We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Helvetia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Helvetia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Helvetia
 Click to rate
Bogor, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before we arrived, we already asked them, if we choose triple room, can add one extra bed because we are 2 adult and 2 youth, and they agreed but they say, if we ok with small space, then it is fine. We choose this hotel because of the price and the location is on the main street, it is walkable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m4r14_10
Washington, Virginia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The hotel is located on the main street of Zermatt, but located at the opposite of from the train station - near the church. But it's still easily walkable from the train station. The hotel is above a Thai restaurant, and checkin is done inside restaurant. There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl703
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Thank you for those information. I think they are very helpfull for further guests. I try to offer a simple cheap place to sleep at one of the most expensive places in Switzerland. The rooms are small but clean with shower, toilet and flat-screen TV. Travelgirl703, how was the breakfast included in the price? On breakfast you can meet our...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Didn't stay in the hotel, but we were looking for some good Asian food in Zermatt and found it in this cozy Thai-Swiss hybrid restaurant that's part of the Helvetia Hotel. Friendly staff and fair prices too, so we were very happy. Will be back again next year for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Martin
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Just returned from a family holiday at Zermatt. Had to choose a hotel which was relatively cheap and decided to try out Hotel Helvetia despite a couple of not so good reviews. Was a wise decision on my part as I found the hotel just right for my family's requirements for our short stay at Zermatt. Notable was the friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ednava
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

My words;) Thank you ednava for your information to tripadvisor community.

PJ
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Absolutely love this hotel. So many good things to say: 1. Price is affordable 2. Location is central as it is right in the center of town 3. Clean room and bathroom with heaters 4. Good morning breakfast (love their hot chocolate) 5. Friendly service 6. They have the most efficient housekeeping we have ever encountered. We had our breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jwlyy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Convenient for the station, Hotel Helvetia is also well situated for hikers and climbers, close to the path to Trift and the Rothorn hut. Clean and very good value and an excellent breakfast to set you up for your hike. Expect some noise at night from the bars if you have a room at the front of the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josie I
Hualpen, Chile
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This place sucked! They advertise free wifi but they dont tell you you gave to be on the first floor... in itself not a big deal but everything about this place was terrible. This place wreaked of a cheap skate immigrant family that was purely trying to get as much from you for as little as possible. Obviously the cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M W
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

I am the "cheap skate immigrant family".... Yes, the wife of the restaurant tender is thai, for me as a open minded Swiss no problem. I look for the hotel since 7 years, and yes I save money - for my guests! In Switzerland everything is expensiv, so are the hotels. Our hotel is situated in one of the best...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This hotel is right off the main street. We were on the top floor, room 15, so we had a view from our room. The bedroom and bathroom was very large. The bed was comfortable. As others have stated, there was no elevator. Trekking to the top floor wasn't difficult for us, but if you have trouble with stairs, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taylor P
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 February 2016

The room is just nice for a solo traveller, clean and neat. It's quite near the train station. The single room overlooks the main street and it's not exactly quiet at night. The breakfast spread was quite good and sufficient for me. I would go back there again if I'm travelling alone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miclooi
Wellington
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to other accommodation, because it was cheap (ish). Pros: It was centrally located. It was clean and comfortable enough (for one night). The balcony gave access to a nice view and fresh air. The breakfast was a good continental spread! It was sort of cheap. Cons: The room was tiny and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EHMcQ

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Rhodania
Hotel Rhodania
#94 of 109 in Zermatt
23 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
393 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#67 of 109 in Zermatt
125 reviews
0.4 km away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 km away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#82 of 109 in Zermatt
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 2 stars hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt. We have lovely small and clean rooms with a bathroom and TV in each. The Restaurant Helvetia is well know in whole Zermatt for it's exellent Swiss kitchen. Now we also serve Thai food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Price Range: €96 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Macclesfield, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the side or back are quieter at night.”
 of 5 bubbles josiei325, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are larger”
  • Jacuzzi tub in bathroom
  • Hallway area for ski jackets, boots, etc.
  • View from Room 15-4th floor
  • Double bed, table and 2 chairs, dresser
 of 5 bubbles 799taylorp, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you are a night owl, get a room over the main street. If you have trouble with noise like I do, get a room on the side or back of the hotel. Get ready to be up at 8 with the Church Bells next door!”
 of 5 bubbles buzzerbell, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 15 on the top floor faces away from the main street and we could not hear the bar scene which some complained.”
 of 5 bubbles Internationalgotoguy, 12 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the back are quieter I suppose and yet, there is always noise from the pub, across the street. There is no lift so if you have problems going up and down the stairs you should ask for a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 530gerig, 14 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5