looking forward...

Tzur hadassah
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have booked a night in nh Amsterdam city center. For some reason they had overbooking. They transferred me to the Barbizon. Great business hotel. Specious rooms, great view (at least from my room) and spoiling breakfast. It was so good I forgot to complain about the overbooking event.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kukudy
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Kukudy, Thank you for this outstanding review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us after the overbooking. We will share your comments to our teams and especially about the breakfast to our food and beverage team. We are looking forward to welcome you back to NH Collection Barbizon Palace. Kind regards, Martine Conings Hotel...

676 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (465)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Apartment (62)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (58)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (56)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,231 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: €167 - €354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and NHHotels so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“canal view is split level.”
 of 5 bubbles Aar0nBNZ, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying the upgrade for a room with a canal view as it is not worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles DominicDeBurca, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not believe them when they claim that you will get a view”
  • How do they honestly call this a view? They don't. They are dishonest.
  • How do they honestly call this a view? They don't. They are dishonest.
  • How do they honestly call this a view? They don't. They are dishonest.
  • How do they honestly call this a view? They don't. They are dishonest.
  • How do they honestly call this a view? They don't. They are dishonest.
 of 5 bubbles twinkles, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor. The heating/ac unit is fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Purplestar096, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had booked a standard superior, room location was perfect, lovely and quite for excellent night sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Julietum1, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay