We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Expedia.comUS$121*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very good hotel and a perfect breakfast. Pity that you can't park the car nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nijs0358
DirkJanDoek, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for you review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in Maastricht. Because we are located in the heart of the old city centre of Maastricht we are not able to offer a parking garage directly under our hotel. In order to still offer guests a safe spot to...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Nice beds and close to the city are the only positive things I can mention about this "design"hotel. No closet to put your clothes in, nothing to put your suitcase on.The rooms itself(rooms 160&170) very basic, cheap flooring, nothing on the walls, no airco. Absolutely no design room (2 modern chairs does not make your room a design room). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fred1308
DirkJanDoek, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review

Dear guest, It was with much concern that I read of your dissatisfaction which you encountered recently at the Eden Designhotel Maastricht. As you mentioned you stayed with us in rooms 160 & 170, two basic rooms. Basic rooms at the Eden Designhotel are characterized by their simplicity and their sober design. Your remarks regarding the closet are therefore also...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The 'lobby' feels like a storage room and smells like an incense factory. The outside of my room door was decorated like a beer advert (hardly inconspicuous). I had to take a room without windows in order to get air conditioning, and it felt like a teenager had been let loose with a tin of paint...in summary, calls itself a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Anderson
DirkJanDoek, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing us your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are always pleased when a guest will take time to write these. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us in the Eden Designhotel Maastricht. We have four theme rooms in our hotel, each of these rooms are decorated by...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Eden Designhotel is suitably situated close to the main train station in Maastricht, and approximately 10 mins walk, along a nice shopping street, to the old bridge that takes you into the old part of town. Entrance to the hotel is nicely designed (we were able to find it because of the red/white flag outside, as one easily passes by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamCheeseR
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I booked 2 rooms one for myself and one for my son. We were visiting Maastricht on a flying visit to find him student accomadation as he will be attending Maastricht University from September. The hotel has had a make over - rooms are functional, clean, beds comfortable - in fact just what we wanted. The Reception staff could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edelinick
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Reviewed 20 June 2011

According to the pictures it seemed a pretty great Design Hotel. But : we paid 129 euros for a room far too small. The entrance, lobby and the elevator were not clean. The carpet is smudged from the elevator to your room. Only 1glass in the room instead of two, in the mini bar was only a little bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann1045402
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The staff is very friendly and everything is arranged well. We spent our nights in the Bollinger room. It is a beautiful room, but not the ideal room if not traveling with your partner. Because of the design of the room there is little privacy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flikkenschild
DirkJanDoek, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Flikkenschild, We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in ´the wine cellars of Bollinger´. In these particular design rooms you will find rooms with an open bathroom, creating one big room. When staying next time with us and you would prefer a room with a ´closed bathroom´ do not hesitate to contact the...

Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewed 12 April 2011

this hotel is too expensive ,the personnel is rude and not friendly ... the first words when we arrived at the desk was that we were too early instead of a welcome.,there is no parking in the hotel ,they have places 200 metres from the hotel . this means if you check out of the hotel you must also put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xavke
DirkJanDoek, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Xavke, Thank you for writing us your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are always pleased when a guest will take time to write these. Due to the fact that our hotel is directly located in the city center we are not able to offer a parking under the hotel, as you mentioned we do offer...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Pros Nice chic hotel. Near the station. Fantastic bed for an amazing sleep. Nice pillows. Friendly receptionists. Good for sleeping. Cons No wardrobe. Tiny shower. No desk. No central ceiling light. Not for business. Dreadful service at breakfast. Staff only interested in room number. Food cold and empty at 9am - 1 hour before closing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perbinder
Soest, Nederland
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This weekend we stayed at The Eden hotel. The entrance looked worn down and kind of out of history. Not fresh and new design. The whole entrance needs a fresh paint and new interior. All is worn out. The red doors next to the reception where not red anymore but full of lose paint and cracked, the ceiling above the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saskianista

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 km away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
473 reviews
0.2 km away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
1,256 reviews
1.3 km away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
202 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
671 reviews
1.6 km away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Price Range: €92 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
France
Kendal UK
over a year ago
Wellington, New Zealand
over a year ago
Evesham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double room ”
flosolin, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for one with windows :)”
AlexanderL528, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“had a balcony room on floor 3 with street view and liked it”
854kerenl, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a large room :-)”
peterrU4132XA, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that some rooms do not have windows!”
Judith_pb, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$121* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$218
Hotels.comUS$121
Agoda.comUS$132
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates