We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818 Switzerland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$328
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (204)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (38)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 42 hotels in Grindelwald
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
470Reviews4Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 269
  • 144
  • 39
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sammy C wrote a review Feb 2022
9 contributions19 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. I stayed with my mum, for a week away not the restrictions are easing. I would highly recommend staying here and here is why. OVERVIEW OF HOTEL: - Staff are very welcoming and friendly - Wellness area is adults only, and a real treat. There are several small rooms, varying from steam room to saunas, and a chill out lounge area overlooking the view to the back of the hotel. This area is tastefully decorated and we definitely felt very relaxed after we had used this area. This was our favourite part of the hotel. (Its accessible between 9am-8pm daily, but if your using before 4pm you need to ask them about 30 minutes before to use this area so they can turn this on for you). - Cleanliness in all areas. - On-site restaurant was really nice, we used the restaurant upstairs (1st floor) on the first night as we had not booked. - Continental breakfast was served in the 1st floor restaurant and set service. It was nice and fresh and included the usual cold meats, smoked salmon, cheese, breads, yoghurts, cereals, juice with the addition of scrambled eggs and streaky bacon. You were severed fresh coffee if you asked for this as soon as you entered, but there was also a variety of loose flavoured teas. - This hotel is in a great location of Grindelwald, right opposite the train station, and the views from both the front and back of the hotel are spectacular. - You can order wine to the room, as we did for the last night. They can put this on your bill which you pay as you leave the hotel. - The bathroom was tastefully decorated, we had a bath and a moveable shower head, which had good water pressure. - Nothing to fault in this hotel, it is exact as advertised. OVERALL FINDINGS OF THE AREA OF GRINDELWALD : This is not the first time myself or my family have stayed in Grindelwald, but we have not used this hotel before and we have only visited in the summer. We find it a great base and love to explore the nearby towns/villages via cable cars and trains. Grindelwald has a lot of activities to offer and do these can change depending on the season. It’s a hot spot for those seeking snow sports in the winter, but come summer the scenery has completely changed, with a much hotter climate, there are plenty of walks and adventure sports to be found. It’s worth taking the time to scope out the area, there is also an information pack in the hotel which can offer you some ideas. We always go to the ticket office and purchase a pass for the Jungfrau area, this covers unlimited use of most trains/cable cars for the period you purchase this for and is worth the extra money. We usually get this to cover 4-5 days if we are staying for a week and plan different day trips out (I.e going to Murren/First /Top of Europe). A trip to the top of Europe (Jungfraujock) is highly recommended, with its mesmerising views, stunning ice sculptures and special Lindt chocolate shop. This is usually at an extra cost but there is currently a covid offer on, where you can go up here for free on the Jungfrau passes, alternatively is also currently discounted if you don’t want to purchase a pass. A 5 day pass is currently 254chf per person to give you and idea, it might seem steep but we definitely got our money’s worth. Grindelwald can be pricey, we found our average meal costs were around 100-130chf which included a main meal and bottle of wine. A bottle of wine was usually 50cfh. However, the co op prices are reasonable so if you’re going self catering you should be fine. There are plenty of hotel restaurants and restaurants to choose from in this area. We particularly liked C und M for a nice meal, and then for fondue would recommend the Eiger Hotel (Barry’s restaurant) and hotel Hirshchen (we got a bottle of Prosecco for 30cfh by far the cheapest we found). Reservations are advised and you might struggle to get a table in the most popular restaurants during busy times. You can access Grindelwald easily via trains or car. We came by train from Geneva airport but have also driven previously in a hire car, the roads are well maintained and easy to navigate. I last visited in summer 2019 and since then the train station has been expanded and upgraded at Grund (Grindelwald) and the new express cable cars are spectacular, and shaves off time compared to the train, however we love the views from the trains just as much. We love this magical area, and I’m sure we will return another time. We would definitely look to use The Hotel Kreuz und Post as our base again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 15 Feb 2022
many thanks for the wonderful review and the top score! Aswell thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. To read, that you have the intention to return, is of course the best news we can get. It was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. We wish you all the best from Grindelwald and hope to see you soon again. Family Konzett & Team
Read more
Mariya C wrote a review Dec 2021
9 contributions4 helpful votes
Location: the hotel location is excellent - only 1 min away from the train station and buses, and 5 min walk from the Firstbahn lift. All amenities are just a 2 min walk away - parking, sportcenter, shops and restaurants. Room and the view: from the Eiger glacier view room, we got an amazing panorama on the mountains and the village. Definitely recommended! Our room was very spacious, freshly renovated and had everything we needed (and even a small welcome treat from the hotel with a handwritten card!) Food: the breakfast was excellent - there was a good selection of food, and the dining area was cozy and had a stunning mountain view. Eggs and bacon were offered at an extra fee though. Dinner was offered in a restaurant on the ground floor: the menu featured local cuisine with locally sourced ingredients, everything was very tasty! And separate thanks to the staff for the amazing service! The receptionists, waiters and other hotel employees were very kind, helpful and friendly! Spa: the spa area was freshly renovated and has two saunas, a steam room, an infrared sauna and a relaxation area with an opportunity to go on a roof terrace. Thanks for the Konzett family and the hotel staff for a pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Eiger view room has an absolutely stunning view!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 26 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Happy New year and all the best. Sincerely, Family Konzett & Team
Read more
Khaled S wrote a review Oct 2021
29 contributions5 helpful votes
during our stay in the hotel, we suddenly heard yelling from our neighbors room, when we rushed to find out what has happened, they told us that their room was leaking water. When the girl called the manager (who later appeared to be the OWNER) they were treated horribly and with utter racism. The woman yelled and kept on saying “you Arabs” “I won’t be letting any Arabs stay in the hotel again” “I will make you pay more and call the police on you”, Keep in mind that this was even before she saw the leakage. She immediately assumed it was our neighbors fault. Even if it was indeed their fault, that was the worst way to deal with it. Our neighbors said no one reached out to them for an apology or even an explaination. Other than this unfortunate incident, the hotel says it’s a 4 star hotel, let me just say it is not. Some of the rooms are old and outdated and the room service was horrible (that is, if there was any) . and on top of that the price is very high considering the finish of the hotel. Our experience was horrible if it wasn’t for the rest of the amazing staff including Monica from the restaurant and the brunette at the reception, they were very delightful and made our stay bearable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear Khaled, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, we are sad about this unfortunate incident you have experienced with us. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. After the 3rd time this season our rooms were set under water, because guests are not used to western toilette standards, we must now implement a manual in correct toilette use. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our very best to give you the great hotel experience that so many other guests have grown so fond of! Best regards, your family Konzett
Read more
3blitz wrote a review Sep 2021
73 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel in August in the Panoramic view suite for 4 nights. The view from the room of Eiger mountain is breathtaking. We would spend a lot of time in the morning and evening just sitting out in the balcony admiring the views. The hotel is very conveniently located, steps from the train station and lots of restaurants, shops and bakeries nearby. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful and arranged activities for us when needed and quick to help out with any requirements. The only downside were the amenities provided (towels were past their prime, need replacement and air conditioner was a bit noisy) and the morning breakfast options could be better. Though they do prepare made to order omelettes if requested.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Panoramic view suite has great views of the mountain
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hote and constructive feedback about the towels! We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope to see you again very soon. Best regards from Grindelwald Family Konzett & Team
Read more
mradl2015 wrote a review Aug 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
I just wanted to focus on the excellent service of the hotel staff. I received a warm and friendly greeting at reception, despite arriving somewhat dishevelled after a long hike over the mountains. Front desk staff were charming, and my luggage had already been brought up to my room. In the evening, staff in the dining room couldn’t have been more attentive, with speedy and charming service. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 28 Aug 2021
Dear mradl2015, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you take away great memories. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to welcome you some other time in near future. Best Regards from Grindelwald Family Konzett and the entire Kreuz & Post Team
Read more
Louis B wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York17 contributions11 helpful votes
We loved the Kreuz & Post hotel for its views on the Eiger, its amazing hot tub, its very convenient location right next to the train station, and for the super friendly service. We strongly recommend taking the Eiger view rooms (we had the 501 next to the spa).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear LBswiss, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and the top score. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you take away great memories to return and refresh some other time in near future. Best Regards from Grindelwald Family Konzett and the entire Kreuz & Post Team
Read more
JoniHelsinki wrote a review Feb 2021
Helsinki146 contributions52 helpful votes
The food varies. Some appetizers were excellent. Generally only meat, no fish was offered. The breakfast was fine. I booked direct and despite asking I was not offered any benefit. I would have had more benefit from using a booking service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Owner at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 27 Feb 2021
Dear, Thank you for your good review of our hotel. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope you take away great memories of skiing to return. Best regards from Grindelwald and the entire Kreuz & Post Team
Read more
Antonia_XY wrote a review Aug 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands195 contributions82 helpful votes
What everyone will quickly come to know about Switzerland is that everything is quite pricey and Hotel Kreuz & Post is no exception. It is a decent, clean, functional hotel in a great location, however nothing about it warrants four stars. The hotels biggest “pro” is its location about 1 minutes walk from Grindelwald’s train & bus station and the fact that it provides cheap (5 CHF per day) parking options close by. It is nestled between a restaurant and snack bar on the Main Street so first impressions are not great- just a small dingy reception in an apartment block. The decor of the hotel hails from the 1980’s and everything seems run down and past it’s best days. Our room was on the fourth floor facing away from the Main Street and was very quiet, although the front facing rooms benefit from a balcony. The room is functional and feels clean, however there is nothing luxurious about it. Thick carpet, shabby light wood furniture, two single beds pushed together with thin mattresses, grubby textured walls. Basically nothing has been done here since the 80s/90s and if you are looking for something modern or more than somewhere you will pass out after an 8 hour hike then this is not for you. The bathroom is also functional, however no plug means you cannot use the bathtub. Whilst I understand that renovating might not be an option I do think small changes could make these rooms feel a lot better- making up the bed as one big bed using a mattress topper, some flowers, a few elegant bathroom accessories such as bath bombs, some useful accessories for activities in Grindelwald (e.g sun cream) to name a few ideas. Breakfast at the hotel was again adequate but nothing special. A small buffet offering scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cuts, bread, cereal and yoghurt. Again everything was a bit scrappy , think sweaty cheese on platters and mismatched glasses. Overall we did sleep well and appreciated the location, but we would not be returning and would prefer to choose either a cheaper option in which we would expect poorer accommodation or a “treat yourself” option.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear Antonia, Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback that we learn from and use to improve ourselves. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. If we can do someting special for you, assure you with the best and lowest price guarantee the next time you visit us, please do not hesitate and let us know directly ! Best Regards, Your Family Konzett & Team
Read more
Raine R wrote a review Mar 2020
6 contributions
I am on my last day of a 5 day stay in Grindelwald at the Kreuss & Post hotel. I am a single traveller and have been treated amazingly. The room is nice very clean and cosy with a lovely bathroom (deep bath and lots of hot water). Although the hotel is just across the road from the railway station no noise in fact slept better than at home. I have stayed on the half board basis 5 course meal each night very nice. I have had the best time traveling to Grindelwald first, jungfraujoch and Wengen just not long enough. Planning another trip and will use this hotel as a base, although I am the only British guest at the moment all the staff have been great.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Konzett, General Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear Mrs. Raine R, Our team always does its best to make guest experiences wonderful and special. When we reach this goal, we have done our job and we are very grateful that you took the time to write this great feedback. My team and I appreciate this very much. We look forward to welcoming you again and be your base. If we can do something special for you the next time you visit us, do not hesitate and let us know. Best Regards, Benjamin Konzett
Read more
Martin K wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago4 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved everything about this hotel. We were part of a big ski group of Americans (CMSC Chicago) and pretty much took over the place. The staff, servers, bar tenders and front desk, were just the greatest. Super friendly, accommodating pretty much anything, multi-lingual and ever cheerful despite the long hours they work. Our room facing the main street with a nice balcony was spacious, modern and very comfortable. Stunning views of the town and mountains. Best location in town, literally across from both the bus and train stations with buses and trains that will take you up to the ski mountains or anywhere else in Switzerland. Interlaken and Thun are pretty close and well worth a day trip. Breakfast before skiing is very hearty with great selections of fruits and yogurts, crispy crusty breads and rolls, cheeses and sausage, eggs and bacon and much more including special orders. The coffee was heavenly. Dinners were even better with excellent soups, salad bar, gourmet main courses and delightful deserts. Fantastic wine list which we partook of liberally. Capping of the perfect day was the nightcap at the bar with comfortable seating, great service and a good variety of Swiss wines and distilled spirits. I can sincerely recommend this hotel to anyone. Our thanks to the entire Konzett family. We felt so welcome in your hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing Main Street
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Konzett, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Dear 926martink, I cannot tell you how happy your post on TripAdvisor makes us. Our whole team always does its best to make guest experiences wonderful and special. When we reach this goal, we have done our job and we are very grateful that you took the time to write this great feedback. We all appreciate this very much and would look forward to welcoming you again. If we can do something for you the next time you visit us, do not hesitate and let us know directly. Best Regards, Benjamin Konzett
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$234 - US$376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel kreuz and post, hotel kreuz post, kreuz post grindelwald
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionGrindelwald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kreuz & Post
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Nearby attractions include Espresso Bar (0.4 km), Mont -Bell Grindelwald (0.1 km), and Indoor Rope Park (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Belvedere, Glacier, and Avocado Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Kreuz & Post located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Grindelwald.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kreuz & Post?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.