We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Central

06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Central
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are wanderlust educational consultants traveling the world. We had an excellent experience with the entire staff. Highly recommend Hotel Central as they guided us to great dining. Printed our business tickets and stored our luggage so we could wander about after purchase checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank educatedwander07
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear educatedwander07 The guests feelings, good or bad, are so important to us to improve and your comments made us happy and makes the job worth while. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back one day Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

South Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was in a great location in the old city and Christine was super helpful. We had room 36 which had a small balcony and a comfortable bed. No noise problems and no complaints. In fact it was ideal for our stay. I would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millardkrause
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear millardkrause Thank you for taking the time to write to us...your comments made us happy and makes the job worth while. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back one day Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Online it said the hotel was going to cost €157 for two nights which was in my budget but once I got to the hotel they said they only accept Swiss Francs and proceeded to charge me an absurd conversion rate which came out to be €190. I argued with multiple employees for over an hour and no help was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear John M Unfortunately Switzerland is not in the eurozone and the exchange rate is what it is on the day you pay...the price in Swiss francs does not change...! I realize this upsets you and that we can not do anything well after that. Maybe you can find another and cheaper hotel that is prepared to satisfy you next...

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Affordable hotel with a wonderful staff. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is delivered to the room. There was a small table,but the only socket.was in the bathroom I needed to sit at a table and use my computer, but it was impossible. I had to move a chair into the bathroom and put my computer on the toilet.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann G
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Ann G Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Very surprised to read about the lack of sockets as there are quite a few in the room. Thank you again and wishing you a great week Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Though courteous staff and nice location, try if you can give it a miss.. room was very small and the fact that you enter via bathroom in the room is just too much. Breakfast is more of a hostel type rather than a hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek P
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Abhishek P We have noted your comments. Yes it is a small room but also a "small" price with a free continental breakfast which is served in the comfort of your room and includes hot drink, orange juice, roll and croissant and butter and jam...not bad for a 2 star hotel! We do have bigger rooms, appartements and studios...but...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We were in Geneva for a one night stopover so we decided to not stay in an expensive hotel as we were just passing through. We were pleasantly surprised however! We were a family of 5 staying in a room, but it was clean and spacious enough to accommodate us and our luggage and also had 2 en suite (albeit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SABlackburns
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear SABlackburns Thank you for your review and we were happy to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again. With best regards Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

Reviewed 12 January 2017

The staff were very friendly during both check-in and check-out. Furthermore you were offered breakfast brought to your room as well as a Geneva transportation Card for the duration of your stay. However, the walls are paper-thin, I could hear everything that went on in the rooms around me as well as the Tram from the street. This seriously harmed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHenriksen
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear CHenriksen Thank you for your comments and we were glad that the hotel and staff lived up to your expectations. Being located in the center of town has lots of advantages but also disadvantages like noise from the street. Sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your sleep. With best regards Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Stayed here one night as we passed through Geneva. What a modern hotel, the rooms are super cleaned and everything you need is around the area. Was great to have the train station right behind the hotel, although it never woke us up! The view is breathtaking and very relaxing. Negative note about this hotel; they dont have a double,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony I
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Anthony I Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. Not sure what you mean...the train station is 10 minutes on foot away and we do have plenty of double bedded rooms? Wishing you a wonderful 2017. Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Small rooms, can hear what's going on in the corridors and the next door. Tiny, cubical rooms! No parking area, right in the centre of town- easy walking around. Reception on the 6th floor and rooms below, breakfast in bedrooms and the staff very welcoming, charming and polite

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natasha T
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Natasha T Thank you for your comments. Free parking in the street from 19.00 to 08.00 in the morning. Otherwise two parking houses near by. Yes many of our rooms are small but we do have larger rooms, studios and appartements if you so wish. We look forward to welcoming you back here again. With best regards Erik Gangsted...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for us and our 17/20 yr old kid, and initially thought this hotel was expensive, and at face value it appears that way. However, the extras make this an extremely convenient and great value hotel: - breakfast included, delivered to our room each morning at time of our choice - very spacious - separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this review

Dear Dave B Your review makes it all worth while as a hotelier. Thank you for taking the time to write to us such a detailed review...this will certainly help others in situating the hotel. Thank you again and wishing you and your family a Happy Christmas where ever you are. With best wishes Erik Gangsted Hôtel Central

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Budget Room (23)
Viewed
Budget Triple Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#74 of 105 in Geneva
176 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 105 in Geneva
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
468 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#75 of 105 in Geneva
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Price Range: €95 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Central staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If there's a room that keeps you away from the near-by night club, ask for that.”
KathyT440, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
X3291FYelizabeths, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I knew Switzerland was going to be expensive but be prepared to pay €180 for a family of four basic meal!”
661carlyj, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a travel pass at reception for free public transport including water taxi”
236daveh, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Look at the pictures of the rooms, they are very accurate! Small double is very small (but very cheap)”
68JulieS, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates