We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Changiweg 121, 1043 DZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#62 of 461 in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a hostel in Amsterdam? Our Train Lodge is an affordable, unique and strategic base to explore all Amsterdam has to offer. Anyone who has ever visited this city will agree: Amsterdam is the place to be! Cosmopolitan and lively, yet friendly and laid-back, this city will steal your heart. You will find the same vibe in the Train Lodge, perfect for solo travelers and groups alike! Instead of hotelrooms you sleep in the original compartments, a real train experience! You'll find us right next to train station Amsterdam Sloterdijk, close to train, tram, bus and subway connections. Schiphol Airport is 15 minutes away. The city centre takes a couple of minutes by train. Alternatively, do as the Dutch do and rent a bicycle. Thanks to our strategic location, other cities and sights in Holland are just a train ride away: Utrecht, Den Haag, Rotterdam, Haarlem, Zaandam and Zandvoort are all easily accessible (in under 40 minutes).
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
29Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
119Reviews10Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 44
  • 19
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kris wrote a review 1 May
1 contribution
Amazing, Excellent, Friendly, Knowledgeable, & Awesome are the 5 best words to describe this hostel. Very cool to sleep in an old sleeper train and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were so friendly and welcoming! Located right next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk so very easy to get into the centre of town & even though it is adjacent to the train station the cars are very quiet. I will definitely be coming back to Train Lodge! Thanks to everyone for your hospitality and conversation!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Willard, General Manager at Train Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for your nice words! See you next time!
Read more
Binyamin s wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
warning 1!! To rent a bike they take 50 euro, that there is a chance they will not come back to you, As it happened to me,They credited me with the card but the money did not reach me in a bank account, I know I have no way to prove it, and so I gave it up but still I want to warn those who stay,to check That the money has returned to their account, How I was abused!! I was hurt by their attitude towards me when I tried to book a place from them, I tried 5-7 times and each time their canceled me thinking I was an immigrant coming to take advantage of their, and even also threatened me to pass my details on to the police, even though I sent a message to them that I have a visa to the Netherlands,also their send me that i have to pay me in advance,Mine without the ability to cancel. So in such an atmosphere between us when I did not receive the money into the account I was not surprised, so I wrote down this response For the second time, Anyway the staff at the place was great and thanks for that, Me criticism is against the Executive and Secretaria. It was written in response to a review I wrote the other day and Judith returned a reply, thank you to Judith for the answer and attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JudithTrainLodge, Owner at Train Lodge
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Binyamin, I see you deleted your first review with my reply. And then sent a new review with the same content. Again I apologize for the misunderstanding about the reservation you made with us. Too bad you didn't talk with us about your hurt feelings during your stay. Maybe then we could have cleared the air. You rented a bike with us and you paid the bikerental. We also made a reservation on your creditcard for the deposit of € 50,-. After you returned the bike we removed the reservation from your creditcard. So as far as we know we didn't take € 50,- of your credit card. If you are convinced we did, please send us your bankstatement so we can check what happened. Kind regards, Judith Train Lodge
Read more
Alison K wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia138 contributions36 helpful votes
We were pretty excited about the idea of sleeping in train carriages. But I wasn’t quite prepared for what we got. I did not expect for it to be literally on the train line. But I guess it was easy to get to the train to go to town. It was a bit further out of town than we expected. And the room shocked me. 3 people in a very very small space was quite confronting. We are all tall and the 3rd bed is literally up on the ceiling pretty much so it was a challenge. There is no where to put your bags at all. I can accept the space is small, but it kept raining in Amsterdam so we were always wet and there was no where to dry anything. So we just felt damp the whole time. Look, we survived and it was ok. I’m not sure about on a hot day as I couldn’t see any ventilation anywhere. The bathrooms were clean and felt bigger than the bedrooms. The one thing that didn’t sit well with us was that we weren’t given a key to our room. They locked the room when we went out and reopened it for us when we came up. This lack of privacy didn’t sit well with me. If you are needing to stay more than a couple of nights I’d probably look elsewhere, but if you just need a bed it’s fine. Just wasn’t for me
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JudithTrainLodge, Owner at Train Lodge
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Dear Aussie, I'm sorry we didn't meat your expectations. I see you didn't really know what you booked since we are a hostel in an actual train with the original compartments in sleepingcars. This is perfectly clear online when booking. The pictures and descriptions are fully representative of what to expect. Don't worry about the ventilation: in the summer we have a perfectly working airco. I hope your stay in Amsterdam was nice. Kind regards, Judith Train Lodge
Read more
MariaButzki wrote a review Sep 2019
Barking, United Kingdom66 contributions68 helpful votes
Dont book this place. The lady at reception is the rudest most disrespectful person ever. She spoilt our stay as we arrived. We were all in a happy mood until we got greeted by rudeness. She told us not to talk in our room. She said to look at her when we speak to her excuse me we paid to stay here and get treated like children. Avoid at all costs. The facilities are dirty and very old. The rooms are very cold do dress warm. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JudithTrainLodge, Owner at Train Lodge
Responded 12 Oct 2019
Hi there, and first of all thank you for your feedback. I'd like to take the opportunity here to add some vital information to your comments. We have a zero tollerance policy on disrespectful behaviour towards staff and other guests. Having checked with staff it appeared you didn't realise you would be sharing the compartment, even though it states very clearly on your reservation that you booked beds in a shared dorm. You are of course welcome to talk to in your room - the emphasis here being on 'talk'. You are sharing the room, and so we expect all of our guests to respect one another, and this includes the volume of your conversations - screaming is not talking. It's interesting you made these comments whilst still being in our hostel - it would have be more productive all round to talk to staff about your complaints so we could have addressed any issues. I can only conclude that you did not appreciate being told our house rules and being called out on your behaviour, so perhaps took it personally. You have indeed paid for accomodation, but that does not mean you can act however you feel like. We work with a system of mutual respect and expect our guests to do the same. We hope you are enjoying your time in Amsterdam ~Train Lodge Team.
Read more
toridodds wrote a review Sep 2019
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom44 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here with friends and we had a room to ourselves with a triple bunk bed! When we arrived we were shocked at the lack of space, however we weren’t intending on spending a lot of time here so it wasn’t too much of a problem! The beds weren’t the comfiest but for what we paid it was okay! It was quirky and an experience to say the least! Don’t think I’d stay again but I’d recommend it! Had to take turns at getting out of bed and getting ready for the day as there was only enough space for one person to stand at a time in the room! Shared toilet and shower weren’t the cleanest but again it was what we expected! Staff were lovely and were very helpful! Also nice to spend time in the communal areas and speak to a variety of people from all over the world!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from JudithTrainLodge, Owner at Train Lodge
Responded 12 Oct 2019
Hey there, thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed the experience with us at Train Lodge for the most part. We hope you had fun here in Amsterdam ~Train Lodge Team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamTeleport / Amsterdam New West / Bedrijventerrein Sloterdijk / Geuzenveld-Slotermeer / Sloterdijk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Train Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Train Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Holland Casino Amsterdam West-Sloterdijk (0.2 km), Housing Eigen Haard (0.4 km), and Petruskerk Sloterdijk (1663) (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Train Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Train Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Train Lodge?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Train Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grandcafé Hermes, Global Dining – Holland Casino, and Wissenkerke.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Train Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Train Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Train Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (3.3 km), Concertgebouw (4.4 km), and Portuguese Synagogue (4.9 km).