We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a very good location - you can go by foot from the railway station and the city center is also at a walking distance. The rooms are perfectly clean and nice (one complaint: the pillows - uncomfortable for the backbone...). The breakfast is great, much more than you expect from a 3-star hotel. What makes the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielaLC2412
CityHotelGroningen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Daniela, Thank you for your review, how nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful city. I hope our new pillows were not too thick? We have thinner ones available, we would have loved to bring you these. My apologies that we did not know. I am glad that you like our breakfast...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's such a great place, with a friendly staff and a really nice ambience. And it's close to everything! We were traveling with our infant and the staff prepared a really nice crib with a cute set of baby linen. Way to go! We will stay there again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank asiapolko
CityHotelGroningen, Receptioniste at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear asiapolko, thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again! Kind regards, Nadine - Receptionist

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

I stay in this hotel at least 3 times a year, to visit old friends living nearby. So, I'm not in the hotel a lot but just use it to sleep and have a shower. I think it is very affordable, being based in the city centre, with great rooms, good beds and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marklllll
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoy staying in our hotel. Have a great day and hope to see you again in the future! Best regards,

Almere
Reviewed 20 December 2016

it was a very pleasant stay in this hotel. All things together , location, staff, rooms and service, made it complete. It was Top stay. Also the distance to the old centre is only 5-10 minutes. We forgot the car, it was very easy to reach everything by foot.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincentl1324
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Vincent, Thank you for the feedback and compliments, we love to hear our guests being this happy. I surely hope to welcome you again someday. Happy holidays! Best regards,

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We are used to stay in Hapshire hotel Groningen Centre, which is 400 m away from this Hapshire. This time we decided to have a change a go for the current one, which is slightly closer to downtown. Well upon our arrival we were told that the only clean room they have is on the ground floor, with not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlinaVel
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Alina, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel. My sincere apologies that there was noise coming from the restaurant next door and that the door to your hallway did not close quietly. We will definately look into it. We very much appreciate your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet up...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Very friendly staff. Clean rooms and handy lication. Breakfast provides selection of cold and hot meal. Walking distance from main amenities and central station. Definitely recommend for both short and long stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Victor, Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and beautiful city. Have a great day and I hope to welcome you again someday! Best regards,

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

If you are in the Groningen area this is a great choice of Hotel. Modern rooms wth great showers and baths. They have a reception/bar area with a log fire and on a cold night very nice. They have secure parking with the Casino across the street and excellent restaurants close by and even an Irish pub.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlton M
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Carlton, Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the wonderful city of Groningen. We hope to welcome you again in the future, have a great evening! Best regards,

Tirana, Albania
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Hampshire Hotel-City Groningen has a perfect location 10-15 minutes walk from the central station and close to the shopping streets (10 minutes) and to some city attractions like the Martini tower. Nice cafes and restaurants in the surroundings. Double rooms are small but as far as I have seen that is pretty much standard in the NL. They are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer0208
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write your review. How nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know you can always contact us with your wishes, such as a larger room. Thank you for your feedback, we very much appreciate it as we always try to improve our services. Have a wonderful day...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A very friendly place to stay at. The staff were all eager to share their knowledge of their city and gave us tips on shops and places to see. The only downside is no evening meal available. However there are plenty of other places available in the city. The steam bath and sauna are private bookings and an hour long...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taylorol1
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Taylor, Thank for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the future. Have a wonderful day! Best regards,

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Been staying here for the last 3 year's when visiting assen for the MotoGP. Don't want to say too much as a good hotel is difficult to find!!! You may find the odd tv celebrity there. Opposite the casino and a short walk to the centre. We park the bikes directly outside but they can be parked in a secure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Thank you so much Leigh, for taking the time to write about our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we see you again next year! PS: We would love for you to try our breakfast buffet as well. Please let me know personally by email when you made a new...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
239 reviews
NH Groningen
#2 of 17 in Groningen
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
The Student Hotel Groningen
#5 of 17 in Groningen
92 reviews
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen

Address: Gedempte Kattendiep 25, 9711 PM Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range: €81 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good, clean and tidy. ”
 of 5 bubbles 391victora, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room that is not underground”
  • Black hole on the wall is
  • Bathroom
  • Metallic sink
 of 5 bubbles Schonefeld, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room if desired, they will help”
 of 5 bubbles Trip_K_C_85, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Tourist information directed me to the wrong Hampshire hotel which fortunately was close by. Hotel should provide better directions to avoid confusion. The desk clerk at the first Hampshire hotel did not give me correct directions so I got lost trying to find the hotel. I am sure this happens frequently enough so they should provide a small clear map to guests who go to the wrong location. My room only had a view of the roof of an adjacent building. Very disappointing .”
 of 5 bubbles NYCLoftdweller, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms can be a bit noisy at night but with the air con this was not a problem. ”
 of 5 bubbles 810gerardh, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5