We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Basilea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 23: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2016

BED BUGS BED BUGS. Hotel is very old and out dated. If you don't mind bed bugs and a out dated hotel then this place is for you. Also very loud at night. Bathroom was very smelly and did not flush very well.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jerry12342016
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Don't stay here. Extremely dirty and disgusting place. We had bedbugs, mold in the bathroom, stains of blood on towels, dust everywhere and dirty walls in the room. When we told the manager about it, he got really upset and was rude. I have stayed in basic places in Southamerica and Asia but this is the worst and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CykelmyggenDK
Nambucca Heads
Reviewed 16 April 2016

My previous review of this hotel has been removed as have other reviews by members of our group. Stayed here as part of a school group in September 2015. I would have to say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my many years of travel!! Staff were rude, food inedible and our students did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank angb61
DRod83
Reviewed 12 April 2016

When we arrived we were given a room with no en suite bathroom even though we had specifically booked one with that characteristic. We were told the room was not available that day but that they would upgrade us to a larger room than what we had booked and with en suite bathroom the following day. The guys at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniella R
Belfast
Reviewed 7 April 2016

My room did not have an en suite had a private bathroom across the hall very clean but was not told about this when booking . As a 60 year old solo traveller this was not good for me . Did ask to be moved but they were booked with a school party nevertheless disappointed that they should have taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelfastMarie
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We had 2 different rooms and in both of them there was bed bugs. Otherwise it was a decent hotel and good breakfast. The hotel manager was very rude when we informed him about the bed bugs. He told us that those insects were not bed bugs amd we had brought them in our room in shoes :D but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisbet130
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I read many reviews about this hotel AFTER having booked. Had no time to read them before. Anyway, the room I have got was OK, the breakfast has been pretty busy with a crowd of people, but the staff could manage the service. It was ok. The price was incredibly convenient. I think they miscalculated. I do not think they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WGilgen
Szczecin, Poland
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Good loc tion, just in the heart of the oldtown,but old and bit dirty. Neeed restoration. No good ventilation in the bathriom. Very close to the bus and train station and to the main market too. We enjoyed Florence anyway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 390katarzynam
Province of Fermo, Italy
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Central and comfortable position... but for all the remainder... Rooms are ok but I was even redirected to another hotel for a night when I arrived! Also there's no heating, no hot water, no Internet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian L
BASILEA H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Guest, as we told you upon your arrival, we were doing some works on the hotel and the rooms weren't ready. For this reason we decide to moved to another hotel near by with the same category as ours. We are sorry that your experience did not meet in full your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest...

Reviewed 25 January 2016

We travelled as a school group in September and in January we are still suffering from the diseases we have collected from this place. We brought back to Australia SCABIES and. BED BUGS. We were traveling as a group of 30 which meant we had numerous rooms... i travelled with two of my daughters as well as other students I...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank hedney

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#311 of 422 in Florence
217 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
375 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#280 of 422 in Florence
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#332 of 422 in Florence
514 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#141 of 422 in Florence
933 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#253 of 422 in Florence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Via Guelfa 41, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: €38 - €309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia
Newbridge, Ireland

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for en suite”
 of 5 bubbles BelfastMarie, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“My room had a doble window, so there was no noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles WGilgen, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get out before you commit!!”
 of 5 bubbles hedney, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the money i paid for that room was not satisfactory”
 of 5 bubbles andreaskG336GK, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles U8DL_, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay