We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bert Haanstrakade 1074, 1087 HJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Expedia.com
US$126
View deal
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$126
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (158)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (26)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#54 of 471 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam is the world’s first hotel to use gravity and natural flows of solar light and wind to form a natural air conditioning system. It is established on a manmade island string, at IJburg, the youngest region of Amsterdam, across the 10 floors of an energy neutral designed and awarded building. With top-notch service, a cozy hip atmosphere, 195 beautiful rooms and unique facilities including the Wind Sky Bar and Herbs Garden Restaurant, the Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam embodies urban hospitality in a mindful experience of comfort for travelers and citizens of the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
Dutch

Location

37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
0Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Contact
Bert Haanstrakade 1074, 1087 HJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol18 kmSee all flights
Rotterdam Airport58 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
127Reviews11Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 37
  • 18
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Frequent Foodies wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom53 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Great location - 5 min walk from a tram stop which takes you straight into the central station in 20mins Room was average, for what we paid it could have been nicer. Very small and not very cosy. Was very clean though. Staff were great, helpful and all spoke English. We had an unexpected charge as we checked in, the deposit was €50 per person per night!!! So you can imagine that’s a lot of money to hand over as soon as you get there, especially when you are staying A few days. This was of course refunded once we had left but this still shocked us. The upstairs bar was lovely for an evening drink! Definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t bother getting a room with a water view, not worth it at all. Wasn’t much of a view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maj B. wrote a review Dec 2022
Stavanger, Norway305 contributions104 helpful votes
A very nice hotel. A bit outside the main city but easy access w the tram just a few min walk away. Limited amount of parking spaces tho, if driving. Nice hotel room, altho it was a bit annoying for the family that the bathroom lights went on automatically in the middle of the night. No mini fridge. . Also, the floor was vibrating due to pumps on the same floor?! Service was nice, rooms were new and nice, overall a good stay. Oh.. the rooms were a bit cold. We couldnt turn them up no matter how hard we tried.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
StephanToronto wrote a review Dec 2022
Toronto837 contributions291 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel on the sea in a quiet suburb 20 minutes by tram from Downtown. Staff is very freindly. Rooms are clean and modern. Hotel IS trendy and eco freindly. Breakfast was good and varied. I will come back. Super was also good. Surrounding are nice with lots of bars and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
joe S wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions
This hotel was a good fifteen minutes from the city centre but was very quiet, excellent value and easy to get around as there is a tram and metro stop close by. Here for three days, breakfast good, reception manned. This is a great modern hotel to get a good nights sleep with excellent amenities. View of the lake is calming, especially so close to the city. Would definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patricia R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The stay was pretty good and would be perfect if we weren't mistreated so much by the housekeeping maid. Yes, you read correctly! The housekeeping maid was completely unpolite with us while we were leaving the room. The reason was: I got a celebration package from the Hotel, and the Hotel decorated the room so I and my friend could celebrate her birthday, so there were balloons and confetti everywhere and also chocolate truffles (which was pretty nice and we love it). So, the next day, 5 minutes before we leave the room, the housekeeping was already ringing the door and asking how long we would still be there. I asked sorry (idk why I asked sorry, I was paying for the room) and asked for 5 more minutes. So we left, they enter, and when we were about to get to the elevator, he yelled from the room to wait. By the tone of the voice I thought I had broken something in the room, he said to us to come back. When we did, he looked around the room and in a very stressed way asked "Why did you have to do this mess in the room"...I explained that we had a celebration package and he seemed NOT to know what we were talking about and kept complaining. I said I would go to the reception because that was very inconvenient as was the Hotel itself to decorate the room...anyways, the front desk apologized and that was it. Nothing more was done. So, for this, I wouldn't recommend it to friends as the staff is not ready for situations like this. The facility is well decorated, the room was super nice and breakfast also, but I would not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia P, Gastenservice/Front Office at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 24 Sep 2022
Dear Patriciar, We are very sorry to hear about this situation, which of course shouldn't happen. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have talked to our housekeeping staff to avoid this kind of situations in the future. We really hope that despite this situation you had a wonderful stay in our hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elyza180 wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Very quite location. Rooms are clean and modern.. good breakfast. There is a metro station not far from the hotel to get to the centre of Amsterdam We had to pay an additional tourist fee at the end of our stay..this was not mentioned when we reserved the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia P, Gastenservice/Front Office at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam
Responded 24 Sep 2022
