We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sarphatistraat 47, 1018 EW Amsterdam The Netherlands
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (115)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 419 in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Say ‘hoi’ to citizenM Amstel Amsterdam, our third hotel in the Netherlands' beautiful capital city. You’ll find us behind an elegant 1920s facade in the historic canal belt, just 15 minutes to the Zuidas business district by metro, 20 minutes from Schiphol Airport by metro/train, or a short walk from big attractions like Rembrandt House and Royal Theatre Carré. Relax, eat and work in our stylish living room full of books, art and Vitra furniture (our Wi-Fi is superfast and always free). Delicious food, snacks, coffee and cocktails are always within reach at the 24/7 canteenM kitchen. For business, step inside our societyM meeting rooms. All bedrooms come with rain showers, smart TVs and the comfiest XL beds in Holland. Control the ambience with the beside MoodPad tablet, or by downloading our free app. The app is also your key to a totally contactless stay - from check-in to check-out, you can move through the hotel, pay for stuff, and browse menus touching nothing but your phone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
65Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
32Attractionswithin 0.5 km
239Reviews3Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 37
  • 4
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
maxj0hn wrote a review 20 May
1 contribution
Beds are amazingly comfortable. Room are small but well-proportioned. I didn't have breakfast but food generally is a mixed bag. For the price, some dishes are nice and good value (e.g. nachos - recommended), some are nice but expensive (e.g. cake and ice cream - recommended), some are expensive and not very nice and have small portions (e.g. enchiladas - not recommended). I only had one drink in the hotel but it was a very nice Long Island Iced Tea. The location is really good - in the business district but surprisingly quiet, feels safe at night, lovely walks in every direction, 5 minutes on the Metro to Centraal Station, good connections to anywhere in Amsterdam from (usually) right outside the hotel. The location is far enough away from the center to be free of tourists (feels like real Amsterdam) while still being close enough to everything. Staff are very helpful, welcoming and friendly, there's always someone downstairs happy to make you some food or a drink or just to have a chat with. No free movies on the TV, which was a disappointment. I am told that this situation is unique to this particular hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Hi Citizen Macj0hn, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback after your stay with us, it truly means the world! I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and to enjoy the beautiful city center and I appreciate your kind words regarding our hard-working team, with whom I will share this. I am sorry that the enchiladas did not meet your expectations and that the cakes and ice creams are too high prices. We will take your feedback into consideration and I will discuss this with the rest of the team, so many thanks for sharing. Luckily you have enjoyed our tasty nachos in combination with a Long Island Iced tea, which will be waiting for you when you visit us again;) Recently, throughout all our properties, we have changed the movies on the iPad to Chromecast. Like this, you are able to connect from your own device and watch anything you like. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and I hope to welcome you soon back with us! Safe travels, Michelle
Read more
Grubbman21 wrote a review 19 May
Enterprise, Alabama234 contributions81 helpful votes
We arrived early greeted by nice staff member, informed room would not be ready till 2. They have a self checked in /check out computers staff do double duty rubbing the bar and assisting check in. Room key needed to access elevator. The room make you think of being on a cruise ship super small. Asked staffI why room so small he replied they wanted peoples to enjoy the large common area. Day 2 our friends arrived same check in policy. The room space was16x5 which included the bathroom sink vanity and desk and chair, no space to eat or drink in the room. So we ate and drink in the common areaThe bed was in a niche with only access at the end to crawl in. Not easy for older adults. Nice size television on the wall everything is run off an iPad which we needed to reboot often. It would have been nice if they would have taken a foot off the shower to give you two sides access to the bed. They only clean the room every three days by four on the third day they had not cleaned our room so we ask for clean towels and more toilet paper. Towels came had to call again for the paper. They say they provide water we got cups to drink out of the faucet. After five days our tiny trash can was overflowing good thing I had a paper bag. The evening before we left we went down to eat at their restaurant they had three sad looking salads. We walk down the block. Nice location we walked every where but not close to many restaurants. To be picked up you have to cross a busy bike lane two sets of tracks and watch for cars. You must be picked up across the street not in front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Hi Citizen Grubbman21, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. As we love to grow and learn from our guests, it means a lot to hear and understand your feedback I am sorry to hear that the stay did not meet your expectation. As we believe in the quality over quantity of our products, you can also see this back in the rooms. They are designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible, the room can be controlled via the iPad, the big XXL bed, and the rainwater shower. Therefore our living room functions as an extension of our rooms, with our extra comfortable sofas and art on every wall, we want you to make you feel at home as much in the room as downstairs. I believe this is also what my colleague wanted to explain to you at the front desk. Via the iPad in the room, you can let us know every day if you would like to have your room cleaned or not. Every day that you do not decide to have your room cleaned we donate a small amount to our charity CitizenMovement. At the bar we have complimentary sparkling and still bottles of water, which you can ask any of our ambassadors at any moment of the day. Next to the salads which we offer in the vitrine we also offer a variety of dishes on our menu, also available 24/7. I am sorry you did not get to chance to taste them! I appreciate your kind words regarding the location of the hotel. As we are located in the city center and Amsterdam is famous for their bikes, you will find on every street bikes lanes. We are praised very lucky to only have a one-way lane for cars next to the hotel, which means that fewer cars will pass by during the night. Wish you safe travels and kind regards from the whole team, Michelle
Read more
meme952 wrote a review 18 May
The Woodlands, Texas70 contributions15 helpful votes
Arrived at 9:30 room not ready till 2 they kept our bags and we returned at 3:30. Checked in it is nice you need you key to access floor in elevator. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. I have stayed in rooms all over Europe and had some small rooms but this was a first. The floor space was16x5 which included the bathroom sink vanity and desk and chair. The bed was in a niche with only access at the end to crawl in. Not easy for older adults. Nice size television on the wall everything is run off an iPad which we needed to reboot often. It would have been nice if they would have taken a foot off the shower to give you two sides access to the bed. They only clean the room every three days by four on the third day they had not cleaned our room so we ask for clean towels and more toilet paper. Towels came had to call again for the paper. They say they provide water we got cups to drink out of the faucet. After five days our tiny trash can was overflowing good thing I had a paper bag. The evening before we left we went down to eat at their restaurant they had three sad looking salads. We walk down the block. Nice location we walked every where but not close to many restaurants. To be picked up you have to cross a busy bike lane two sets of tracks and watch for cars. You must be picked up across the street not in front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Hi Citizen Meme952, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. As I believe this is the same review your friend wrote us, I will also respond in the same way. As we believe in the quality over quantity of our products, you can also see this back in the rooms. They are designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible, the room can be controlled via the iPad, the big XXL bed, and the rainwater shower. Therefore our living room functions as an extension of our rooms, with our extra comfortable sofas and art on every wall, we want you to make you feel at home as much in the room as downstairs. Via the iPad in the room, you can let us know every day if you would like to have your room cleaned or not. Every day that you do not decide to have your room cleaned we donate a small amount to our charity CitizenMovement. At the bar we have complimentary sparkling and still bottles of water, which you can ask any of our ambassadors at any moment of the day. Next to the salads which we offer in the vitrine we also offer a variety of dishes on our menu, also available 24/7. I am sorry you did not get to chance to taste them! I appreciate your kind words regarding the location of the hotel. As we are located in the city center and Amsterdam is famous for their bikes, you will find on every street bikes lanes. We are praised very lucky to only have a one-way lane for cars next to the hotel, which means that fewer cars will pass by during the night. Wish you safe travels and kind regards from the whole team, Michelle
Read more
Conrad wrote a review 18 May
Dubai, United Arab Emirates10 contributions10 helpful votes
Always wanted to stay at this brand and it did not disappoint! Although rooms are a bit on the small side, there was enough space for my friend and I and with the help of some creative storage spots we had a very comfortable stay. The bed and pillows were amazing and the room has really cool digital amenities. Very smooth self-check in/out and easy access to the rooms. Team is super friendly and helpful - if they don't know something they are eager to help find out for you. Breakfast was very tasty, however unfortunately the lunch/dinner items were not so great. That being said there are plenty of restaurants all around so it wasn't much of an issue. Location, although outside of the main centre of the city, is still within a 10-15min walk of all major attractions and there is a metro/tram right next to the hotel. Will certainly be back soon at this hotel and any other hotel in the portfolio!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Citizen Conrad4321, Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am very happy to understand that you have had a wonderful stay with us, thanks a million for sharing this with us, as we love to grow and learn from our guests. Amazing that you have enjoyed the beautiful city center, the location of the hotel nearby all tourist attractions, the self-check-in and out process, the comfortable XXL bed, and most importantly our hard-working team. I will share your kind words with them to keep them motivated and aware of what impact they can have on our guests. Unfortunate to hear that our lunch and dinner menu did not meet your expectations. If you have any recommendations for us, we would love to know more about them. Luckily you have enjoyed some tasty restaurants in Amsterdam! I hope to welcome you soon back with us or at any other of our properties around the world! Kind regards and safe travels, Michelle
Read more
kwaleh wrote a review 13 May
british columbia16 contributions4 helpful votes
Everything about this hotel impressed us. The technology was fantastic, entire hotel was exceptionally clean, food amazing and the staff were so friendly, it was obvious they enjoyed working for this company. From now on when we travel, we will look for a CitizenM first.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Iglesias, General Manager at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hey there citizenKwaleh, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! First of all, let us start by saying how much of a pleasure it was to have you stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed everything from the in-room technology to the ambassador experience! We are pleased to read that our team was right there for you. They ensure that each guest receives a warm welcome and a refined service. We will definitely share your lovely compliments with the team, as we know how much they love it when guests show their appreciation! I see that you were not completely satisfied with the location. I would like to apologize that we didn't tell you more about how well located our hotel is, as we are right in the center of the city. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Until then, safe travels! citizenGilles
Read more
Theresa M wrote a review 3 May
Altadena, California18 contributions1 helpful vote
The CitizenM in Amsterdam was centrally located. The rooms are beautiful and stylish with no clutter. Loved the king sized bed, rainforest shower head and black out curtains. The smart system allows you to control the lights, tv, heat and curtains using the in-room tablet. Very cool! The food and drinks in the canteen were delicious. Water bottles for ourmr room were available daily. The staff was awesome and the price was affordable. CitizenM is a great option when looking for a hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenneth Vanegas, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hey Citizen Theresa! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Amsterdam. You really managed to capture everything that we love to bring to our guests in your review; we couldn't have said it better ourselves. Hoping that you had excellent travels onward and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amsterdam or even in one of our other hotels. We are even in LA so you wont have to leave your home state! Best Wishes, Citizen Ken
Read more
tomrr8213 wrote a review Apr 2022
Haifa, Israel1 contribution
The location and hotel itself were amazing. I really love the staff and food. The room was comfy and well lit. The room was controlled with an iPad mini and it was amazing. Cleaning was excellent and on time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Elly Vogelenzang, General Manager at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear citizen tomrr8213, We always like to introduce new citizens to our concept and vision! A collection of innovative concepts, citizenM is a hotel driven by one desire: to create affordable luxury for the people. By ‘the people’ we mean a smart new breed of international traveller, the type who crosses continents the way others cross streets. This includes the weekenders, the suits, fashion baggers and affair havers. The explorers, adventurers and dreamers. Those who travel the world with big hearts and wide eyes. Those who are independent, yet united by a love of the five continents. Those in search of business, shopping or art. In short, everyone who is a mobile citizen of the world. Most likely, that also means you. Looking forward welcoming you back on many more occasions and wishing you safe onward travels. Kind regards from the entire team at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Read more
HappyBelly wrote a review Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore405 contributions286 helpful votes
Pluses: - Excellent staff! They were always very friendly and helpful. I would go to the lobby at 5 am due to jetlag, and there was always a friendly staff to greet me. When I asked for some advice to find some pretty obscure items, the woman was on-the-ball and told me exactly where to find something. They also mix a mean drink. - Early check-in. We came in from an overnight flight and they checked us in early. We really appreciated that, because we were dead tired, and the nap really rejuvenated us. - Unlimited free sparkling water. This was great because the nearby Albert Heijn store doesn't accept credit cards or cash. Minuses I would have given this place 5 stars, except for the ipad controls. The room is controlled by an ipad, which has limited capability and caused us some issues during our stay: - The lights had to be either all on or all off, no in-between. So if you wanted to use the bathroom at night, you had to turn on all the lights, waking up the other person. I have a different sleep schedule from my partner, and I woke him up every morning. - We lost hot water one night. I understand maintenance is necessary, but the problem is we couldn't contact front desk to see how long it would take. After multiple unsuccessful attempts trying to contact front desk through the ipad and the hotel website, we ended up taking a cold shower at midnight, too tired to deal with it. I would still recommend this hotel, but the room has its quirks.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Citizen Happy Belly, Thank you so much for your amazing review! It means the world to us knowing you have enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate your honest feedback. Like this, you give us the opportunity to grow and learn. I am sorry to hear that the iPad did not work accordingly, we would have loved to help you out by giving you a new iPad or resetting it. Moreover, unfortunately, it is indeed not possible to switch on the ' normal' lights of the bathroom, without switching on the lights of the rest of the room. There is a possibility to switch on the color light in the bathroom separately from the rest of the room, so I hope next time you will give this a try. I do appreciate your recommendations and will communicate this further. My sincere apologies that you were not able to enjoy a nice hot shower. Unfortunately, we were dealing with some technical issues, however, this is not the service we want to give to the guests. It was certainly a learning moment for us and I am again very sorry that you were not able to contact us about this matter. I hope we will welcome you back again with us, so we can prove to you the service we would like to give. I will share your kind words with the rest of the team, to keep them motivated and aware of the impact they have on our guests, thank you so much for sharing this! Safe travels and kind regards from me and the whole team, Michelle
Read more
Nicky R wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Really great hotel, with fabulously comfortable tech filled rooms and arty design filled communal spaces. Only 3 stops on the metro from the Eurostar and right by a tram stop so v easy to get to and travel from. Would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Citizen Michelle, Other at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Hi Citizen Nicky R, Amazing to hear that you have had such a good stay with us! Your feedback matters, as we love to learn and grow. I am very happy that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel, the technical aspects of the room, and our living room filled with art. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and I really appreciate you taking the time to leave this wonderful review. Hope to welcome you soon back with us or at any other of our properties worldwide! Safe travels, Michelle
Read more
wburkle wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
It was the first time that I was staying in a citizenM hotel and a very nice experience. I will come back for sure and I will tell my friends about. The complete service and the ambassadors have been absolutely good and super friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Elly Vogelenzang, General Manager at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear citizen wburkle, We always like to introduce new citizens to our concept and vision! A collection of innovative concepts, citizenM is a hotel driven by one desire: to create affordable luxury for the people. By ‘the people’ we mean a smart new breed of international traveller, the type who crosses continents the way others cross streets. This includes the weekenders, the suits, fashion baggers and affair havers. The explorers, adventurers and dreamers. Those who travel the world with big hearts and wide eyes. Those who are independent, yet united by a love of the five continents. Those in search of business, shopping or art. In short, everyone who is a mobile citizen of the world. Most likely, that also means you. Looking forward welcoming you back on many more occasions and wishing you a good week ahead. Warm regards from the entire team at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$213 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamWeesperbuurt En Plantage / Plantage & the East / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about citizenM Amstel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Koninklijk Theater Carre (0.2 km), Magere Brug (0.4 km), and Coffeeshop Amsterdam IBIZA (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Utrechtsedwarstafel, Bistrot des Alpes, and Bakhuys.
Does citizenM Amstel Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to citizenM Amstel Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (2.2 km), Concertgebouw (1.9 km), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 km).
Is citizenM Amstel Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.