We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Oberstadt 20, Schaffhausen 8200 Switzerland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (21)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sorell Hotel Rueden
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
A real gem! The historic 18th-century walls and the ancient parquet floors combined with surprising elements of modern interior design turn the hotel into a unique home. The personally managed hotel with 30 rooms is equally popular with business people and tourists alike. Meetings, events and celebrations of all types can be held in out seminar rooms and banquet halls.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
301Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 112
  • 40
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Delnyon wrote a review Feb 2021
Nyon, Switzerland2897 contributions325 helpful votes
+1
We spent the night at the Sorell Rueden, special Valentine package and everything was perfect: Location, upgrades room, delicious food for dinner and breakfast, stunning pianist and great staff, we could not have ask for more. Well done to all the team! 👏🏻
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
J W wrote a review Oct 2020
Key West, Florida83 contributions77 helpful votes
This is a wonderful hotel in the center of the city of Schaffhausen. Located just by the train center and in the city center. The rooms are beautiful and cozy and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Good breakfasts with a large selection. I will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Valmici, Marketing at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Dear JW464 Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad to hear, that you had a great time in our hotel and that you like our rooms and the staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards Samantha Schnewlin
Read more
Nztorm wrote a review Feb 2020
Papamoa, New Zealand2 contributions
Really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Is really refreshing as this is certainly not the case at other hotels that i have stayed at. The rooms are not huge but perfect for what I required. Only 5 minutes walk from the train station as well. So really is convenient to travel and the town itself. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Nztorm Thank you for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Rüden and that the cleanliness you experienced at the Sorell Hotels was commendable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sorell Hotels. Kind Regards Denise Gehringer
Read more
ffm wrote a review Jan 2020
Istanbul,Turkey4 contributions1 helpful vote
Incredible staff. Just incredible. You would loose this oppurtunity if you stay at somewhere else in Schaffhausen. Staff covered pretty much the lack of space in the rooms with their dedication and kindness. Rooms are decorated simply and beautifully.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
James W wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
Charming hotel in a renovated building near the city center which is great because parking, shopping and dining are all in very close walking distance. The room was small but very well laid out and did not feel cramped. The staff was all very friendly and quite helpful. The only thing I didn't really like was the shower. It has 2 doors that both will open and I guess they don't seal in the water well. The floors of the bathroom got wet every day dispute my tries to accommodate this situation. There is a really good breakfast buffet in the AM. All in all this is a great place to stay. I definitely recommend this to anyone travelling here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel (north?) have a great view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Elitefreak wrote a review Sep 2019
Wayne, New Jersey285 contributions313 helpful votes
Very cool modern rooms built inside an old skeleton - exposed wood beams and stone add style. Front staff was very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast. We were just a few steps away from the charming Swiss village downtown area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Dear Elitefreak Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderfull stay with us. We hope we see you again. Kind regards from Switzerland Samantha Günter
Read more
909felizi wrote a review Sep 2019
Hamburg, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
Clean, nice ambiente in the rooms, a good designed bathroom, fantastic stairways in an old restored guilt house. Modern entrance hall, good for an excellent breakfast. Really good. The staff are very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 26 Sep 2019
Dear Felizitas H Thank you, that you give us a Feedback to your stay. We are happy that you had a good time. We are Looking Forward to your next stay. Kind regards Samantha Günter
Read more
susanmccallum wrote a review Aug 2019
Seattle, Washington246 contributions146 helpful votes
I can't remember when I've been so unhappy with a hotel. I booked 2 standard rooms and asked for air-conditioning. Someone immediately emailed me and said that only the economy rooms which are cheaper had air conditioning because the window doesn't open. So I opted for the last economy room and one standard room. The economy room had a large window looking out on a wall two feet away on which was pictured rooftops, It was very interesting. The standard room was smaller with one small window that opened onto a lovely view over the city. It had to be kept closed during the day to keep the sun out and it was too small and without air flow to cool the room down at night. The hallway was full of trapped warm air and was always hot and stuffy. Keeping the room door open didn't help. Both rooms were on the 5th floor, the top floor. I made the mistake of walking down to the lobby to see how I would get out in a fire. By American count we were on the 7th floor with a difficult staircase that changed every few floors and I realized that I would not get out alive in case of a fire. The rooms were small, and though the standard room was called a double, had two people stayed in it, the second person would have had to crawl in from the other side of the bed taking care not to sit up because the ceiling slanted so sharply. There was no storage place, just a very small closet. Bathrooms were adequate. If you do decide to stay, make sure you are not put on the 5th floor and I'd advise you not to stay in summer. I was overcharged. My email confirmation was for 2 standard rooms and when I emailed back for an economy room, I wasn't sent a new confirmation. Upon checkout I was charged for 2 standard rooms. The young woman at reception had very good English but didn't know how to read the hotel's statement, insisting that the charges were by room, not date, and she wouldn't relent or look up what the charge for the economy room should have been. Because we had a train to catch, I just paid for the 2 standard rooms. So be sure you have the correct confirmation and can show it at checkout if necessary. Breakfast was adequate, staff were pleasant, rooms were clean, and the location was great -- walking distance to the station and in the old part of town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 5th floor and try not to stay in hot weather.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Dear Susan, thank you very much for your review. Please get in touch with us as soon as possible, if there was an error in your billing, we would be happy to refund the difference. I apologize for the inconvenience. What a shame you didn't contact us immediately. We would have solved the problem very quickly. I can assure you that our hotel has passed all the strict safety regulations of the Swiss authorities. The technical installations are very recent. Once again, it is a pity that you did not tell us about it during your stay, it would have been a pleasure to show you our structure and reassure you about its safety. I hope you had the time and attention to admire the beauty of the historic building in which you were, the rococo ballroom and the majestic stairs. We wish you a good day and look forward to hearing from you. Best regards Marco Valmici, General manager
Read more
NickGilman wrote a review Aug 2019
18 contributions6 helpful votes
Newly renovated building in the historic old town area, close to lots of shopping and interesting sights, including the Rheinfall water fall. Reasonably priced, a bit of noise from the train station, but not too bad. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Dear neagilman Thanks a lot for your review. We are glad to hear, that you had a good time in our hotel and appreciated the proximity to the city. We are Looking Forward to welcome you again. Kind regards Samantha Günter
Read more
Amadeo Torrens wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution
clean, small room but very confortable. all staff very kind, very convinient. perfect location excellent breakfast. bust stop nearby. easy to visit the city from the hotel. i will go back in my next visits to schaffauesn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco V, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden
Responded 26 Mar 2019
Dear amadeotorrens Thank you for the great feedback! We would love to welcome you again! We wish you a good time untill your next visit. Kind regards from Schaffhausen Samantha Günter
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$172 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sorell Hotel Rüden
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of SchaffhausenSchaffhausen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sorell Hotel Rueden
Which popular attractions are close to Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Nearby attractions include Altstadt Schaffhausen (0.09 km), Museum zu Allerheiligen (0.4 km), and IWC Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beckenburg Das Restaurant, Cafe Vordergasse, and D'Chuchi.
Does Sorell Hotel Rueden have airport transportation?
Yes, Sorell Hotel Rueden offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sorell Hotel Rueden located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Schaffhausen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sorell Hotel Rueden offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sorell Hotel Rueden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sorell Hotel Rueden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Haus zum Ritter (0.2 km), Brunnen am Platz (0.2 km), and Rhyality (2.2 km).