We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Leon Bianco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Leon Bianco
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in the heart of the town and our room had a wonderful view of the main square. We could not have wished for a better location. It was very easy to locate and use the public car parks. The room was very comfortable and quiet at night. Breakfast was OK - but not memorable. We stayed for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
Ofallon, mo
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

The staff were ok. We asked for a restaurant recommendation but after walking there we discovered they were closed. The location was fabulous. We loved the town. I wish I had taken a picture of the room however. It felt like a monastery. Twin beds, very plain bedspreads, no art on the walls. It did not compare to the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kjgage
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Lady, we expect and hope to welcome guests that would like to deal with the problem so that we can overcome it, especially if the problem is so easy to solve, like to change a room....but you have preferred to write a bad review after the check out, no complaint came from you during the stay.....this has been your...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

We spent a couple nights here in early March 2017. We were a family of 5 and stayed in a double with a view of the countryside and a triple with a view overlooking the Piazza Cisterna. The rooms and beds and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast room is charming and there was a nice variety of fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RPMtravels
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guests, this is a great review, a full description of our hotel, our helpful staff and all the nice aspects you have underline, thank you! to wander around the deserted squares during winter evening is so charming as you have described, also during spring and summer, the town become quiet, relaxing and romantic With a big car is not...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Neat, clean accommodation. Problems with wifi in rooms upstairs. Wifi only accessible downstairs on ground level. Breakfast was substantial and typically Italian but also catering for "westerners" . No parking in city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fay W
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Fay, thank you very much for this good review and to have underlined the cleaness of the ambients and the plenty of our breakfast. We would like to inform you that this winter we have had many problems with the wi-fi system that we have finally solved and presently it runs very well and fast. We hope to welcome...

Narrabeen, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly positioned right on the piazza and has that special ambience of a boutique hotel. To walk back into the hotel at the end of the day was like walking into home with the decor and sitting areas on all floors creating that warm feeling. We stayed in one of the large rooms overlooking the piazza that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickkjb
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Thank you Mick, what a beautiful review!! You have done a wonderful portrait of our hothel and its romantic and warm atmosphere, we are really happy and grateful! We really hope to welcome you again, kind regards from all our family and staff

Reviewed 23 February 2017

A nice hotel in the heart charming San Gimignano. Friendly staff, nice rooms and good breakfast. To bikers it is just perfect, because you can bring the bike into the hotel. From the hotel it is a short way to all the sights of interest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars M
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Larry, thank you very much for your lovely review and to have appreciate all aspectsof our hotel. Then, thank you to have mentionned the possibility for the bikers to bring the bikes inside our little courtyard. Hope to welcome you again and kind regards from all our family and staff.

Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed here decades ago...but still the same quality hotel in the best location, on Piazza della Cisterna beneath the towering "skyscrappers" of this quaint medieval town. First rate accommodation and service with restaurant...Bellissamo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Larry, What a joy when a guest comes back to our hotel and still feels the same good sansations of the first time! We are really satisfied and we hope to welcome you once again, thank you for all your compliments! Kind regards from all our family Galgani and all our staff

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great atmosphere.The room, so cozy, you can feel like inside a palace. Observe the details. Get the room with the piazza de la cisterna view. Magic sight at the day and night. Big bed. The breakfast is ok. Front desk is helpful. Perfect location to explore this enchanted city!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deepshop
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed everything about your stay to the Hotel Leon Bianco, and thank you very much to have written this wonderful review! We wait you here again, Kind regards from famiglia Galgani and all our staff

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The hotel is in an old palazzo on the Piazza della Cisterna, San Gimignano's liveliest square. You can drive into the old town to offload your luggage before parking in one of the car parks outside the old city (the staff are very helpful with advice and can provide cheaper parking than you'd get from the car park itself). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FJPfromUK
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely review, we are glad that you have appreciated many aspects of our Hotel: the position, the staff, the hotel itself and the view from the room. We have 4 different kinds of double rooms, beginning from the lower level that is the "double room without panoramic view", passing by the "standard room with...

Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 November 2016

In the heart of this beautiful town is Hotel Leon Bianco located. Specially in the evening, when most of the tourists go home, the main piazza, where the hotel is located is a wonderful place to be. The atmosphere of both the hotel as the town is unique.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilmazz
Famiglia-Galgani, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very happy that yoo loved both San Gimignano and our hotel, thank you very much for spending your time for us! We hope to welcome you again, kind regards from pur family and all our staff

571 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Comfort Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (Country View) (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (No View) (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (No View - Bricks In Sight) (22)
Viewed
Standard Room (Piazza View) (21)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
714 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
597 reviews
0.0 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,141 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
638 reviews
3.3 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Price Range: €89 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Leon Bianco staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Leon Bianco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a view of the square!”
marksM4596FE, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the front view. Zero noise at any time!”
Deepshop, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed at the appartment of the hotel at the backside. Was very nice”
Wilmazz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“leave before 9:30 AM and its an easy drive out!”
Pauld886, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suites overlooking the Piazza are larger and more luxurious, but noisier.”
jgjgjgjgjgjg, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5