We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Bretagna

Show Prices
#91 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Bretagna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,044 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 537: English reviews
Belgrade
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is located on the river Arno, in the heart of old city. We had a terrible room, old furniture, miniature bathroom, I couldn't wash my hair due to very weak stream of water. Hotel does not have dining hall and you can have breakfast in nearby cafe - not bad idea and nice selection of various dishes. Croissant with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe1995
Reception S, Reception Staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending some of your time to review our hotel. We take into consideration all of the reviews especially the negative ones in order to improve our service and make our guests' stay a memorable experience. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy our rooms and hotel however, we would like to inform you...

Piestany, Slovakia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Hotel Bretagne in january. We booked double economy rooms and it was big disaster. Pictures on the internet was different. We came to the room with really old furniture, dirty and dusty rug, it was stinky and cold there. Really cold. Staff was helpful, but it was not enough to enjoy our stay at hotel. Maybe it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank violadamned
Reception S, Reception Staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking some of your time to review your stay at our hotel. We take into consideration all the reviews especially the negative ones in order to improve and make our Guests' stay a memorable experience. We regret to hear that you did not like our rooms, unfortunately the typology that you have booked...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Fabulous location in a small botique style hotel. Shades of Florentine splendour inside with a shabby chic feel. We had a river view studio which is a definite as you have magnificent views of Florence to wake up to in the morning. Breakfasts are in the restaurant a few doors along and they are excellent. Wide choice and friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thetenore
Reception S, Reception Staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, once again thank you for choosing Hotel Bretagna and for spending some of your time to review our Hotel with such amasing words. Every positive experience is very much important to us since it is a reward for our work and effort. We will be looking forward to welcoming you once again during your next trip to Florence,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Stayed at this hotel for three nights, the place was wonderful from start to finish, the reception staff were very polite helpful at check in and answering touristy questions about Florence. Yes this may not be the most polished or luxurious place but it has real character if you are there look at the ceilings in the bar and lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie1765
Hotelbretagna, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for spending some of your time to review our Hotel, We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated our facilities as much as the services. Each and every member of our staff would be honored to have you as our Guest during you next visit to...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Everything is great The staffs are really good, nice and helpful The room and view are great Also Location is great Just great! This hotel worth 4star at least. I will 100% choose this hotel again if I come back Florence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cc l
Reception S, Reception Staff W. at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel, we take care of every comment to enhance our service and make our guests' stay pleasant. Our staff is always ready to help and assist every single customer and their requests with enthusiasm in order to make their stay a pleasant experience! Best Regards

Reviewed 13 November 2016

In the inner city of Firenze, excellent historical residence , beautiful rooms, professional and very kind staff. A perfect place to start from for a perfect exploration of the cradle of European Reinassance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefano G
Hotelbretagna, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for thanking some of your time to share your experience at our Hotel, We are glad to see that you have enjoyed both our facilities and services. Each and every member of the Hotel Bretagna Staff thanks you once again and hopes to have you as their Guest during your next visit to Florence. Should you...

Reviewed 5 November 2016

I stayed at this hotel for five nights in October-November 2016. Almost everything was excellent. You couldn't have the better location in Florence. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfasts at the Caffè Alfieri were delicious and taken in a very comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Unfortunately, there were mosquitoes in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergey K
Alessandro A, Reception staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for spending some time to review our hotel. Reviews are very important to us to improve and make our guests' stay pleasant and memorable. Our staff is always ready to help and assist every single customer and their requests with enthusiasm in order to make their stay a pleasant experience! Regarding the mosquitos problem, unfortunately we...

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We went to Florence on a literary trip: "A Room with a View". I think this is just short of where the Pensione Bertolini would have been but we had a view without having to be obligated to any "ill-bred" gentlemen. Very handy for Santa Croce (with or without a Baedeker), San Miniato, Piazza dell'Annnuziata ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
Reception S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for spending some time to review our Hotel, We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay, our Guests' satisfaction is very much important to us. We always wish to make our Guests' experience and stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, if you wish to do so please do not...

Reviewed 22 October 2016

Hotel is centrally located within walking distance to the major cultural attractions overlooking the Arno River, but was also reasonably close to the main train station. (12 min walk) The room was clean, neat and well kept and was consistent with the website description. Good Wifi and breakfast included. The best part of the stay was the hotel staff--outstanding staff--everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou G
Hotelbretagna, Reception staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for spending some time to review our Hotel, we take care of every comment to enhance our service and make our guests' stay pleasant. Our staff is always ready to help and assist every single customer and their requests with enthusiasm in order to make their stay a pleasant experience! Please reach out to us directly...

St. John's, newfoundland,Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and were thoroughly impressed. Centrally located along the Arno River blocks from the Uffizzi Museum, it has a modern twist on a stately renaissance home. The rooms were immerse with renaissance frescos on the ceiling. The rooms have modern furniture with flat screen tv. The bathrooms were luxury with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaelshall
Hotelbretagna, Reception staff at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending some time to review our hotel. We take care of every comment to enhance our service and make our guests' stay pleasant. Our staff is always ready to help and assist every single customer and their requests with enthusiasm in order to make their stay a pleasant experience! Our staff is always ready to...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#67 of 422 in Florence
572 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,675 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 422 in Florence
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Uffizi

Neighbourhood Profile
Uffizi
Every visitor coming to Florence for the first time will immediately identify with Uffizi. As in past times, passing through Via dei Calzaiuoli, you can reach the city center, the Florence that everybody dreams of. In just a few steps, visitors can experience the rare beauty of the capital of the Renaissance. walking delighted across Palazzo Vecchio and overlooking Piazza della Signoria, up to the Loggia of the Uffizi where it is possible to fully taste the talent of the best artists who animated Florence over the centuries. When the sun goes down, there’s nothing better than a walk along the river Arno up to the ancient bridge, Ponte Vecchio. It is full of jewels and decorated by the colors captured in postcards.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini 6, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Price Range: €57 - €963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bretagna staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Ambler, Pennsylvania
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bretagna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are refurbished, some are in very poor condition. Ask for newly refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles Zoe1995, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a river view studio.Views to die for and ample size rooms with good size bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Thetenore, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spectacular on the Arno river”
 of 5 bubbles stefanogN8145FQ, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great junior suites with view of Arno”
 of 5 bubbles 737donnab, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No bar on site but several nice bars/cafes adjoin the property and numerous cafes in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles loug430, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5