We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Viale Ruggero di Lauria 43, 95127 Catania, Sicily Italy
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Hotels.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
TravelocityUS$133
PricelineUS$134
Trip.comUS$133
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (339)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (89)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 62 hotels in Catania
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In a exclusive and elegant seaside hotel we offer outstanding hospitality, in the welcoming and relaxing atmosphere of a luxurious hotel on the beach. All our facilities ensure maximum comfort and a delightful, relaxing stay. The hotel is ideal for holidays, fun, business trips, meetings and conventions. Recently remodeled, it is ideally located and its upper floors provide a splendid view of the Gulf of Catania. The rooms are decorated in a fresh, Mediterranean style. A stay at the Plaza Hotel means having all this within reach in addition to the possibility of visiting not to be missed tourist destinations such as Taormina, Messina and the extraordinary Aeolian Islands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
806Reviews12Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 316
  • 97
  • 34
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Raimondo C wrote a review Sep 2022
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia32 contributions46 helpful votes
I've stayed 3 times at this hotel, the rooms are a good size, clean and the staff are very friendly and willing to help with any of your travel needs. I always request a sea view room as the view is great. Location is good I always go to the lido across the road it is a little far from the main square but walkable. I highly recommend The Plaza Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment regarding your stay at Plaza Hotel Catania. We are happy to read that this was your third time as our Guest: to us, this is a signal of consistent high-quality service. Your comment inspire us to continue pursuing higher standards for our valued Guests. We are proud to read that you appreciated (for the third time!) our Staff, our location and that the overall experience was excellent to you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Asia Troisio Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamiTink wrote a review Apr 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom118 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great hotel for our 3 day trip. Staff were very helpful and gave us some good recommendations for places for dinner. Room was a good size, well presented and we had a sea view with a balcony. Breakfast was very nice. On the first night we enjoyed a drink in the roof top bar and on the second night we dined at the roof top restaurant. The food was very good, the staff were very informative and helpful when navigating the menu which was in Italian and advised what i could have while pregnant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Plaza Hotel Catania and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are happy to read you appreciated our friendly staff, your sea view room and our breakfast, as well as our contemporary designed Roof Top. Your review makes us proud and inspires us to further enhance the quality of our service. We are more than glad to help and make our guests feel pampered. We hope to welcome you again in the future as our guest. Sincerely, Luca Trovato General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert H wrote a review Aug 2022
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom486 contributions159 helpful votes
+1
I had a good 5 night stay at Plaza Hotel. It’s a decent Hotel. The room on the first floor had a huge balcony overlooking the restaurant below with sea views. Air Con was excellent (valuable in August). Room was good size, lots of storage and a very good shower. Serviced every day. Breakfast was ok: good range of cold items and some eggs and bacon. Served in the Rooftop Restaurant with excellent views. Staff were a little aloof but I found that everywhere in Sicily. Reception was very good and efficient, and the staff always friendly. It is on a main road so not very quiet, but if you’re out and about during the day and evenings it wasn’t a problem. It’s about half an hours walk from the railway/bus station, a little more to the City centre. Threes a railway station about 10 mins walk away which is good for heading North although fast trains to Catania and Taormina don’t stop there. Good range of restaurants nearby in the little fishing quay opposite or just up the road, and there is a on site restaurant I didn’t use. An hotel to base yourself from, rather than to enjoy the facilities of the hotel I felt, so suited me very well. Not really the place to find a quiet corner and read a book all day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lama T wrote a review Jul 2022
Palestine, Texas25 contributions11 helpful votes
Average hotel , overrated, not welcoming staff First stop at Italy for our honeymoon but disappointed ☹️ Breakfast view is nice Rooftop nice atmosphere I have travel agency and I well never recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simona wrote a review Jul 2022
Vilnius, Lithuania102 contributions69 helpful votes
Comfortable beds and nice toiletries in the bathroom are the only nice things to mention about this hotel. Formal and indifferent check in process, small family room that is standard double with two extra beds but no view, old sliding door to bathroom that doesn't work, room generally quite dated, no water, no tea/coffee making facility or glasses, no hotel information in the room... But worst of all was breakfast the next morning...No acknowledgement from two staff girls who were completely indifferent to what's going on, room was very hot, and the breakfast bar itself, where to start... Coffee mashine wasn't working, juice mashine wasn't working, omelette ice cold, trays of sweets empty, single bowl of rotten lettuce and etc. To our complete disbelieve members of management were around as well but no one for one second carried what a mess this buffet was... We really looked forward to this stay and left with huge disappointment. For what they charge (quite expensive) there so much choice and nicer options in Catania.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SeppSydney wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney18 contributions2 helpful votes
we stayed there 6 nights on May 2022 and the only good things there are location, the rooftop bar and the cakes at breakfast. We had a seaview room on the 3rd floor which was a mistake. Seaside means roadnoise the whole night and 3rd floor means you are right under the rooftop bar and you hear all the chair movements upstairs. Morning and evening. We heard othe rpeople complaining about the noise but reception say they cannot do anything about it. We left lacking a lot of sleep. Even earplugs did not help against the noise. Certainly cannot recommend this hotel due to the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: lower floor, away from the main road (not seaside)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to read your comment about our location, breakfast and Roof Top. However, we are extremely sorry to read that you were bothered by the noise during your stay. We are located in a very lively area, which means that both tourists and locals meet nearby our hotel. Due to high occupancy during your stay, our Staff could not help moving you to another room. We apologize for the inconvenience. We keep at your complete disposal and hope to welcome you again in a quieter room for your next stay in Catania. Best regards, Asia Troisio Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fred G wrote a review Jun 2022
Milton, Canada589 contributions236 helpful votes
We were a group of 34, on a tour of the islands of the Mediterranean. Our first stop was in Catania, at this nice hotel close to the beach and the city centre. We managed to get a first floor room, with a large outside patio with great views of the sidewalk and beach. Very comfortable rooms, although it was a bit of trouble getting the air conditioning working to our satisfaction. Breakfast had a variety of foods, and was quite good. We were out and about most of the day, and did not have dinner any day. Although the roof top restaurant looked great!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: First floor has walkout patios.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luca Trovato, Direttore generale at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Plaza Hotel Catania. We are happy that you enjoyed our location, your room with a sea-view patio, our breakfast and contemporary-designed Roof Top. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the air conditioning, We are happy to read that this was your second time as our guest: to us, this is a signal of consistent high-quality service. Your comment inspire us to continue pursuing higher standards for our valued guests. We are proud to read that you appreciated (for the second time!) our staff, our Roof Top and that the overall experience was perfect to you. We look forward to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Asia Troisio Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean Paul T wrote a review May 2021
Balzan, Malta19 contributions11 helpful votes
Me and my wife along with another couple decided to take a short break during covid. Since Sicily was still orange and practically under semi lock down, the choice of hotel was very important. My friend recommended the Plaza Hotel Catania. The location is perfect. We wanted a hotel close to the Centre, facing the sea, in an area where we can go for a jog in the morning and with good bar and restaurant. The Plaza has all this and more. The location is great, with beautiful sea views. In the morning we went for a jog and did a work out in an out door gym that we found, but the bar and restaurant are what sells this place. Located on the roof of hotel you have a great bar with great selection of wines and a restaurant that serves excellent food. We spent lots of time on the roof eating and drinking, most of the time served by Alfio and Francesco who took really good care of us and made our weekend a memorable one even during the difficult time of covid. This is a hotel that I will definitely come back to!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Noemi Modica, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, we appreciate your good review for us. We are happy to know that, in a owful period alla round the world, we give you and your friends a really good time. Our efforts are aimed to create a perfect atmosphere, better than the ordinary life. So, if we were able to make it, our job is complete and satisfying. Thanks for noticing the commitment of our staff and the services of the Hotel Plaza. The location offers several occasions to make different things according to your interests. So, we hope to see you again next year to have another good experience with us. Best Regards, Noemi Modica, Hotel Brand Reputation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wstmd wrote a review Oct 2019
Norristown, Pennsylvania131 contributions80 helpful votes
Our travel advisor recommended this hotel in Catania Sicily. Beautiful, greeted by very friendly staff, professional and helpful. Beautiful ambiance. Hotel is situated on the west coast of Sicily with a beautiful view of the ocean. Rooms are clean, comfortable and large enough for two. Dinners are awesome and breakfast is delicious. Can highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for this positive feedback of your recent stay. It is great to know you had a memorable experience and we appreciate your comments on the high-quality service you received, as compliments from our guests strengthen our resolve as a team to offer service excellence. We are delighted your dining experiences exceeded your expectations and are grateful for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Luca Trovato, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel H wrote a review Oct 2019
Warminster, United Kingdom203 contributions50 helpful votes
The Plaza Hotel is very clean and a pleasant place to stay. We had two different hotel rooms and the sea view room was far better. Slightly larger plus had a balcony where we could enjoy the breeze and view. The food in the restaurant was fine but breakfast was not as good as I was hoping.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Catania
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciated our high standards. The majority of our rooms have a private terrace and sea view and we are delighted you were able to make the most of it. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast was not entirely to your liking and we love to know what we could do to improve your experience. Nevertheless, we are glad your dining experience met your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Luca Trovato, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Prince Hotel
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of CataniaCataniaOgnina-Picanello-Stazione
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLAZA HOTEL CATANIA - Now €115 (Was €̶1̶3̶0̶) - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Plaza Hotel Catania
Which popular attractions are close to Plaza Hotel Catania?
Nearby attractions include Lungomare di Ognina (0.4 km), San Giovanni Li Cuti (0.2 km), and Catania Tango Festival (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Plaza Hotel Catania?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante - Pizzera Andrew's Faro, Cutilisci, and Cuti.
Does Plaza Hotel Catania have airport transportation?
Yes, Plaza Hotel Catania offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Plaza Hotel Catania?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Plaza Hotel Catania offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Plaza Hotel Catania?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.