We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Central Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Central Plaza Hotel
Central Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Central Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Decent hotel in excellent location, right by the main station, with two good restaurants. But avoid in the summer. Only the superior rooms have aircon. The others have "air flow control" and "temperature control" but despite buttons in the wall panel that suggest they turn on the flow and regulate the temperature, they do nothing of the kind. It's very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garryoevans
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for having taken the time to share your experience. We regret to hear that it was to warm in the room. Normally the air floating system cools down the temperature maximum 10 degrees compared to the outside temperature. I hope that my colleagues offered a fan. Please accept our apologies for any...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel was arranged for me by the Swiss Railways as part of a package deal. It gives a great first impression as a beautiful 19th century building on the Limmat River directly opposite Zurich HB the main train station. You are amidst the old part of town with plenty of walking opportunities including to the lake, Opera House and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahpratt
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write your detailed review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location in the heart of Zurich, the comfortable room and the delicious breakfast. The ice tea, water and apples are complimentary available in our lobby - we want to make our guests...

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Well, whilst we were checking the hotel out online it looked really good, clean, big etc... But when we arrived the rooms were tiny, breakfast was told online to be included but turned out it want. We had to bribe them to change us to a better room. Wouldn't really recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your comment. We regret to read that we could not meet your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience. Could you please let us know your Reservation number (jahn@central.ch) - so we can investigate the Reservation again. Kind regards Franziska Kläy Guest Relation

Greer, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely Great location!! Room was decent and bed was comfy. Downside- A/c was horrible.. The room was barely cool and it was a rough couple of nights without air. Also the shower had half a door so the floor was soaked after a shower. And breakfast is a bit pricey. But, location location location!! And the staff was pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay in our Hotel Central Plaza and for your good rating. Our rooms are equipped with an airflowting system. We regret that it was not cold enough in the room. Our Superior rooms in the first floor are equipped with air condition - it might be an option for a future stay. Thank you...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Whether you stay at central plaza hotel or not do yourself a favour and go to their Restaurant kings cave grill. You will not find better service in all of Zurich and the steaks are amazing. Once you have finished pop up to The piano bar and enjoy the talent of the resident player. We saw Ivan Minekov who was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianne531
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for your perfect rating. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you could enjoy the delicious Entrecôte in our restaurant King's Cave and the live piano music in our bar. Of course you also may visit our restaurant and our bar without staying in...

Zürich
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Very conveniently located in front of the central station over the limmat river, clean and friendly staff, then that is basically it. The rooms are small, furnished without particular charm or attention to detail (and cosmetics are clearly below average). Another good point is the coffee machine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esalagean
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit and for having taken the time to write your review. We are regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding the room. There are several room categories, the sizes and the style are different. I think our staff did not know that you have not been happy with...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Obviously, Francs don't go far in Zurich, so it's probably a good idea not to expect the world... Our room was comfortable enough, but looked very much like it hadn't been updated since the 1970's; I wish I'd taken a photo of some of the electrical items ;-) The staff were all great - very friendly and helpful. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bterich
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your valuable and honest comment on Tripadvisor and for your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations regarding the room. Last year the rooms have been equipped with new box spring beds and the floors have been renovated recently. Soon we will begin to...

Hamilton New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We booked and junior suite with river views. However to see the views you have to stand up and peer out the little windows. We were not happy so were moved to a lesser room on the first floor. This was great for two nights but then the band started up directly below us so we were moved to another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadyjay
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We always try our best to fulfil our promises but sometimes there are unexpected circumstances which make it difficult. Unfortunately you listened the piano music in the Superior room - the reception team suggested this room because of the wonderful view. Please...

Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Even if value for money does not exist in Zurich, this place as a good balance of facilities and great location for the money (compare to others), but be careful on the single rooms because they are tiny. Also the breakfast is a bit basic for the price. Ace price: 300€/night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FabBCN
CentralPlazaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you you recommend our hotel. Our double rooms are larger than the single rooms - the price difference is only 10 CHF (Standard Double Room, single use). All our products on our breakfast buffet are based on a regional...

Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The name of this hotel says it all. It is perhaps one of the best located hotels in the entire city. Easy to find and located across from the main train station, this is a very nice modern hotel, with all the services and amenities you would expect. Within easy walking distance of all beautiful Zurich has to offer, high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit and for your valuable comment on Tripadvisor. You are truly right. The Hotel Central Plaza is located in the heart of Zurich - directly next to the old town and to the Bahnhofstrasse. We are delighted to read your positive words regarding our comfortable beds and the nice view. If our...

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (344)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (28)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double - Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Double - Twin Room with River View (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 134 in Zurich
823 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 134 in Zurich
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 134 in Zurich
486 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#39 of 134 in Zurich
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: €193 - €339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#64 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Central Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Central Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great location and price”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suite for 3 adults”
 of 5 bubbles W9589BKshirleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The windows are well sound-proofed, so there's no problem taking a room overlooking the tram square.”
 of 5 bubbles theeddystone, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“river view, high floor”
 of 5 bubbles tinasE5058BF, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A River View Room Would Be Best”
 of 5 bubbles ahpratt, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay