We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Kirchbuehl

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Kirchbuehl
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kirchbuehl
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2016

First of all, the breakfast and the service is excellent. We were a group of 9 and we had one double room and two appartments for four. First of all we had a upgrade on the room for 2. Then when they realised we were all adults. they gave us an extra appartment at no extra cost as one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michèle C
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Friendly service. If you have not learned Swiss German, the staff speaks perfect English, French, German, etc... Staff was super helpful. When we checked in, the receptionist gave us a tour of the hotel, and then led us to our room. Our room was facing the mountain, the room felt small because of all the furniture. Important piece of information:... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Numeralwinner88
Yucaipa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I regret having chosen this place as there are many better options and I was misled by the tour operator booking. The location is way out of the center and access is difficult. When I went to check in the lady was busy doing other work and was not interested to greet us and check us in soon. The property... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank SHYuc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Located perfectly, with a spectacularly panoramic view of the Eiger and other mountains and a glacier. The rooms are absolutely clean, offering all conforts you could want and are comfortably furnished. breakfast buffet and the food in the two restaurants in accordance with the high standards, with friendly and courteous service. We would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank 415valid
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments owned by the hotel. The booking process was superb, given that they were very patient with how fussy I was about the type of apartment that we wanted, with excellent information being provided about the various apartment options. During our visit all of the hotel staff that we interacted with were very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulK1960
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2016

This must be one the worst racial discrimination hotels I have ever seen and faced in my life. It might be a good place for others but one of the staff with her attitude, rudeness and inefficiency and worst of all her discrimination towards Muslims makes this a place to be be boycotted and blacklisted for sure! As a senior... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank DXBDOC
Christian B, Inhaber at Hotel Kirchbuehl, responded to this review

We did not received a booking for a disabled person in a wheelchair. The apartment was exactly the one they have booked. Probaly the snow, which is normal in the swiss alps in winter, was not so easy to handle for these frequent travelers. We informed them, that is not a good idea to drive the steep snowy driveway to... More 

Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and enjoyed every moment. Right when you walk in, you feel the cozy atmosphere. The young ladies at the reception are extremely friendly and helpful. And check-in goes quick. Our room was small but included everything we needed. This modern room had a balcony with a beautiful view. The bed was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fairytella
Langnau im Emmental, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We arrived here just after a fresh snowfall with the result of clear, clean, fresh air. Perfect sight to the mountains and the glacier. It started at the reception with friendly and very helpful staff. The z’Vieri snack was delicious. We stayed here for a birthday party with a several course meal, each course better than the other, perfectly arranged.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PhPSch
Knonau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2016

The hotel was excellent. A family run hotel streaming with friendliness and welcoming for us all including our Shamira (dog). A bowl, doggy biscuits and a doggy towel awaited her in the room – brilliant service for us and our beloved family member Shamira. The room was exceptional: we enjoyed having the room in two parts, being separated by a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed two nights with the family and had a junior suite plus a connecting double room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has great views if you get a room facing the Eiger. The hotel is very well run by the owner family, including the restaurant Marmite where dinner was a highlight both days. The hotel is slightly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zurichgrad

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
725 reviews
1.2 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
269 reviews
1.0 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
391 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First-class holidays at the foot of the north face of the Eiger: the chalet-style Hotel Kirchbuhl, which includes some holiday apartments, has been run by the Brawand family for four generations. Personal care and attention is therefore part of the special charm of this comfortable first-class hotel, which is also famous for its food: while you can find sophisticated delicacies in the gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuehl

Address: Kirchbuehlstrasse 23, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: €180 - €362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kirchbuehl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kirchbuehl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirchbuehl Hotel Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#15 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Kirchbuehl staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hutton Rudby
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Kirchbuehl staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good views”
 of 5 bubbles sudisri, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Excellent views and close to ski lifts”
 of 5 bubbles taos62, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay on the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles poodlena, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have best view of Eiger and valley.”
 of 5 bubbles HCT1962, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“South or west side for the best mountain views; all rooms have balconies as far as I know.”
 of 5 bubbles MinkyNinky, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay