We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Vasta 10, 95131 Catania, Sicily Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Booking.com
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Vio.com
US$59
View deal
Hotels.comUS$68
PricelineUS$64
Agoda.comUS$72
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#25 of 62 hotels in Catania
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Catania does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Collegiata, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Catania, Hotel Collegiata is located a short distance from Piazza Università (0.1 mi) and Chiesa della Badia di Sant'Agata (0.1 mi).

Guest rooms offer air conditioning, and Hotel Collegiata makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy a snack bar during their visit.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Mediterranean restaurants, including Trattoria Sicilia, Pasticceria Savia, and A putia dell'Ostello, all of which are a short distance from Hotel Collegiata.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art museums such as MUSEO CROCIFERI - Art and Chocolate, Polo Tattile Multimediale, and Museo Emilio Greco.

Hotel Collegiata looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Catania.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
140Reviews2Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 48
  • 16
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Katharina S. wrote a review Sep 2020
Cologne, Germany13 contributions12 helpful votes
The stay was great. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished. If you are lucky enough to score a room facing via Etnea, you’ll be able to enjoy gorgeous views. Also, the location was crucial as to why we loved the stay so much, since everything was in walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kazza65 wrote a review Oct 2019
York50 contributions12 helpful votes
Lovely stay in this quirky and historic building in Catania. Arrived and climbed the steep steps into reception. Rooms a good size with well appointed shower room. The breakfast was delicious. We took a Mt Etna walking tour from the hotel and everything including hotel recommended restaurants were all within a short distance from our base.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Isabel T wrote a review Jan 2018
Naples, Italy5 contributions3 helpful votes
Very deceiving reviews that I don't know if they stayed in the same hotel! La Collegiata Hotel is a public building that has been adapted to become a hotel and when I say 'adapted', I am using the term in a very loose way. There were problems since our arrival, when we have to climb 2 flights of stairs just to get to the reception and there was nobody available to give assistance! We decided to stay on the first floor so we didn't have to climb more stairs, bad mistake, the walls are so thin that we could hear every noise in reception, people coming in and out, the dreadful buzzing noise of the air conditioning from the houses opposite and people chatting downstairs! We couldn't sleep a wink that night, so the next day we decided to move to another room in the next floor although we had to climb another two flight of stairs! The toilets were noisy because every time we flushed it it made a loud noise as there were not proper toilets but adapted with a very noisy system of disposal! In general our stay wasn't very satisfactory at all and I wouldn't reccomend the place to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floor are better to avoid noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertaMur, Direttore at Hotel Collegiata
Responded 11 Jan 2018
Dear Madam Isabel, we are sorry to receive such complaints as we always respect our guests. We are hoteliers for more than 15 years and our guests are treated making them feel at home. We are not a hotel, but we are a guest house in a historical building, and this means that our structure is adequate to the norms of the historical center. To avoid the "noises" coming from outside, you are wrong to book in the historic center, because in all the cities this problem occurs, even if we have inserted soundproof windows in the rooms. We are also sensitive to the environment in fact we have the ecological baths and that "noise" comes from this, but once the noise is not heard! If you wanted a quiet stay and out of your reach you could book a five star HOTEL outside the historic center. We never allowed ourselves to write fictitious inventions because the comments on booking and the compliments of other guests make us unique and we do not need to use fake comments to praise a structure that is run by professional people. Just this week we received from booking the certificate as "heroes of availability" and this makes us proud of our work! If you have had problems we are sorry because being a leader in the industry we do everything to make them happy and cuddle.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scottie69 wrote a review Oct 2017
North West England, United Kingdom59 contributions14 helpful votes
A reasonably comfortable hotel in a really great location in Catania. The stairs up to the reception are really daunting with heavy suitcases, and then there are even more stairs to the rooms, with no lift. Breakfast was adequate. A bit noisy both from outside and from other rooms, especially the plumbing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John A wrote a review Jun 2017
Salisbury, United Kingdom2118 contributions308 helpful votes
+1
The hotel has a superb location just off the Via Etnea and the breakfast room looks out onto the Basilica della Collegiata which means that most of the major sights are within 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel. However there are 26 steps from the street to the reception and then a further 34 to the rooms - not much fun with heavy luggage!. There is also the issue of parking if you have a hire car with the nearest garage parking being in the Piazza Pietro Lupo a 10 minute walk away for a cost of 10 euros per night. The room was quite dark and the bathroom was small and cramped but thats only to be expected in a historical building and at least the bed was comfortable. The breakfast didnt have any savoury items but one gets used to that abroad - oh for an English breakfast! The street on which the hotel is located gets transformed in the evening with tables and seating areas for the local bars and it could be quite noisy so if possible dont look out on the Via Vasta. The Wifi was free and fine and the staff were all very friendly and helpful so I'd recommend this for the fit and healthy person who doesnt mind climbing lots of stairs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not overlooking Via Vasta
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rxgrin wrote a review Jun 2017
Marathon Shores, Florida23 contributions39 helpful votes
The good news is the location is excellent... However, everything else about this hotel was NOT! We were booked into this hotel by EScape Travel for an independent hiking trip for 16 days. Unfortunately we had to stay here for 2 days at the beginning and 2 days at the end of our trip. Upon checking in we let the management know we were unhappy with one of the worst rooms we've ever seen in Europe. We overlooked an alley, room was small, dingy, poorly lit. They promised us a different room when we returned (and showed it to us) which we were happy to accept when we returned. When we returned however, they gave us another room just like the 1st one! It was the only place in Italy that not only was the breakfast meager, at best, they limited you to 1 cup of coffee and 1 croissant!!! Their rules stated that breakfast was served at 8 AM but other arrangements could be made. When we had a plane to catch we asked for breakfast at 7:30 but the attendant would not prepare our 1 cup of allotted cappuccino...As well as he was extremely rude! Our advice, do not stay here!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RobertaMur, Proprietario at Hotel Collegiata
Responded 10 Jun 2017
Dear guests, thank you very much for your review. We really care about your feedback. Our hotel has been open for 17 years and we have been accomodating about 3000 satisfied guests each year, all of them travelling around Europe, that's why we are actually surprised to read that your stay didn't meet your expectations expecially with regards of room size and its conforts. Reading about our breakfast we would like to pointing that we do have breakfast buffet( tea and coffee, croissant, yougurt, juice, cakes, bread, cheese, jam and butter). However we are very sorry about the delay of your breakfast your last day and we would like to ensure you that we are investigating about the customer service practices. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anectine wrote a review May 2017
Quebec, Canada902 contributions151 helpful votes
Hotel near historic duomo in Catania. Lots of restaurants around. Nice room, quiet, it was on the interior court side. Staff friendly and helpful. On the minus side, no parking on the premise, you have to find one on the street, not easy...breakfast could be better and the free coffee provided is a disaster, tasted like Nescafé what a shame for Italy!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael C wrote a review Jan 2017
Los Angeles, California12 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel was booked for my girlfriend and me through a sicilian tour service, and it is just perfect in every way. It's an old-style pensione with old, quaint, big rooms that have an extraordinary view of the Basilica across the street which is just something to die for. The staff are all kind, highly educated and sophisticated men and women who work very very hard to make sure that your stay is Pleasant. The rooms have high ceilings and an old-world feel and the bathrooms have plenty of hot water and fine facilities. If you need a five-star luxury hotel, this is not your place, but if you want to be in the Heart of the City and near all the historical attractions and restaurants and right next to the most important Promenade in all of Catania then this is a great place to stay for a fantastic price. I speak Italian well enough to get by, but the staff certainly can speak enough English to help those who cannot speak Italian, and the Italian style breakfast is fresh and the coffee is good. If you are looking for Old World charm and want to feel the Heart of the City of Catania and its kind and wonderful people, so this is a fantastic place to stay. My perspective is as a professor who is traveling to his ancient Homeland in order to learn more about his people and his culture, and for me and my companion this was just perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bob B wrote a review Oct 2016
Saint Paul, Minnesota10 contributions2 helpful votes
Right off the main piazza in Catania, making it very convenient for excursions. A bit of a climb to their main level, but walking is what you do as a tourist. They had a nice morning layout for breakfast, including fresh coffee in all forms. The staff is very attentive and friendly. They took care of extra details for us without complaint.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mariosa T wrote a review Sep 2016
Island of Malta, Malta2 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is very central with lots of shops nearby. The room was very basic and the Wifi was very good. We had a bit of a shock when we arrived when we saw the entrance! Lots of stairs with no lift!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of CataniaCataniaCentro Catania
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL COLLEGIATA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Catania, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Collegiata
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Collegiata?
Nearby attractions include A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce (0.3 km), Palazzo Biscari (0.4 km), and First Lounge Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Collegiata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Collegiata?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Collegiata?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Collegiata?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chiosco Sicilia Seltz, Calarittu, and Deliziosa.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Collegiata?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Collegiata?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Collegiata?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Biscari (0.4 km), Piazza del Duomo (0.2 km), and Castello Normanno (7.7 km).