We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$280*
US$257*
Great Deal
US$280*
US$276*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 939: English reviews
Start your review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
 Click to rate
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was quite a disappointing hotel in spite of all the raving trip advisor reviews it received. Although the room was clean, the hotel has a very 80's feel and could use some revamping! We found the room and bathroom very small. The room has no view (looks onto the courtyard) which is disappointing since Lugano is so beautiful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grueziland E
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grueziland, We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We realize that being rated between the first hotels in Lugano, expectations may run high and it becomes more challenging to please all of our guests. It is important to say that our hotel is designed with a classic English style, which we find appeals to most...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 1 week ago

At first glance, this hotel looks plain and the lobby and hallways make you think you are in just a three star hotel. However, once you stay for a night you will realize how everything works seamlessly, The location is terrific as other reviewers have mentioned, and the nice tea and coffee service in the lobby makes the place so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redmonkey
Murrieta, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a WONDERFUL experience at this property. First off, it is conveniently located if you're coming from the train station, just take the funicular from the train station down to the city, and the hotel is located right there. The hotel is located in the middle of shops, restaurants and bars galore. I loved the candy and snacks that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie1126
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and everything was absolutely perfect. The room was immaculate and fairly spacious, nice desk and sofa, sufficiently firm mattress, different pillows to choose from, absolutely quiet at night, just the right temperature in the room, incredible breakfast, lovely and smart staff and the best location to boot! Happy to come back anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

excellent experience, very close to train station, shops, lake, buses, restaurants and any other important locations. Very good service, very positive surprise. Rooms rather small but does not matter visiting a city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noesberger
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed here with my wife for my birthday, and the hotel kindly upgraded us to a Suite. For the first moment of contact, the hotel displayed excellent customer service, especially as we had decided to relocate from another hotel in Lugano ( which was possibly the worst hotel in the town!). The staff were all warm and friendly. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanj1699
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

with a few shortcomings: no plug socket near the bedside table; however, upon request they give you an extension cable. It's great to get free Wi-Fi, but unfortunately it freezes and blocks plenty of internet pages and especially iOS applications. Toilet paper and paper hankies are of 1* quality. TV flat screen is good, but the remote control that comes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PAG1959
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PAG1959, Thank you very much for having been our valued guest at Hotel Lugano Dante. We really care about the opinions of all our guests, positive or negative: this is how we learn and hopefully improve upon the quality of our services. As the comment is anonymous, we cannot therefore go back to your room reservation and verify which...

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children) enjoyed a pleasant stay in two rooms for four nights in early April. The breakfast included a wide range of options and the rooms included a free minibar. Parking is available at extra cost, and the hotel's location was perfect. All guests at the hotel are entitled to a 'Ticino Ticket,' a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 872ant834
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended and in the center of Lugano. The decoration is a bit outdated, but charming at the same time. Real, old school room keys that you hand over at the reception! The rooms are clean, very good bed and minibar. The buffet breakfast mainly consists of pastries, and the breakfast area is a little congested.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you very much for having been our valued guest at Hotel Lugano Dante. We appreciated very much your nice feedback. For all our readers it is important to say that our interior decor and design, including the lobby (renovated in 2010) and most of our rooms, have a classic old style. From 2015 we are also able...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 April 2017

At the heart of Lugano, conveniently situated at the foot of the funicular (90 seconds trip from the railway station), the Dante provides a friendly experience. My room was large, comfortable and clean with everything to please : comfortable bed, choice of pillows, free minibar, big bathroom, coffee and tea, free wifi... What I appreciated a lot were all those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Secotyne

454 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:54
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (151)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
555 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 km away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
630 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Price Range: €220 - €387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#1 Business Hotel in Lugano
#1 Family Hotel in Lugano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The staff will do that proactively.”
d0rsetb0b, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a overhead shower head..it's a different showering :)”
mla1234, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pop floor is thr best.”
giovannitruccato, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try the newly renovated rooms”
FrequentBizTraveler1, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was quieter, however window view restricted to close by office building. this did not matter to us as we were out most of day time.”
ShivaprasadKuskur, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$257* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$280
Orbitz.comUS$276
PricelineUS$280
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates