We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818 Switzerland
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
Dining (45)
Room & Suite (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#23 of 42 hotels in Grindelwald
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel alpenblick is located in one of the most breathtaking valleys of the world, and is worth a visit in winter or summer time. In summer the hotel is the starting point for hike and bike trips in the wonderful mountains of Grindelwald. The bus stop is located in front of the hotel, so you can reach all the cable cars easily without walking. On our nice terrace, you can get a drink and enjoy the mountains after a hard day spent in the nature. In winter the ski slopes end directly in front of the hotel. With the skibus, which stops in front of the main door, you can reach easily all cable cars. The hotel Alpenblick is located at the end of the village, and not out of it. The village centre is about 10 minutes or 1 kilometre away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Ski school
Rooftop terrace
Ski In / Ski Out
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Billiards
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German
176Reviews15Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 71
  • 22
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julie K wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
We stayed here for 2 nights and would highly recomend it! The views from the hotel are probably the best in town, and there are 2 terraces to enjoy the scenery from. We also HD a Nice balcony. Very friendly staff. The roms are cozy and comfortable beds.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg Brawand, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you liked our place!
Read more
DaveandFreda wrote a review Feb 2022
Bradford, United Kingdom162 contributions78 helpful votes
During our stay in Grindlewald 16th -23rd Feb 2022 we ate here three times. Once as a couple and twice with our daughter's family. Service was friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Our three grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed the food and the atmosphere in the dining room. Recommend the fish dish with curried vegetables and the Pork steak was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg Brawand, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you liked our service and food! The fish dish you recommend is on our special menu, which is changed on a regular basis, therefore, it will not always be available.
Read more
Julia wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Alpenblick comes highly recommended for your stay in Grindelwald! The hotel's location is great for both summer and winter sports and the view is absolutely beautiful. Other than that, the room was spotless, the staff way very friendly and helpful in every way, and the food was good, too (breakfast incl. in your stay and delicious dinner options for an affordable price). We would definitely stay at Hotel Alpenblick again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg Brawand, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you liked our place!
Read more
Peter K wrote a review Jan 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
British family who popped in for and evening meal. We had the fondue, risotto and a smoked sausage stew. I personally really enjoyed the cheese fondue and we all really loved our meals. The host was very friendly and overall it was a really nice place to stop off for a meal. The price compared to all other restaurants in Grindelwald was very competitive indeed. Thanks for a lovely evening.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you lilked our place!
Read more
NeilBWB wrote a review Sep 2019
Hampshire UK33 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights, very friendly and helpful staff. the hotel was comfortable and spotlessy clean. We stayed on half board and really enjoyed the food. the rooms were very comfortable and we had views of teh Eiger . Good value
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 8 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your nice comment and rating!
Read more
Andrew_loves_europe wrote a review Aug 2019
Norwich, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here last week. The staff were friendly and one in particular went out of her way to make my daughter feel welcome. She really appreciated this. The view from our room was simply amazing and the hotel was a great base for using the cable cars. Breakfast was exactly what one would expect and the whole place had a warm atmosphere. The evenings were lively but all went quiet to ensure a good nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Thank you for your nice feedback! It was a pleasur hosting you!
Read more
galaxy wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed one night in this hotel. First of all this hotel is clean and has a great view from the room and balcony. The location is good and a good deal for the price. The room is clean and the bed is fine, but the pillow is too flat. We had dinner with a nice view from the restaurant balcony. I asked the staff whether i can have a glass to drink my wine in my room. The staff is coming with a glass and later the other staff said in german, which i understand, to give me a plastic one. So they exchanged them to plastic in front of us. For me this is very rude. I've been travelling a lot and it seems like the staff is not friendly. Even when i asked if she can give me the glass instead of the plastic she refused and said her boss said no because they have had bad experiences before with other guests. When i said i am dissapointed she said she dont care and feel free to write it even on trip advisor. For me this is embarassing and ruined my experience. For something simple like that she made guests feel uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 18 Jun 2019
Dear, We are very sorry, that you felt this way! We generallay have good feedback concerning our staff! We only give Plastic cups to take into the room, as we had unfortunately a lot of glasses which wandered into the suitcases of the guests. I was next to the situation, it was told you in a friendly way, and I guess during dinner and by check in the staff was friendly. So if this is the only reason to classify staff as rude, we are happy ;-)
Read more
Triviaso wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The room are smelly and i found some cockroach. The staff needs improvement,lack of service. In all my travels this must have been one of my top three worst experiences ever. From my first interaction upon my arrival until my checkout I did not feel happy. So pity, the view from the hotel room is great but the hospitality is super worst. the staff is unfriendly. I will never come to this hotel anymore!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 15 Jun 2019
Dear Randh, Might it be that you did not stay here, and only wrote this, as we cancelled your booking due to invalid credit card? If yes, it would not be our mistake, as you ignored the e-mail, and then we were forced to cancel your booking...
Read more
ChanChans wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom73 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed in Grindelwald for two nights and absolutely fell in love with this place. On arrival, we were greates by staff who spoke good english and helped us check in. We were so lucky to get a room with the Mountain View - stunning scenery from our window. Room - the size of the room was pretty small but was comfortable. There was a sink and towels provided. Beds - comfortable but the pillows are appauling. Plugs - There was only one plug in the entire room avaliable to charge our things. Wifi - really good connection all over the hotel. Bathroom - we had a shared bathroom which was really clean at all times. Breakfast - Standard breakfast with a selection of breads, cereals and eggs. Bus - staying at the hotel entitles you to recieve a free bus pass to take you around Grindelwald. Distance to train station - about 5 minutes drive or on the bus. Everything is pretty much close and down the road. Lovely hotel.. would recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Thank you for your kind feedback!
Read more
Marcelle J wrote a review May 2019
Winnipeg, Canada499 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
We headed down to Grindelwald to get a good feel of the Swiss alps and be surrounded by mountains. I had pre booked ahead on a third party site. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by staff that spoke English as a second language- well enough to do more than just help us check in. We were given a room with a mountain view and into the valley. It was incredible. We also had access to a patio from inside our room that had even more of a view. We loved it so much we immediately extended our stay another night. The room itself is somewhat small but not uncomfortable. Good enough for sleeping. Themed- chalet style. The bathroom is a bit small but it does what you need it to! Beautiful window that opens all three panels for fresh Swiss air. The beds were super comfortable. Plug ins for charging electronic devices were at the bedside. We went down for a meal and ate from the recommendations provided to us- since we are in Switzerland we want to truly take in the culture. Pride was as to be expected for Switzerland. Food was delicious as were the drinks. Free wifi that works well. Got a free bus pass and some discounts on local attractions and rides as well. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jürg B, Manager at Hotel Alpenblick
Responded 24 May 2019
Thank you very much for your kind feedback! It was nice to welcome you here!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionGrindelwald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alpenblick
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alpenblick?
Nearby attractions include Grindelwald-First (0.6 km), Faulhorn (1.0 km), and Grindelwald Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alpenblick?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Alpenblick?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Alpenblick?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alpenblick?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe 3692, Avocado Bar, and Restaurant and Bar GoldenIndia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Alpenblick?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Alpenblick?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (15.2 km) and Rothenfluh Ruins (14.7 km).
Does Hotel Alpenblick have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.