Dear Elyza, Thank you for spending your presious time for leaving a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, tourist tax is required in all hotel in the Netherlands and is determined by government.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
norwichgirl30 wrote a review Aug 2022
Maastricht, The Netherlands97 contributions26 helpful votes
The hotel is quite a way outside Amsterdam city centre. That's why we chose it. A 15/20 minute tram ride from Central Station takes you to Yburg and then it's a short walk to the hotel. The front faces the water (Markermeer) where there's a lot of activity when the weather is nice. The rooms aren't overly big, but big enough. The decor is different from the average hotel, which does require some getting used to. The room was clean and at the back of the hotel, with sunshine from about midday. That did make it a little warm as we weren't able to work out how the aircon worked. There are coffee and tea making facilities which we didn't use and if you would like your room to be cleaned, you have to tell them by turning on the sign next to the door, which we thought was very good, as we don't need our room cleaned very day. For breakfast there is a lot to choose from in way of cereals, bread, eggs etc, jam, meat and cheese. When you want to have breakfast you need to wait to be seated. Unfortunately, this congests the main area where the elevators also are. In the morning when there's quite a lot of 'traffic', this means it can all get a bit confusing. The staff was international and nice enough. They did try to make your stay enjoyable, but sometimes that needed a bit of work. However, they were definitely not unfriendly. Especially the outside of the hotel looks as if it hasn't been cleaned recently, with a lot of cobwebs. The explanation can be found in the elevators where a sign tells you this is because spiders are natural enemies to mosquitoes and this is an environmentally friendly way of trying to keep the mosquitoes at bay. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose to stay here again. Although you are outside the city centre, around the little harbour the hotel is on, you can find some nice places to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The hoger up, the better the view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Oliver B wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed very recently at the Four Elements Hotel in Ijburg. For all that the staff were pleasant and clearly trying hard, overall I would rate the hotel as ‘middling-to-bad’. Firstly, In an effort to be more environmentally friendly the hotel rooms are fitted with low energy AC units. This is fine in principle but in practice it means they are incapable of cooling the room down. We therefore had a hot, humid, and ultimately miserable stay with very little sleep. For some reason we were also charged an additional €10 by the hotel because we wanted our baby to have a cot, rather than having him unsafely sharing a twin bed with us. It wasn’t entirely clear how the hotel feels they can justify charging extra for such a basic and necessary amenity. As well as being hot and damp, the people designing the rooms had clearly prioritised form over function. The bathroom had an unnecessarily large, thick glass door which looked good but was entirely impractical (and noisy). The cups provided for tea and coffee looked good but were useless as crockery and burned your hands when you used them. The glass shower screen looked good, but didn’t prevent water from pouring all over the floor. Finally, the hotel is covered in spiders. This is true of much of Ijburg and as I understand it is something to do with an unbalanced ecosystem on these manmade bits of land. However, bearing in mind the Four Elements is a hotel supposedly catering to the comfort of its guests you would think they’d have done something about it. The issue is most notable in the 10th floor Sky Bar which is impressive at first glance - that is until you see the many, active, large spiders dangling between you and a great view of the surrounding waterscape. The hotel is at pains to let you know that they encourage the spiders as they keep the mosquitos at bay but in our experience we were still bitten to smithereens by mosquitos. So if you’re in the vast majority of the world’s population that finds spiders unpleasant to look at and not something you associate with a hotel stay, be prepared to be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Damian P wrote a review Jul 2022
Aylesbury, United Kingdom74 contributions51 helpful votes
Had a enjoyable 3 night stay whilst watching Ed Sheeran at the weekend, the location is good, 15 mins from Central Station via the Tram. Nice beach close by which is ideal for this time of year!! Staff were great very helpful ( just need more of them!! ) Food was reasonable for this level of hotel & overall value for money was ok. If the weather is nice sit outside for breakfast as the views are good!! The hotel still needs improvements & certainly needs more staff & the food could be better, overall though this hotel has the making of being a good 4 star property. If you are looking for a cheaper option whilst staying in Amsterdam I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Frea wrote a review Jul 2022
Bloubergstrand, South Africa6 contributions
Rooms were good, hotel is new and well manicured, reception area has a very pleasant vibe as well as the sky bar. The reason for my 3 star review is that throughout our four night stay we had several unpleasant interactions with staff members. The hotel / hospitality attitude seems to be lacking from the team that were operating during our stay. I would highly advice management to pick up the service providing attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do realise this hotel is 30 minutes cycling from the centre. It is a very calm / quiet...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Breeze Amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamHaveneiland / Amsterdam East / IJburg West / Zeeburg / IJburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FOUR ELEMENTS HOTEL AMSTERDAM - Now €111 (Was €̶1̶1̶9̶) - UPDATED 2023 Specialty Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Strand Blijburg (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mchi Food & Drinks, N.A.P. Amsterdam, and Kitchen of Happiness.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portuguese Synagogue (6.9 km), Museum Het Rembrandthuis (7.2 km), and Willet-Holthuysen Museum (7.3 km).
Is Four Elements Hotel Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.