We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monopol Hotel

Booking.comUS$254*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
17/06/2017 18/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$341*
US$254*
Great Deal
US$260*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Monopol Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monopol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Had a great time! Staff were polite and helpful. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Receptionist recommended visiting the iced lake which we did. Have the best photos of the lake and surrounding scenery!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JYOTI R
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Allegra from St. Moritz Thank you so much for your nice words. We will pass the compliments to our staff. Please be assured that it is always our Goal to satisfy our guests’ wishes and make them feel comfortable away from home. Yours sincerely Lucas Merckaert, Host

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This was not my first stay at the Monopol and will certainly not be my last. The Ingham's rep informed the hotel which train I would be arriving on and their driver was at the station to meet me. Check in was friendly and effortless and I was shown to my room by the receptionist. My case had already been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert g
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robertg Thank You very much for all of your wonderful compliments. We will forward all of them to our staff. Please be assured that it is always our aim to satisfy all of our guests, and are very proud, that we can always welcome “Repeaters” as you. Thank you for informing us about the longer waiting time between the...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Just returned from The Hotel Monopol in St Moritz and everything about this hotel was first class! from the first minute we arrived in St. Moritz, the hotel porter was waiting for us at the train station, the welcoming staff when we checked in were brilliant (and throughout the entire holiday). They were so friendly and helpful.The room was superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulRobina
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Hello PaulRobina Thank You so much for this best Review. We will definitely Forward your overwhelming compliments to all of our staff. Please be assured, that we always are trying our best to make our guests’ feel at home away from home. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again very soon. Lucas Merckaert

Reviewed 16 April 2016

We went for Christmas 2015 and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. Our room was upgraded to a bigger suite at no charge which is always a sign of good things to come. As others have said, it can be noisy, but any hotel in the centre of town is likely to be so. Just bring some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsSimmo12
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simmo 12 Thank You so much for your wonderful Review of our Hotel. We will Forward the compliments to all of our staff. Please be assured, that it is always our Goal to make our guests' stays as comfortable as possible. We are very much looking forwad to seeing You soon again at art Boutique hotel monopol in St....

Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Excellent location – about as close as one could be to the centre of St Moritz Dorf, a short walk from all local facilities including ski lift and bus stop. Staff were plentiful, very friendly and extremely helpful. Generally, my room had everything I’d expect from this hotel. However, my bed was disappointing for a four star hotel in St...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert16
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your compliments to our staff, which we will with pleasure forward to them. We feel terribly sorry, that you were disappointed with the quality of sleeping. The noise on the street, especially during weekends, is sometimes annoying. The weekend of your arrival, we had the wold cup skiing...

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

A really nice hotel with friendly staff based in the centre of town. We arrived and were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. Each night the hotel provided a turn down service and left chocolate and sweets in the room! The breakfasts were good. Didn't use the spa. Met all expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesmichael86
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamesmichael86 Thank You so much for your nice Review. Please be assured, that it is always our Goal to satisfy our guests' expectations. We want You to feel at home away from home. I will pass your comments to our wondeful staff. Hope to see You soon again in St. Moritz @ art Boutique Hotel Monopol Lucas Merckaert, host

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I had read good reviews on this hotel prior to our arrival, but it surpassed all expectations. The hotel is in a great location, in the centre of the town and a 5 minute walk away from the ski lift. The rooms are clean, spacious and well decorated. There is a spa on the top floor of the hotel, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janine l
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Monopol for 7 nights, choosing the hotel as my Inghams ski package accomodation. The staff, in all departments, were professional, friendly, courteous and helpful. The room (I was upgraded to a twin) was clean, spacious, and well decorated. The ensuite bathroom was bright, with plenty of hot water after skiing. Italian Francisco and his Italian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twentyoneforever
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Twentyoneforever Thank you for the great valuation. We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us. Of course we will forward your compliments as well as inputs to our staff members. We have taken note on your remark regarding the ski room and will discuss this internal. We are looking forward to welcome you again...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Utterly wonderful hotel Position to ski lift perfect and in centre of village Food first class every night Health spar really beautiful Staff friendly and charming Couldn't fault at all Rooms clean and comfortable beds the best for ages and soft pillows ! What more could be said

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardheywood
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Was in St Moritz for the third time on a ski holiday. Always wanted to stay at the Monopol and was not disappointed. Great room (411) with wonderful mountain views and balcony. Bed was very comfortable and staff was excellent across the board. Made frequent use of the spa and hot tub - wonderful after skiing. Breakfast was also excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin13_T
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Robin Thank you very much for having spent your time reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you appreciated the room we assigned to you. As for the nightly “Movida” we are sorry about that, but we are also pleased to hear that the problem was easily...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
17/06/2017 18/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 km away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
632 reviews
0.1 km away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
294 reviews
1.8 km away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
424 reviews
0.5 km away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Price Range: €217 - €450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#11 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monopol Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
St. Petersburg, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Monopol Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have better views”
  • View from our room 212
  • Snow capped mountains peaking above the roof - view from our room 212
Suzibanter, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Entrance is on the walking street by the church”
Jxa08, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the lake side,beautiful view and above the gorgeous old town.”
Iain149, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If summer, there is no AC, so request room away from town square”
connier883, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make Sure You Try the Rooftop Jacuzzi”
ahpratt, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$254* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$260
Preferred Hotels
ElvolineUS$341
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates