We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Hotel Poggiomanente

Save
Share
SS 219 Uscita E-45 Umbertide / Gubbio, 06024, Gubbio Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$93
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$93
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$90
eDreamsUS$93
CheapTicketsUS$90
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (279)
Dining (72)
Room & Suite (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Poggiomanente is set in an ancient windmill surrounded by a beautiful garden, with swimming pool and views on the Umbrian hills.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
510Reviews5Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 271
  • 170
  • 47
  • 14
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Arta K wrote a review Aug 2019
Ghent, Belgium11 contributions3 helpful votes
I went to Umbria on a bike trip with my boyfriends family and we were changing hotels everyday because of our bike trips. This was the 4th one we changed and the worst in comparison with the other ones. 1. As soon as we arrived there of course we were tired and we wanted to take a shower. The water coming from the tap and the shower was very very filthy and normally the people that work there should notify us about it in advance or at least when we check in. Thank god we saw it on time and didn’t drink it. Afterwards i went to the reception to ask about it and the woman working there couldn’t speak english so thats why i had to take pictures and videos so she understands me. (Good cause now i can show it to you). She tried to explain somehow that there are works in the neighbourhood. Okay.It is normal that people make new buildings but notifying the guests is a must in these cases. 2. Knowing that there is no clean water in our rooms we went to ask for water at the reception. The woman working there gave us 1 small 0,33cl bottle per person. That quantity of water normal human beings drink in max. 1 hour. We went again after some time and she gave us again only small bottles. While checking out, they tried to charge us for the water bottles and we lost 1 hour arguing with them about it. It was a very very unpleasant stay at the hotel. 3. We went that night to eat at the hotel restaurant with lots of fear of getting sick since the water in that area was super dirty. We didn’t get sick - hurray. Only the forks and knifes were not properly cleaned. 4.One good thing was that when the air conditioning didn’t work in our room they fixed it in short time. 5. Another good thing was the food at the restaurant. It was very delicious but i was in constant fear of getting poisoned by the water afterwards. I hope they used other water in the kitchen. In conclusion our stay in this hotel made our holiday not pleasant anymore. I wish we never came there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Poggiomanente U, Proprietario at Country Hotel Poggiomanente
Responded 26 Aug 2019
Dear guest, first of all is right to remember that you simply refused to pay the bill for your extra bar (mostly made of sparkling bottles of water)at the check-out screaming in front of everybody and this should be already enough. We haven't bottles of water of 33cl!At least we serve half a litre so be careful to not to write lies. The person that didn't speak english very well as you said was there only the first 2 hours of your stay indeed later on you talked to whom speaks it very well asking her if the water was potable and she answered it isn't (not in that day because of the breakdown, but always). We couldn't have adviced anybody about the problem because it happened all of sudden and we don't predict the future..but we fixed it immediately during the day and for the evening everything was fine. The restaurant hasn't been even touched by the fault being in another separate building. With this excuse you asked bottles of sparkling water all day long and also the morning after before continuing for your bike trip and simply avoid to pay them at check-out (the only case in the all hotel full of guests that luckily understood the situation).Regards
Read more
AlanyBont wrote a review Jun 2019
Newtown, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
I think I had the same room as Sarah F. Dark, musty smelling. Bathroom door jammed open, no plug in bathroom basin, shower dirty, shower head clogged up. No fridge or kettle. The corridor to the room is dark and what I believed to be a motion activated light did not work causing me to trip down the step that is right in the middle. The restaurant was well run but I think food was only average and over priced for what it was. The staff were very efficient and friendly and my sincere thanks go to the receptionist who got me a beer on arrival as there is no bar. The grounds, pool and outdoor seating areas were well kept and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Not ground floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Poggiomanente U, Proprietario at Country Hotel Poggiomanente
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Sorry but the door in the bathrooms can be perfectly closed with their hook and the light in the corridor swithches off automatically(but you have to open it first..),no plugs close to the water spot of course, but there are plugs in every bathroom for example where is the hair-dyer (you didn't see it).As for the food at the resaurant..may be you just didn't like italian cuisine because that's really one of our strongest point pretty much inexpensive for the quality given.
Read more
Sarah F wrote a review Jun 2019
Lymington, United Kingdom29 contributions9 helpful votes
I booked a standard room in the hotel and was shown to an outbuilding at the back of the hotel which had 2 dark, basic rooms. The bathroom was poorly finished & the air conditioning did not work. After asking to be moved, I was advised that the hotel was full - there were 2 motorbikes and one car in the car park and 2 people by the pool with no other guests in sight. I was eventually moved to a ground floor standard room in the hotel; this smelt musty and the bathroom/toilet door did not shut let alone lock. At breakfast we went to eat on the terrace to be told NO this is not possible and the doors locked behind us. The pools skimmer was not working so the pool had a lot of dead flies and the liner was not clean. You are not allowed to take drinks to the pool. Also the pool is not the rectangle pool with mountain views its a smaller kidney shaped pool surrounded by trees and old furniture (torn sun beds & wheels falling off) The restaurant food is nice but dont expect to dine with a garden view, everyone was seated at the back of the restaurant with the TV on. Food was over priced eg 7 euro for a slice of pepper and a small slice of aubergine and courgette I stayed in 5 hotels over 7 nights in Umbria, all 3 star and this was definitely more like a 2* and was not the same warm Italian welcome I had consistently had at other hotels. The breakfast in this hotel was the most basic too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Poggiomanente U, Proprietario at Country Hotel Poggiomanente
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Very sorry to learn you were not satisfied even after trying to please you in every way(by changing the room with the hotel full/by removing may be 3 flies from the big shaped pool while the skimmer were actually normally going but not all day long).Differently than the other hotel of your tour this is an ancient windmill of XVI century in the country-side(agriturismo 5 spighe)so you can't expect here an aseptic spot like at the hospital,we're touched by nature and by the authenticity of these stones.Italian restaurants are not only cheap and plentiful dishes of trash food,quality is supposed to be paid a little bit more here too and above all recognized..
Read more
Barbuda wrote a review Jun 2019
Lancashire, United Kingdom82 contributions80 helpful votes
Enjoyed the quiet of Umbria after Naples, Capri, and Rome, and returned to one of our favourite restaurants in the area. The setting is excellent, the food is very good, and the prices are very reasonable. The courteous and efficient staff, especially Roberto, welcome you provide an excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ernesto M wrote a review Sep 2018
5 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived to discover there was no place for us at the hotel and we had been sent to another location owner by the same hotel a couple of miles away. The location where we actually stayed was an old set of rooms in the hills. There was no staff to assist in anything, the rooms were dirty, no soap or shampoo in the bathroom, a cat and it’s litter constantly around us and insects in my clothes! The worst part for me was the fact that it was a breakfast included fee, but if we wanted to have it, we had to walk down 2 miles to get it!!! I understand when this things happen, but the lack of care from everyone in Poggiomanente really made this a terrible experience. My only advice to fellow travelers is to ensure they are at the main hotel before arriving
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Poggiomanente U, Proprietario at Country Hotel Poggiomanente
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Dear guest,in Umbria you have to come with the car expecially if you book a double economy in DEPENDANCE that is located up to 1,5 km from the hotel(specified on our website).Instead of a room we gave you an entire flat for 4 people even if you were 2 and told we could have taken you to the hotel for breakfast if you needed and not because is included but because you came on foot...1st day of breakfast at noon with no supplement even if we close it at 10,30.Sorry that was not lack of "care", but lack of "car".
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyUmbriaProvince of PerugiaGubbio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Country Hotel Poggiomanente
Which popular attractions are close to Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Nearby attractions include La Rocca (4.2 km), Pasticceria Cecchetti (3.8 km), and Laghi di Faldo (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Conveniently located restaurants include C'era una volta, Borgomela, and Ristoro in Campagna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Country Hotel Poggiomanente have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Country Hotel Poggiomanente offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Country Hotel Poggiomanente offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Country Hotel Poggiomanente?
Many travellers enjoy visiting La Rocca (4.2 km) and Castello di Montelovesco (3.5 km).
Does Country Hotel Poggiomanente have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.