We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2014

I would have rated the hotel excellent if the water pressure was better. Everything else about the hotel WAS excellent. The breakfast was excellent. The room was quiet. Good beds. ..............................................................

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Ken H
A_Kaminskii, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Sir Ken H, Wow almost an excellent from you point of view! Thank you for your comment about the water pressure. We are doing our utmost too be Green Key and think about our carbon footprint. Therefore we have water-saving shower heads in all of out bathrooms. Unfortunately this was at the expense of your comfort. Hopefully we may...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Stayed here on 26 October and then again on 03 November. A happy experience both times. Great location across the street from the train station. Genuinely cordial desk staff. Room fresh and clean. Mattress super comfortable. Quiet at night thanks to effective double-glazing. Lots of TV channels, mostly Dutch but including BBC. Electric kettle in room. Superb breakfast buffet. Only...

Thank Lazycanuck
A_Kaminskii, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Lazycanuck, Thank you for your review! It's good to hear that both of the nights you stayed with us were pleasant. We are aware of the challenges in some of our bathrooms. We are currently researching the best perminent solution. .We assure you that this a priority to us. We would love to welcome you again! With kind regards,

Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just in front of te train station. Is not very new but it has the enough renovations needed to be more than confortable. The breakfeast is very nice and with great choice. Internet working and facility to car park. The staff was extremely friendly.

Thank AlvaroAndre
Receptiehotel, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear AlvaroAndre, Thank you for your review and second visit to our city! We enjoyed having you as our guest. With kind regards

Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Possibly the friendliest hotel staff in the Netherlands. Very accommodating when I needed to flex around my original plan. Great seafood at the included restaurant and couldn't be closer to the train station in Leeuwarden. Thank-you for a great stay!

Thank Eric B
Receptiehotel, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Wauw, thank you very much for the compliments! They are well received and your review is shared with our entire team. We just would like to let you know, that you're more than welcome to visit us again!

San Jose, New Mexico
Reviewed 19 September 2014

You might think that I don't like this hotel when you read past this sentence, but I do like this hotel, a lot. We had issues with the cleaning staff and the management staff took quick care of the issues, but it still is worth mentioning here. Twice we found blood on our bedding, dried not fresh.Very obvious and they...

Thank PecosRiver
Receptiehotel, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Post, Thank you for your review! We always appreciate if guests write a honest and very detailed review about their stay in our hotel. The issue with your bedding is a serious matter and we are discussing this with our supplier. We assure you that this a priority to us. As a final note, we would love to...

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights on business and, whilst the hotel itself is very pleasant and in a very convenient location for both rail station and town, it was a comedy of errors. Some things were minor annoyances such as: - every time I called at reception there was only one member of staff present and invariably they...

1Thank surrealistic
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel located near an office of our partners, that is why I have been there. I liked the hotel very much: rooms are bright and clean, staff are friendly and positive, despite of the language problems from our side. And it is 1 minute walking from the centeer.

Thank Christina I
Dhr-vd-Linden, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Christina, Wauw, a 5 star review is a compliment on it's own. Thank you for your review about your stay with us and we hope to see you once again in the future. With kind regards

Guam, Mariana Islands
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First off... Stephanie, the front desk reception clerk, was awesome. She was so friendly, positive, helpful, and I loved that she always had a smile on her face. I loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here while in Leeuwarden visiting with his best friends. We had a nice room with the view of the train station which is...

Thank Haggan671
Dhr-vd-Linden, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear guest, What a great review! We're really happy with the time and effort that you used to write about your stay. We have giving the compliments to Stéphanie, our housekeeping and restaurant team. We would love to welcome you again!

Borrego Springs, California
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The rooms are clean and nice and modern, but that's now what make me rate the Oranje Hotel so wonderful. The service from all the staff was friendly and excellent. Room service was delightful. The hotel restaurant delicious. The location brilliant. The only "fly in the ointment" was that housekeeping did a rather poor cleaning on our two night stay...

2Thank thunefeld
Dhr-vd-Linden, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thunefeld, What a lovely comments to read. We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel! However we will take your points about the room cleaning at heart and discuss them within our team! Hopefully we may welcome you again next time you will visit Leeuwarden! With kind regards,

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Apart from helpful reception staff this is a truly ghastly little Hotel. Service in the bars and restaurant is at best perfunctory (in fact waiting for 20 minutes in the bar on 25.03.14 yielded no service at all); breakfast (entirely self-service) is dishonestly expensive at 15 Euros a head; the rooms (second rate & tired with poly-ceiling tiles) are so...

1Thank E1789LKAlan_S

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (62)
Room/Suite (17)
View from Room (9)
Bathroom (9)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (5)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.7 km away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
1.6 km away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
163 reviews
1.5 km away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
1.3 km away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
65 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#9 of 10 in Leeuwarden
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Founded in 1879, the Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy cafe terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden

Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Price Range: €74 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leeuwarden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leeuwarden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have had room 129 excellent room with ensuite shower and bath.”
 of 5 bubbles 91Peter, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“take the superior room”
 of 5 bubbles TomV54, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles albertbrussels, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 877et, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I found the rooms facing the train station have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles JarlElisif, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5