We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schonegg 1347A Zentrum, Wengen 3823 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (212)
Dining (36)
Room & Suite (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#17 of 21 hotels in Wengen
We would like to introduce you to Hotel Regina in Wengen, situated in our beautiful little country of Switzerland, more specifically in the Bernese Alps. Ever since this splendid building was constructed in 1894, Hotel Regina has welcomed guests from all four corners of the world. It is strategically placed in a dominant position, allowing for spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, most notably the Jungfrau and the Silberhorn, as well as a plunging view of the Lauterbrunnen Valley and its impressive waterfalls. We're very lucky to have the talented head chef Mickaël Cochet (rated 16/20 by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) on our team. We invite you to discover our beautiful Restaurants 2 gourmet Restaurants 16 Gault & Millau " Chez Meyer's" and "La Bulle" The main restaurant "Jack's Brasserie" along with an excellent wine list.Jack's Brasserie (with an excellent wine list) In 2004, this Victorian-style hotel property was classified and recognised by the Swiss Heritage Fund. The hotel offers rooms with balconies or terraces with unique panoramic views. Furthermore, the Jungfrau-Aletsch region is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, granting us exceptional value. The gentle blend of clean air, fine food and grandeur form the perfect backdrop for summer or winter sports. We are convinced that Hotel Regina is a magnificent place, that cradles you in an atmosphere of tradition and magic.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
French, German
324Reviews2Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 72
  • 38
  • 25
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Annettenick wrote a review Mar 2022
12 contributions
We enjoyed four nights at this wonderful hotel. Great location near the station, shops and a real bonus to ski from the hotel and return on skis with a very short walk to the boot room. The staff were very friendly, attentive and the meals were good. Our room was perfect, recently refurbished and very comfortable with fabulous views to the mountains. The ski area is vast with great lifts and minimal queues. Thanks for a lovely stay, we would love to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Elif G wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I and my husband booked this hotel for one night for us and for my parents last weekend to visit Jungfraujoch. Starting from our arrival we have faced to very bad management problems. 1- We took the train from Lauterbrunnen to go Jungfraujoch and as we had the suitcases we called the hotel to see if they can come and pick up our suitcases when the train stops at Wengen to gain more time up in the mountain. Even they had confirmed our request without problem they were waiting us at the wrong place so we could not continue in the same train. We had to wait another half an hour. 2- We said ok things can happened. We forgot and passed a nice day up in the mountain. 3- Coming back to hotel in the evening we had a nice welcoming and things looks like working well. We went up to our room and there were no slipers so I called the reception and slipers came prety quickly also. However, 5 min later I called the reception again because the room was terribly cold like 18 degree and nobody pick up the phone. I called them like 5-6 times. There is one radiator in the room and it was already at the max but the room was freezing cold. And my parents room was even more cooler. Half and hour later when were going to dinner I stoped by the reception and I said to them heating looks at the max but the room are very cold if they can put electric heating for the both room and they said that they would have a look. After dinner when we were going up they said us that they checked the heating and looks ok. I knew already that nothing has changed and when I got back to the room it was as cold as before. We went to sleep as we did not want to get upset. 3- Next morning after breakfast we did the check out and they proposed us the bring our suitcases to the train station. The hotel and train station is 150mt. We called the hotel 15-20min before our train departure and no body response the telephone and after some mins I decided to go back to hotel. I entered to reception by ringing the reception number however it was not ringing. It was not ringing because somebody redirected the reception number someother phone so it was not ringing. I guess it was the same problem night before when I wanted to ask electric heating. Anyway, they asked me if I want to go with them to the train station but in their car there is no place to sit for their client, they had to to portable sit. I was suprised by that also. They ask me and than there is no place, we are in a hurry. So I went back to train station by foot and car arrived just after me but again we missed the train by second and we had to wait another 30 min. 4- After all these disapointment my husband called the hotel back to express all that and the receptionist proposed a discaunt. I called back the hotel today as there we no news from their side and this time he said to me that it can be vaucher and I said I am sorry but we would not at all any intention to come back to hotel where we had a bad experience. He said to me that he would talk with the owner and come back to me but nobody called me back. I never had bad experince in any hotel in Switzerland. As you know the prices are high here and usualy you get what you pay for and even if something goes wrong they take a corrective action. For me this hotel failed absolutely . Hotel claims that it is a 4 star and the price is prety high but the service is not at all like a 4 star://///
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Sleep Quality
Response from Guido Meyer, Inhaber at Hotel Regina
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Thank you for your kind comments and we are sorry you experienced such a disappointing night. As for the "discount" which actually was 25% of your stay, which you pretend not having received, was refunded the next day and copy of the refund had been sent to you and you had been informed............. Kind regards Guido Meyer (The one who does not understand English) Owner and Manager
Read more
PiazInCr wrote a review Dec 2021
Costa Rica41 contributions64 helpful votes
We just completed our first trip to Wengen and a stay at the Hotel Regina. This review is written for the benefit of future travelers and my goal is to be balanced and fair. If I could have given this a 3.5 I would. Hotel Pros: a beautiful, stunning, majestic hotel perched on the edge of town with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. The hotel was built decades ago and has been in the same family (Meyers) for most if not all that time. The Meyers are actively involved in running the day to day operation of the hotel from the front desk to service in the dining room. Everyone that we encountered was very friendly and accommodating. Our room (416) is a corner room with a spacious balcony that we enjoyed daily (bundled up in the winter). The location is perfect. A quick walk from the train station and the main street in Wengen. When you arrive, call them and they will come down the hill and transport all your bags up to the hotel (it's a steep walk up from the station/town). The beds were very comfortable and the room comes with a small sitting area, desk and 2 armoires for storing clothes and luggage. We came as a family of 5 and had 3 rooms: 2 doubles and 1 single and they kindly placed us all on the same floor. There are 2 elevators to use and a set of stairs to get your workout when desired :) Hotel Cons: Service in the restaurant was variable but leaned towards unorganized and slow. This is caveated with the reality of the pandemic and knowing that many places around the world are having trouble getting enough people to hire. Breakfast is included and if you care about hitting the slopes early, your best bet is to get there right when they open at 8 to get the best service. It was a checklist style menu that you fill out when you sit down and includes different types of eggs, bacon, cereals, fruit salad, yogurts, cheese, meats, and juices. Coffees, tea, cappuccinos and water are also included. They also bring ample baskets of breads and pastries. You will not go hungry, it just might take a while to get your breakfast - be patient. The rooms could use a few upgrades like outlets and better WIFI. There was literally 1 outlet in the room and was being used by the TV and floor lamp. To plug in our phones, we had to unplug one or the other. Bring a outlet extender that includes multiple USB ports and outlets to provide more power for your devices. The wifi game is weak and only 3 devices can be logged on at one time. Bathrooms were clean, modest in size and basic with amenities. Regarding travel to Wengen in general, this is a magical place that I highly recommend. It's work to get here though. We took a train from Zurich, but it was 4 different trains and 3 transfers, which with tons of luggage was a lot of work and mildly stressful as the transfer times are tight. Another option to consider is to drive to Lauterbrunnen, leave your car in a parking lot and take the final train to Wengen. Cars are not allowed in Wengen so at a min you need to take this last train. If I come again, I will either drive OR I will take advantage of the SBB service of transporting luggage from the airport directly to your hotel - note that this service takes 2 full days so plan accordingly. We LOVED this mountain and all the activities offered here. Ski passes are significantly cheaper than the US. It's about the only thing that's affordable in Switzerland and a delightful surprise. You can ski, sledge, snow shoe, hike and cross country ski. Sledging was our favorite surprise and we did it twice. Everything is well organized and easy to follow. The mountain is accessible to all levels of skiers. We rented our gear at SkiSet and they were great. Have a blast if you go - I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from town and towards the mountains
See more room tips
Varvara wrote a review Sep 2020
Maastricht, The Netherlands38 contributions6 helpful votes
First of all, huge thanks to the staff! You made us feel so welcomed during our stay. Special thanks to a Dutch waiter we had (unfortunately, don’t know his name). We felt like the service was personalized, warm and friendly with greatest wine and food recommendation! The food in the restaurant is homemade and definitely worth a try (goat cheese ravioli and lamb ragout are the winners). Also, reception staff is very friendly and flexible. We arrived late but a short call to inform was enough, no problems occurred and they even arranged a late dinner for us. Secondly, if you plan to go to Mürren, don’t hesitate to choose this hotel for your stay. It’s an authentic place with an amazing view. Room was clean and neat, a little bit too small for two of us with luggage though. Shower and toilet were shared but very clean and comfortable to use. Hotel is close to various cafes and restaurants as well as great hiking paths and cable cars. Easy and simple for relaxing and active vacation. Would definitely love to see this place in winter or be back for another hiking trip!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
beodan wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom83 contributions111 helpful votes
This hotel has a great location with stunning vistas, either from your room (making sure you have a mountain view) or from the restaurants. Rooms are well appointed, although expect the usual noise levels which come from an older hotel. Its fair to say, given the current crisis, that we really appreciated the help and support from all the staff, from reception to the dining area, who did a good job under difficult circumstances. It did feel like staff numbers were down, and service was inevitably slow and inconsistent - so guests do have to be patient. Some responses to the crisis seemed odd - for example, placing the outside bar in front of the fine dining restaurant was distracting, although the food served was excellent. Also make sure you are one of the first to the breakfast buffet. Why the relatively low rating? The drains really need fixing. Opening the windows kept things under control, given there is no air conditioning, but on a cooler day this could be a problem. If this is fixed, no hesitation in coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: mountain side view is a must
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Lauran wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions
Hotel Regina is so accommodating, I emailed several times with questions, and they very politely and promptly answered! Check in was very simple and I felt very safe as they were very careful. They even supplied us with additional masks and hand sanitizer. Our room was a little dated, but in a charming way! We had not one, but two balconies and both had fantastic views. Now that we have a small child, we spend more time in the room letting her rest. It was very nice to have such great views to enjoy. The hotel staff was very pleasant. We only had one poor experience with the breakfast service on our last day, but honestly everyone else was so kind I cannot hold it against the hotel. It was very easy to catch the gondola and go on a hike. There is even a playground on top of the mountain! My daughter LOVED it. I highly recommend this area for families. While it is small, it is perfect for a long weekend. We used the spa one day. They are being very careful, due to COVID. Each guest can book a time and the hotel cleans in between spa appointments. There is a library that had many selections, including books for children. We forgot about this amenity until the last day, but would have taken advantage of it sooner had we remembered about it! The hotel grounds are a treat to walk around, while small they offer many views and a small garden to visit. It was very simple to access the train, a small grocery store, and town from this hotel. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Valentijn v wrote a review Jun 2020
Kampen, The Netherlands16 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time at the hotel. We were here for a weekend of relaxing, hiking and delicious dining. The room is overlooking the mountains and had its own balcony. We were welcomed by a little snack in our room and during the whole stay the staff do their best to make you feel welcome. We will surely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Marika R wrote a review Feb 2020
Wengen, Switzerland8 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely design of hotel. The entrance and dining hall are very grand. Design of rooms is also lovely however not very practical. The room I was allocated did not have a fridge or kettle which is disappointing, also the bed in my room had a memory foam topper which made me very hot at night and it also had dips in it making the bed give me back aches. I will say though that the view from my room was incredible and the location of the hotel is really good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Silartravel wrote a review Jan 2020
Mies, Switzerland21 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed here for a short weekend stay as a family. It is situated in a great location (ski in / ski out access), with super views over the valley. But it is run down & tired, beds are uncomfortable, and service is patchy / amateurish. This hotel is at best a 3* hotel with potential to be a top hotel with some proper (and overdue) investment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for valley facing room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Nicolas C wrote a review Jan 2020
Geneva, Switzerland44 contributions7 helpful votes
Pleasant stay at Hotel Regina during a winter weekend in January 2020. The hotel is ideally located in the center of Wengen, very close to the station, in a historic palace building. We truly appreciated the professional and helpful staff able to talk in numerous different languages including in French. The room was comfortable with a shared balcony and beautiful view on the mountains, including the Jungfrau. The hotel furnitures are a bit old and damaged which would need a renovation, including the ground which is irregular. Hotel rather expensive during the peak season but excellent offers may be found on booking.com and kitten reservation websites.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
US$213 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
regina hotel wengen
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionWengen
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Regina
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Regina?
Nearby attractions include Skiset Wengen (0.2 km), On the Rocks Bar (0.2 km), and Central Sport (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Regina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Regina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Regina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Baren - The place to eat, Restaurant Caprice, and Pasta & More Restaurant.
Is Hotel Regina located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Wengen.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Regina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Regina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Regina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Regina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (8.6 km) and Rothenfluh Ruins (8.7 km).
Does Hotel Regina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.