We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Basilea
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's clean and serviceable,the room was a bit small, great shower - hot gushing water, towels weren't too scratchy. Breakfast was basic,horrible coffee - never had worse.Good location, close to shops, restaurants and train station. If you're after a no-frills hotel this is for you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piried1954
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear piried1954 Thank you for sharing your experience. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. Basilea is a budget hotel, that offers lower prices for a stay in the old town of Zürich. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is close to Zurich HBF and in the center of the popular old town called Zurich Town Hall. Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. The room was a single room [#3] and is really a single room, but with toilet, shower and desk. The breakfast was included in the price and was more then enough. Free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredvanhetNederend
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear FredvanhetNederend thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you like our breakfast. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

HK
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. We chose it because of its location - near the old town and the train station. However, because of its location, it can be quite noisy at night. The room and amenities were basic. The receptionist in the morning shift was very pleasant and helpful but I can't exactly say the same thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank World_explorer_HK
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear World_explorer_HK Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important to us. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich....

Appenzell, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I had a last minute reservation over the phone. As I arrived, everything was ready, checking in took 2 minutes. The room is modern, functional and clean, there are enough toiletries and there are enough power sockets. I liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philosion
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear philosion Thank you very much for staying with us and for your good review. I am glad to hear, that you enjoyed your room. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Ecuador
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I have traditionally booked a similar hotel not far from Basilea. It was a great positive experience! Great front-desk service at all times. Breakfast was most satisfactory (my only advice would be starting it half an hour earlier), and the room comfy and efficient. Its location is great! In the warm heart of the city, next to restaurants, bars, shops,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marklaseve
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear marklaseve Thank you for sharing your experience and for the preference. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. Am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our services. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back! Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Collingswood, NJ
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I stay at the Hotel Basilea every winter when I'm in Zurich on business. Here's what I love and why I continue to return: friendly staff, proximity to all public transportation and many shops and restaurants, good breakfast with sufficient options, and a clean room with the basic amenities I need, such as a hair dryer, desk, and safe (note:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaBWright
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear LindaBWright Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. It helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. We appreciate and value your endorsement and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back for another pleasant experience at Hotel Basilea! Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Park City, Utah
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Zurich is a very expensive hotel city. If you want location, you will pay for it. Basilea is a remarkably good location, less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and right amidst the old town. The hotel itself has been around for many years, and has been well renovated. My very small single room was completely functional,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear TumbleweedandCactus Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. We really appreciate it. At Basilea we offer large family rooms, double rooms and small budget rooms aswell. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Reviewed 6 October 2016

I unfortunately had no sleep with noise from both outside and within the hotel. I got up to shower this morning to find the shower head detached (broken) so had to use this as a hose and the smell coming from the bathroom is near unbearable – it’s not actually carpeted but a laminate wicker flooring throughout the room including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delish2
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear delish2 Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry to hear that you had no sleep because of noises. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. We...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've stayed at this hotel for about 4 trips now, spanning 2 years. Experience: It's good. It's in the city center and hot-spots nearby are easily accessible esp the main train station. Room: I wish they provided a hot-water kettle. Rooms might be a little small depending on the type you go for but then it's Zurich. I guess some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parkingby
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Parkingby Thank you very much for staying with us 4 times already and for your good review. Am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hot-water kettles can be borrowed at the reception. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located, close to the central train station, the river, nice shops, bars and restaurants. The staff at the reception is very nice and helpful. Rooms are large and could've easily accommodated larger beds. But it's not the place where you can rest after a long day working. The pillows are small and uncomfortable, no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayman M
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Ayman M thank you very much for your detailed feedback. Am glad to hear, that you like our staff. We are planning to improve our room- climate during the warm summer season. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#83 of 139 in Zurich
274 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#41 of 139 in Zurich
490 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#99 of 139 in Zurich
142 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#39 of 139 in Zurich
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 25, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range: €141 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel zürich
Hotel Basilea Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single room number 3 is a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles FredvanhetNederend, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No difference which way you face or which floor you pick because there is no view from the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles World_explorer_HK, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 3rd/4th floor in the back of the building are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaBWright, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perhaps on the rear side”
 of 5 bubbles lahjakas, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“See the room on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles mayamaya2013, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5