We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 533: English reviews
Hexham
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Belvedere for some 10 days every year for 10 years. We have travelled a lot and only stay at "good" hotels. Hotel Belvedere is one of our favourites for several reasons. Firstly, the staff are first class and are always keen to make your holiday that bit more special. Secondly, the hotel is thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
Management response:

Dear regular guest of the Belvedere. Thank you so much for your wonderful loyalty and the fantastic review. We are so happy that you keep coming back to our hotel. Loyal guests like you are making our profession very special and very attractive. We especially appreciate, that the overvalued Swiss Franc is not keeping you back from visiting Switzerland and...

Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Belvedere and were underwhelmed. We moved up the road to a very similar vintage (1980's?) room for less than half the price. Maybe some of the profits could go to renovations?

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zubik4
Management response:

Dear Sir I am really very sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Even short, your review gives me the opportunity to give you my point of view to what you wrote. 1980 ? you wrote. What was from 1980, the room or the hotel ? As we could not find out in which room...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This prestigious family run hotel is an ideal choice for anyone who wishes to spend time in the village of Grindelwald - be it for a family holiday or business trip. It enjoys a perfect and quiet position in the village with wonderful views of the Wetterhorn and Eiger and is just 2 minutes walk from the rail and bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timothy1986
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and the amazing review. As you mentioned our hotel is very close to the train station to which we offer a free transfer. In winter we also offer a free ski bus to the gondolas. Our wellness area offers not only a swimming pool and a inside as well...

Montreal
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent a week in June at the Hotel Belvedere and were very pleased with our stay. The location is fabulous, of course, and we had a great view of the Eiger, which was beautiful in both sunshine and cloud. The room was comfortable, spacious and quiet, and the staff were attentive and friendly. Food was excellent at both breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed the Eiger view from your room. Our Eiger view rooms are the most popular ones, but also the Wetterhorn view room offer a nice panorama. Our breakfast buffet is enjoyed by many guests and also the dinner offers quite a big...

Lancashire
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our second visit to this hotel did not disappoint. Friendly and efficient staff and not to mention the delicious food. Beautiful setting looking out on the Eiger with easy access to the village. Walking in the high mountains, returning to the hotel to enjoy wonderful food. This is THE hotel to stay if you are visiting Grindlewald.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladygolfer31
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest, Thank you so much for returning to our hotel and for writing this review. We're glad to hear that we did not disappoint. Thank you also for mentioning our friendly staff and the great food. Our 6 course dinner is the perfect meal after a long day hiking or skiing in the mountains. Of course we also...

Sevenoaks
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Last week we spent a lovely week at The Belvedere in Grindelwald. This was our second visit and we were rewarded with a room upgrade and a window table in the restaurant overlooking the Eiger. The hotel staff also fixed the weather for the week blue skies and mid 20C temperatures! The hotel runs like clockwork. The staff are superb....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenWhiteSevenoaks
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest, Thank you very much for returning to our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your upgrade and your window table. We of course always try to fix the weather for our guests, but unfortunately it does not always work as well as it did during your stay. Thank you also for mentioning our wellness area with our swimming...

Toronto
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very nice hotel, service is top notch. we had a room overlooking the town and it was a corner room, which had amazing views of the town. The breakfast was pretty good as well. It's a short walk to the hotel from the train station. They also offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from train station in case you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omer S
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for having chosen the family run hotel Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald. We are aware of the fact, that you have a big choice of hotels and we highly appreciated your visit to our place. Thank you also for writing a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay....

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2012

After several years of enjoying ski vacations from the Belvedere my wife and I returned in May with one of our grown children and her husband to introduce them to the beauty of Grindelwald and the surrounding area. We were not disappointed and experienced the warm reception and personal care which we were used to. The views from the Belvedere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belvedere guest, Thank you so much for returning to the Belvedere. We appreciate your loyalty very much and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the great review. Our team at the front desk always tries to make you feel just like home right from the beginning and we inquire about the well...

Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The outstanding part of this hotel is its restaurant. Whilst it is in a superb position in Grindelwald, the town itself is busy and less appealing than others nearby. On a 7 day stay last September we found some aspects not quite matching the rather self admiring claims on the hotel's website. In particular, we had the impression of a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew503836
Management response:

Dear Belvedere guest. thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We are really sorry, that you could not enjoy it. The impersonal management was the main problem of your stay, May I inform you, that our hotel is owned and run by the Hauser family ever since the hotel was opened in 1907....

Lenox, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We came here for a weekend and brought my cousin and her family (they have two great little kids along as well. The hotel was great! Very nice rooms, excellent food,superlative service, and a really friendly atmosphere. The surroundings are rather spectacular, and that is an understatement. When we came back from the mountain cable car station the hotel very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WHLenox
Management response:

Dear Belvedere guest, thank you so much for your stay with us and many thanks for having taken the time to write a great review. We are very happy to read, that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As a family run hotel we understand the needs of a family with children and try to fulfill them...

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (375)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
753 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
507 reviews
0.2 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
143 reviews
0.8 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
309 reviews
0.0 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: €234 - €481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
nj
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best view , best service , best staff”
 of 5 bubbles _dimple_prasad, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with mountain views are special.”
 of 5 bubbles 828mjj, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South facing rooms have wonderful views of the Eiger and Jungfrau”
 of 5 bubbles lindaneal0303, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying a bit extra for an Eiger view room. The view is spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles rosiefromlondon, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms with bunk beds”
 of 5 bubbles SwissFamilyOwen, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5