We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel

Save
Share
Dorfstrasse 49, Grindelwald 3818 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/08/22
Priceline
US$216
View deal
Agoda.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/08/22
Trip.comUS$144
Destinia.comUS$141
FindHotelUS$153
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (413)
Room & Suite (192)
Dining (93)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#25 of 42 hotels in Grindelwald
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel in beautiful Grindelwald! Far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, you can relax with us in a cozy, rustic atmosphere. The Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel has been family-owned for more than 100 years and is now in the 4th generation. In our two buildings (main building "Jungfrau" & annex "Crystal") we offer a total of 45 cozy single, double / twin and triple rooms with bathroom as well as 10 single or double / twin rooms (some only with skylight) with running water and shared shower / toilet at reasonable prices. In the middle of the beautiful Jungfrau Region you will find great skiing and sledding opportunities, bike trails and countless hiking trails in Grindelwald. Our room prices include the rich breakfast buffet in the main building and free WiFi. Half-board can also be booked in winter season. We also have a limited number of free parking spaces directly at the hotel as well as a washing machine and a dryer for guests (chargeable). Our hotel is centrally located. The train station can be reached in 5 - 7 minutes on foot, the town center in 10 - 12 minutes on foot. A bus stop, which is served by the local and ski bus, can be found approx. 100 meters from the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
331Reviews19Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 144
  • 59
  • 21
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gazzamelazza wrote a review Feb 2022
Reigate, United Kingdom34 contributions11 helpful votes
A perfectly fine lodge, good value, friendly staff and our anex room had amazing views. Great stay with family. Although not central or direct ski access, all areas, Bodmi, Eiger etc are well served with frequent reliable busses. Accomodation in the anex was clean with fantastic views, with a bit of noise from the main road, as our room had both front and back balcony. The anex rooms are spacious and modern. Rooms were cleaned daily and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fine. Buffet food and drinks to order. The evening set 4 course meal also was fair value ~45CHF it is a bit odd walking across the road for breakfast, but we knew that’s what we were getting if staying in the crystal lodge anex. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Enough parking when we went at half term. Use the town busses to get to ski areas - all within 10...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau Lodge, Sonstige at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 15 May 2022
Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again!
Read more
runnerNYCM wrote a review Sep 2021
Zurich, Switzerland16 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked at Jungfrau Lodge Hotel. We recveived instead a room in the nice main building a room in the ugly building on the other side of the street. On the homepage and nearly everywhere only photos from the nice building can be found. It was very loud. On Sunday morning the staff began to clean before 8 o'clock. Breakfast was average, because no fruits and nothing special like pan cakes, omelette, waffles or chocolate cake/"Gipfel". We wanted a not hard cooked egg, we had to pay for that. Reception was not interested in our wish for a room with shower what we booked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau Lodge, Sonstige at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. If you make your reservation through our website, as you did, each category is marked with the building it is located in. We are very sorry if you did not realize that you chose a room in our annex. It is not possible to book a room with shower as all our room catgories are equipped with either shower or bathtub. If you send us a request wiht your preference, we can of course try to arrange it. We would also like to point out that our breakfast buffet contains fruit daily. Soft boiled eggs are available for free on request, scrambles eggs are at an extra charge. We are very sorry that you got woken up early on Sunday. "Unfortunately" it must have been somebody else being loud, our housekeeping team is not yet on duty before 8.00 hrs.
Read more
logigudmann wrote a review Feb 2021
Reykjavik, Iceland5 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a room in the annex crystal. It was just an average room. Spacious and clean. The view was amazing and the bed was comfortable. We had a halfboard, the breakfast was subpar and the dinner was quite good, especially the fondue. The restaurant was nice and cosy and service was excellent our first night, but not as good the second night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The view from annex crystal was amazing
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau Lodge, Sonstige at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2021
Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
Read more
Roger wrote a review Aug 2020
Geneva, Switzerland274 contributions190 helpful votes
Cheap budget hotel however we could not sleep more than 4 hours as our room was directly facing the noisy railway while the main road, heavy traffic, was on the other side. Terrible location for what should have been a quiet and relaxing weekend! Maybe the noisiest location ever experienced in a Swiss mountain :(
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau Lodge, Geschäftsführer at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were not able to sleep well due to the train tracks in the back of the hotel.
Read more
Leon K wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
It is ridiculous for such a hotel to exist.. WORST experience in my life! 1. Smelly bathroom - not sure if there is water leaking or broken toilet issue (can't tell) 2. Ongoing construction next door - the hotel arranged construction into rooms, which generated heavy noise and serious air pollution to all rooms; heavy machines used during the whole time; construction made our rooms shake violently during the whole period. 3. Dishonest staff - we were NOT told about the construction before check-in (we would definitely NEVER stay here if we were informed about the construction and pollution). 4. Rude customer service - we tried to communicate the construction issue and requested to change rooms - got denied firmly; the staff at the Front Desk acted like it was not his business. The hotel NEVER provided any solution to fix this huge issue; two staff over the phone used a nasty attitude to fend off us. 5. Because the hotel rejected to communicate, we had to request Booking.com to stand out on behalf of the customers. Booking.com wrote us back in an email that "the hotel refused further contact with us (Booking.com)... and refused to work with us..." 6. All the rude attitude/languages and construction described above were documented. If you need more information, feel free to see the videos on social media (Youtube).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 27 Nov 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you stay in Hotel Jungfrau Lodge. 1. We are very sorry that you had bad smell in your bathroom, we will of course check on that 2. We are very sorry that you had to experience noise during your stay. Luckily it did not go on for the whole of your stay of 2 nights but only approx. 1 hour on one afternoon 3. The staff was not dishonest with you, they did just not know that construction would be going on. The fact that we had to remove carpets was not planned in advance. Anyhow we are very sorry that you were surprised with this issue as we couldn't inform you in advance 4. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with our customer service and staff members. After checking with the carpeting company, the staff knew that the noise will only go on for approx. 1 hour, they did not offer you to move to another room in a different building to make sure that you cannot hear anything of the noise 5. Booking.com has contacted us and we did explain the situation. Please note that we never mentioned anything like "refusing any further contact with you or booking.com. Finishing our e-mail, we asked booking.com to contact us at any time if they have any further questions We are very sorry that you had to stay in on a rainy afternoon and that there was some loud contruction going on during a short period in this afternoon. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope that you had a wonderful time travelling Europe besides those two hours.
Read more
Sherree wrote a review Oct 2019
Chiang Mai, Thailand46 contributions44 helpful votes
Conveniently located close to the train station - about 5-7 minute (mostly uphill) walk to the platform. Nice hotel, clean rooms. Everything feels a bit old/dated, but it’s not a problem. Main complaint about the rooms is that there are hardly any electrical socket for plugging in chargers, etc. Good breakfast buffet spread – many choices, and things are kept well stocked…cereals, breads, cheeses, juices, teas/coffee, eggs (boiled - free, others on request and for extra cost). Friendly, helpful staff - with very good English. Good wifi all over.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And thanks for the big compliment to our staff! As we know that some of our rooms are already a bit dated (and unfortunately have a lack of sockets), we try to update everything step by step. We already have some plans for next month!
Read more
SquashAddict wrote a review Oct 2019
East Sussex, United Kingdom584 contributions213 helpful votes
Nice hotel, good and clean rooms. A bit old/dated, but it’s fine. Only complaint about the rooms was the lack of electrical sockets…….a distinct lack of them! Good breakfast buffet spread – many choices, and well stocked……2-3 cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, juices, teas/coffee, boiled eggs. Other cooked options are available, but are an extra cost. Friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi in the rooms. Conveniently located close to the train station - about 10 minutes to the platform.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As we know that some of our rooms are already a bit dated (and unfortunately have a lack of sockets), we try to update everything step by step. Plans are made for this November!
Read more
Charles wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
Four days on the hills and three in the Lodge. Superb setting, clean and well maintained. Staff were a delight and couldn't do enough for us. Only down side was on the second night I was kept awake until 2am by the horrendous snoring of someone in the room next door. Despite that would wholeheartedly recommend and I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 28 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again the future. We unfortunately know that sound-proofing is a bit weak in our old Chalet house and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Read more
caroltH5179IY wrote a review Aug 2019
Darwen, United Kingdom16 contributions5 helpful votes
7,200 feet above sea level you've to ride on the gondola to get there. Fabulous food, great views, wonderful walks in the summer and brilliant ski resort in the winter. Rooms are exceptionally clean and the staff very helpful. Our Swiss German isn't too good but we could converse with them. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room balcony overlooked The Mattahorn. Absolutely beautiful, healthy and breath-taking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Park at the bottom and you'll have to take the gondola to get here.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 5 Sep 2019
It sounds like to you had a great stay! Unfortunately you are rating the wrong place. We are Hotel Jungfrau Lodge in Grindelwald - reachable by car or train and with views to the Eiger!
Read more
Manuela L wrote a review Aug 2019
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg7086 contributions2990 helpful votes
We had a fine stay here with a wonderful view, very claean rooms, and good atmosphere; very quit and an amazing breakfast served by friendly staff. I definitly wish to return; the hotel is in the entrance of the village but not faraway from the center, good location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungfrau L, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Responded 5 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jungfrau hotel swiss mountain
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionGrindelwald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maennlichen (0.8 km), Grindelwald-First (1.0 km), and Espresso Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Belvedere, Cafe 3692, and Glacier.
Is Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Grindelwald.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (13.8 km) and Rothenfluh Ruins (13.4 km).
Does Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.