We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Amsteldijk 67, 1074 HZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$374
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$371
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$347
View deal
Hotels.com
Pestana
Prestigia.comUS$474
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (325)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 27/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 27/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#99 of 419 in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
A classical landmark turned haven of minimalist chic, this beautiful hotel is housed in a pair of 19th – century Neo-Renaissance-style buildings and two modern annexes on the banks of the Amstel River. The hotel is rising above the hippest part of town, “De Pijp”, in a quiet location just outside the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam inner canal belt. With elegant guestrooms and a stunning lobby with beautiful ceilings and arches, this is the perfect base for your visit to one of Europe´s most picturesque and exciting cities. The SPA at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside includes an indoor swimming pool. Together with the restaurant ARCHIVE by Pestana and secure valet parking, this hotel is your perfect place of choice in Amsterdam. With a total of 10 meeting rooms including the stunning Town Hall Ballroom, with its original architecture facing the Amstel river, this is the perfect place for your business events, exclusive banquets, weddings and cocktail parties for up to 160 guests. Enjoy a sophisticated yet intimate experience in this contemporary 5-star hotel on banks of the Amstel River in Amsterdam.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
99Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
17Attractionswithin 0.5 km
735Reviews28Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 394
  • 170
  • 87
  • 53
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
WakeboardingMomma wrote a review 7 May
Statesville, North Carolina137 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed here for a Viking pre-cruise tour. Nice updated room. Toilet was in a separate room. Safe, Nespresso maker and water in room. Nice size shower! Breakfast was typical for Europe but they would make you eggs on request. Area was quiet and 5 minute walk to some shopping and restaurants. Tram stop was a 4 minute walk. Taxi/Uber to Old Town and downtown was $20 and up depending on time of day. I was disappointed in how far it was but it was quiet at night! All the staff was super helpful and friendly. Everyone I encountered spoke English. I would stay here again but would learn to use the tram to get downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. WakeboardingMomma, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Daniel S wrote a review 6 May
Paris, France13 contributions5 helpful votes
This was really a mixed bag. On the positive side, the (very expensive) room in which my children and I stayed (the mezzanine studio) was beautiful, there is a good fitness center (but why on earth is there a silent TV on in there?), the swimming pool is nice and it is actually possible to swim in it (but why the supposedly relaxing and actually annoying) ambient music?). Breakfast is what you would expect in a luxury hotel and the person at the desk that I talked to was consistently efficient and helpful. On the negative side, however, the location isn’t great: it is 25 minutes away from the museums but the walk is not a pleasant one. The nearest subway stop seems to be 15 minutes away. The furniture in the room doesn’t make sense: the cupboard is ridiculously small, as a result of which you end up having no other option than to keep your suitcase open or leave your stuff all over the place. There is no desk and no chair, which makes working a hassle. On our first day, even though we had been out from 11 to 4 pm, our room was made up at 6:15 pm, at the very moment we needed to access it, as a result of which the making up process was interrupted and never resumed. And they have adults-only hours in the swimming-pool, a fact not visible on their web site, and which might be a real inconvenience if you are travelling with children and have booked tickets for museums during the hours set aside for children… To their credit, when I made clear that I was unhappy about this, they told me the policy would not be enforced. A better option, though, would be not to have this policy or clearly announce it on the web site.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. danielsW2127SK, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside. Your opinion is crucial for us to improve how we work. We would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside. We hope this experience has not tarnished your impression of our hotel permanently. We would be delighted to change it during your next stay. Kind regards, The team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Grace B wrote a review 4 May
1 contribution
I have worked in some of the most prestigious hotels in the UK and the Pestana lived up to my high expectations. Staff were friendly and always on hand to help, the room was spacious, clean and modern and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend for people visiting Amsterdam, location is quiet yet a walk away from the centre, the spa is calming and relaxing after a day of exploring. Absolutely loved our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. M3040KLgraceb, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pestana Amsterdam Riverside for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
JonnyGadget wrote a review 2 May
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania3 contributions
Had a room overlooking the Amstel that was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The location is a nice walk through neighborhoods to all the places we wanted to go and to public transit. The staff was helpful with arranging the COVID tests required to get back to the US.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. jonnygadget, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
dbokie wrote a review 1 May
Arlington, Virginia178 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
I had a very nice four night stay at this hotel. The hotel is not right in the city center, and in my opinion that is definitely in its favor since it is much quieter. It's only a 5-ish minute walk from the #4 tram line. It's in the De Pijp neighborhood and there are a lot of neighborhood restaurants nearby plus the Albert Cuyp market just up the street. Highly recommend visiting the market. Initially they put me in a very spacious ground floor room with patio doors to the outside. As a single woman traveling alone, I did not like this for safety reasons. I went back to the front desk to ask for another room. They were very nice and offered to show me another room in the same price range. It was smaller than the first room (which was very spacious by European standards), but it did have a view of the Amstel river and a great big window that opened. I took it and enjoyed it. It's a beautiful older building, which I love. The room was very comfortable with plenty of storage space and a fridge to keep my Dutch cheese. Towels were very nice. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. I went at different times each morning and it was always well stocked with a wide variety of foods for all tastes. Staff were busy restocking food if they ran low. First time I've seen strawberry juice on a buffet before (love it). Tons of seating so you didn't have to crowd in.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. dbokie, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Graeme S wrote a review 1 May
1 contribution
One gentleman on reception was exceptionally helpful in trying to get us booked for kuekenhof. Unfortunately I can't remember his name. The hotel restaurant manager was also helpful. we asked the waitress if they did early breakfast as we were going on a trip and the manager came back to tell us the hotel was busy in the morning so breakfast was starting early. That meant we had a proper breakfast. All in all I thought the hotel was excellent. As always it is the staff who are the differentiator between a good and an outstanding one. I would certainly book again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. 522graemes, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
scottreid1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Braintree, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked this hotel , as it was a 5* and on the canal, which was great. However there were things that didn’t quite meet expectation, and therefore I would only rate this hotel a 4* at the most. The pillows were huge and lumpy, The room had a speaker in ceiling but you couldn’t connect any devices to it. There was a fridge but no mini bar . And we had broken blinds on arrival and the staff did nothing about it. But the room was huge and clean, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. scottreid1, On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside. Best regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
DirtyStinker wrote a review Apr 2022
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom35 contributions22 helpful votes
Amazing hotel! Lovely staff who can’t do enough for you. Room was clean and spacious. Lovely river view. Breakfast was nice and the drinks were reasonably priced. We felt welcomed, looked after, and nothing was too much trouble (both my partner and I made special requests before our arrival, and they delivered on them…and then some!) Highly recommend this hotel for a luxurious stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 5 days ago
Dear DirtyStinker, On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside. Best regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Curtis wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The room was fine, albeit VERY small. The fridge had the last occupants stuff in it. The food was absolutely terrible, and exorbitantly priced. €15 for a salad with browning leaves. Room service not available at the stated times.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. curtissT1694WT, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Amsterdam Riverside for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, The team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Sherrydebs wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom49 contributions12 helpful votes
Wonderful staff who were always smiling and helpful. Lovely rooms, spacious and well designed. Only ate lunch one day but it was delicious and reasonably priced. Great to have the pool and spa and the massage ( deep tissue) was superb. Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. Sherrydebs, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$251 - US$383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam South / De Pijp / Nieuwe Pijp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Nearby attractions include Cafe Tapmarin (0.3 km), Holocaust Memorial Walk (0.3 km), and House with the Gnomes (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tulsi Indian Restaurant, Casa Nostra, and Rijsel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pestana Amsterdam Riverside have airport transportation?
Yes, Pestana Amsterdam Riverside offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pestana Amsterdam Riverside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.