We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Schweizersbildstrasse 20, Schaffhausen 8207 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$158
View deal
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$166
Priceline
HurbUS$190
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Waldhotel Hohberg, your Schaffhausen “home away from home.” Waldhotel Hohberg aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Schaffhausen, Waldhotel Hohberg is located a short distance from Säckelamtshüsli (1.4 mi) and Munot (1.7 mi).

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Waldhotel Hohberg offer air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including room service, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage. Guests of Waldhotel Hohberg are also welcome to enjoy breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Schaffhausen's popular cafes such as Cafe Vordergasse and Meier's Pool, all a short distance from Waldhotel Hohberg.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Museum Stemmler, which is a popular natural history museum amongst tourists.

Waldhotel Hohberg puts the best of Schaffhausen at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Squash
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German
162Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 54
  • 22
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
cdsw wrote a review Aug 2020
Port Louis109 contributions71 helpful votes
This hotel turned out to be in a commercial area by a main round, about 15 minutes outside Schaffhausen. If you are visiting Schaffhausen you would do better to enjoy the charm of the city, in similar-priced, charming hotels in the centre. But if you have to stay here or prefer being by a main road, why not? (As long as you avoid being allocated "rooms" number 21, 22 or 23 which are actually cupboards with beds and showers in that overlook a covered parking area.) Staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. Breakfast was good: fresh cheeses, fruit salad, scrambled eggs etc. Oddly, the hotel building incorporates a horse-riding dressage ring. I also noticed children's play areas, in the dining room and outside the front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms 21-22-23 (and perhaps other 20s) as they are converted garages on the ground...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DAP P wrote a review Jun 2020
Eindhoven, The Netherlands113 contributions76 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night on our trip to italy; Good Hotel, nice room. Friendly people, quiet place. Only complaint is teh pricepoint of food and drinks. 2 drinks (with alcohol) were 28 CHF, that is 26 euro. That is robery. Pricelevel is high in Switserland we were told. But this is a bit over the top. For us the reason for only 3 stars
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Maor B wrote a review Dec 2018
Maynooth, Ireland7 contributions2 helpful votes
nice and worm hotel, the room was very new designed with new and beatiful stuff, beds was comfortable that was great for 2 parents and 3 kids, the kids were in different room inside the the big room we got, the resturant and the breakfast was great
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Helpful
Share
CambridgeKev wrote a review Aug 2018
Cambridge, United Kingdom194 contributions138 helpful votes
This modern hotel is located next to a large sports complex and the dining room has windows that overlook an active dressage ring. To the rear of the hotel were stables, exercise yards and a 'horse-walker' exercise machine. The room we were given did not have air conditioning and so it was very hot in the recent spell of hot weather. I did not realise until we were leaving that rooms are available with air-conditioning. The room was clean and airy and had a jug for tap water and some small biscuits but nothing else. Down the corridor was a coffee making machine and a bowl of fresh fruit but there were no cups at the time. The price of hotels in Switzerland is high and this was no exception. We paid 170 CHF per night for a double room but it included breakfast. The hotel was good the staff were friendly and helpful and overall the experience was a good one. It I were to complain about anything it would be one of the adverse effects of living in a stable and that is there were numerous flies everywhere
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Pick one with air con
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Randy S wrote a review Aug 2017
Portland, Oregon347 contributions308 helpful votes
This is a very strange little place. It's attached to a horse training ring! The location is well out of downtown, so you need to drive everywhere. The price was very high, but there were some pluses too: the breakfast was very good, with a German type of fare rather than the French baguette/jam/coffee routine. They have an elevator and you can have drinks on a little patio. The room was large and had a "trendy" design. The bed was decent too. Minuses: It's in a business neighborhood, so nothing nearby to see. Price to value was not good either. I would definitely not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Helpful
Share
subsprkf wrote a review Apr 2017
Düsseldorf, Germany4 contributions4 helpful votes
Dirty, Rude and Cunning. I have been to 100 hotels and the staff of this one are the worst ever. When we arrived there was no one in the hotel, they just left the key with my name on it. I checked the room was cold and there were blood stains on the coversheet. There was no once to call, there was no number for receptions or anyone number/instruction on the room to call house service or room number. I tried to call in the morning or see the reception, but there was no one again in front desk or no one picked the phone. I tried many times. Finally, when we were leaving a drunk-looking punk appeared and asked for 60 CHF Extra. He called himself the manager or owner of the hotel, but at best he could be a spoiled child. He charged extra saying stuff that was not in our booking policy nor was communicated to us at all before! When I denied the charge as untrue, he came behind his desk and WANTED TO PHYSICALLY ATTACK US. HE was high or drunk, perhaps both and totally out of his mind. He also regretted the fact that has not been able to see us last night to make our booking as no show and perhaps avoid booking.com fees. The most terrible thing was that when I brought up the sheet issues he first denied it and then rudely said "THIS IS BLOOD FROM YOUR FEMALE COMPANION". He is the most unprofessional person in hotel industry I have seen. We also booked a room for 3, THEY CHARGED THE PRICE OF TWO ROOMS FOR A TRIPLE ROOM AND THEN ONLY GAVE US A COUCH! The breakfast was a joke, the coffee machine did not work and there was no toaster or even enough bread
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid at any cost
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Biljana M wrote a review Apr 2017
Austria10 contributions19 helpful votes
Quiet and family friendly hotel. Room was clean and tidy, comfortable enough. Solid food choice. Interesting children menu. I have especially liked the idea of homemade dishes for children..so, without usage of frozen food..(potato, nuggets..etc,). Staff: friendly and considerate. If you are travelling by car, city centre is only a few minutes away. There is nice parking space in front of the hotel too. I am glad to give my recommendation for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Thomas L wrote a review Nov 2016
New York City, New York29 contributions7 helpful votes
Check in and check out was easy. The staff were very friendly, especially the gentleman at the front desk and the cleaning staff. This is a good place to stay if you are travelling by car. Location is close to Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein. It is a 10 minute drive into the town of Schaffhausen and you can park your car in public parking for about 4 francs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
ZZJonZZ wrote a review Sep 2016
London, United Kingdom229 contributions99 helpful votes
A basic but clean hotel with good WIFI but in a secondary position. We ate in the hotel at night and the menu was limited but the food was OK. The staff in the restaurant at night were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a struggle, the hotel dining room provides breakfast to the sports complex next door. We were in a hurry to travel onwards and 40+ people and only one hot drinks machine isn't ideal. So whilst the breakfast food was OK the hotel need to address the issue of only one machine for drinks. We wouldn't return there are better places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
wudangtiger wrote a review Jul 2016
Hepburn Springs, Australia78 contributions82 helpful votes
This hotel, built around a horse-riding ring in a nondescript suburb of Schaffhausen, is excellent value. However, it is rather far from the old city, which is why you want to be Schaffhausen, at least as a tourist. No coffee in the room, but it is provided for the floor. Lovely rooms, spacious and well appointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from WaldhotelHohberg, Manager at Waldhotel Hohberg
Responded 20 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review. You're right , we are a bit outside the old town . we are sorry that this is so. Unfortunately we could not change until today .
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of SchaffhausenSchaffhausen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waldhotel Hohberg
Which popular attractions are close to Waldhotel Hohberg?
Nearby attractions include Rhine Falls (5.3 km), Smilestones (5.1 km), and Altstadt Schaffhausen (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waldhotel Hohberg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beckenburg Das Restaurant, Munotblick, and Villa Sommerlust.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Waldhotel Hohberg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waldhotel Hohberg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Waldhotel Hohberg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Haus zum Ritter (2.9 km), Brunnen am Platz (2.7 km), and Rhyality (5.1 km).