We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sestiere San Marco 2494 Campo Santa Maria Del Giglio, 30124 Venice Italy
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Official Hotel Site
eDreams
travelup.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1717)
Room & Suite (1148)
Dining (135)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Updated 20/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 412 hotels in Venice
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
In the middle of the action, just few steps from St. Mark's Square. Easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Leisure Hotel, highly recommemded for couples. Come see our awesome Bartender Rey at our Tarnowska's American Bar. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE. Free WI-FI. Check-in: 2 pm.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian, Portuguese
3813Reviews108Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,281
  • 1,167
  • 253
  • 65
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Aaron Trosh wrote a review 25 Jun
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
Don’t choose to stay here!! Absolutely disgusted that I booked a trip to Venice for my partner for her birthday and we unfortunately have had our flights cancelled due to the current airline crisis. We have contacted the hotel multiple times, politely asking simply to change the date and the hotel have been nothing but rude to us with one line email replies and a spit in the face of a discount and giving us no option but simply to lose the money telling us third party bookings are “out of their control” Staff have not been helpful at all, tried calling twice and have been redirected t try calling back later both times, and are refusing to let us change the dates to when we are able to get flights from the UK and not have to pay an astronomical amount. It is completely unfair and I should not have to lose all of the money I payed to stay in this hotel, as this is a matter completely out of our hands. Be very careful with what hotel you pick if you are planning to come to Venice if somethings goes wrong. We are both so disappointed to not be able to come to Venice now. I was more than willing to rebook to a date and pay the difference but to be told I have to lose all my money and repay an amount just for rebooking in a couple months time is shameful service. Disgrace
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 3 days ago
Buongiorno Guest Troshy123, thanks for giving us the opportunity to clarify. You originally booked your trip through third partner, choosing a not refundable rate instead of a best rate cancellable with no penalty.... we don't interfere in bookings made throught other operators and offers to manage at your best with a very discounted rate in case of a future stay, as mentioned in our correspondance. Please do not hesitate to contact us, best regards Silvia - Customer Care UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Read more
Robert G wrote a review 15 Jun
1 contribution
Lovely hotel, exceptionally clean and the bar area in the evening has a lovely, friendly atmosphere and this is thanks to the two bar tenders, who do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The hotel is close to restaurants and water ways. Excellent location. Definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 1 week ago
Buongiorno Robert, Thank you for the review, happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon! Enrico Hotel Ala
Read more
William M wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution
We took the 2 1/2 hour bus ride from Ravenna to Venice and stayed at the UNA HOTEL Ala Venezia. This hotel had been recommended by friends who had also stayed here. We took the water taxis to the Santa Maria del Giglio stop and it was a straight walk of about 50 yards to the hotel. Check in went smoothly. We were booked on the 4th floor, but the elevator only goes to the 2nd floor. This was not a problem as our luggage was delivered to our room. The room was somewhat quirky having two levels with a view of the courtyard. We found the room somewhat warm as it took the a/c sometime to cool it down. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I understand there are different types of rooms and ours was only one example. I was different that the room our friends described to us, but it was satisfactory for our stay. The included breakfast was delicious and of adequate variety to suit any taste. The hotel has a roof top terrace that was great for afternoon wine and snacks. A canal used by the gondolas runs behind the hotel and we enjoyed hearing the music and singing as they paddled by below. The hotel is located close to the San Marco Square, and after an short time to get oriented, we had no problem getting around. Nice restaurants close by. I can recommend the Ala Venezia and would stay there again but would want to try another type of room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The room we had required walking up two flights of stairs, so if ambulation is an issue, be sure...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 1 week ago
Buongiorno William, Thank you for the review, hoep to see you soon! Enrico & staff Hotel Ala
Read more
mauibabet wrote a review 7 Jun
5 contributions10 helpful votes
We were here a year before the pandemic and loved the Unahotel Ala. We purchased a classic room which included breakfast and we stayed in a beautiful room with two single beds and a smaller bed. Bathroom was lovely with tub. We booked a stay for a year later and were unable to return to Venice until Italy opened up after the pandemic. We were disappointed in our classic room as it was much smaller with only a shower. (Be careful picking your choice of room) Even though the room was small it was sufficient for the two of us. The best part of the room was a Juliet balcony which faced the small square outside the hotel. The service was spectacular. Our room was kept clean each day, everyone was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The hotel is centrally located to everywhere you would want to go. We went in May and the weather was perfect and it was not overly crowded. I would recommend the Unahotel Ala.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Read and check out the pictures of each room to pick the type you want before you book.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 3 weeks ago
Genntile ospite! Thank you so much for the beautiful review, we are glad to have helped make your holiday in Venice even more special. We hope to see you again soon! Enrico & staff Hotel Ala
Read more
Reikigoddess wrote a review 3 Jun
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Best location we could have chosen. Easy access to Airport and all the best places to visit. So clean and rooms so comfortable! Loved having a window with a canal view. Staff super friendly and the cocktail bar was amazing! Loved every minute of our stay here
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest! Thank you so much for the beautiful review, happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Wojciech66 wrote a review 2 Jun
Krakow, Poland42 contributions5 helpful votes
The room was fine. You have to remember this is Venice. A bit more restricted than regular cities. Then most of the hotel rooms are smaller compared to ordinary cities that are not located on the island. Just like in Manhattan. Hotel rooms are just smaller. This hotel has reasonable sized rooms. I've already slept in different ones in Venice, I have a comparison. The hotel has a nice roof terrace, a very friendly bar on a ground level. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful by Italian standards. Nice and helpful staff. Me and my friends liked this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Square view offers a better athmosfere then the channel view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest! Thank you so much for the beautiful review, we are glad to have helped make your holiday in Venice even more special. We hope to see you again soon! Enrico & staff Hotel Ala
Read more
Pamela W wrote a review 1 Jun
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were delivered by water taxi to an ancient door on a canal where men were waiting to gently lift us into the friendly lobby. Gondolas paddled by our windows every evening at 6:00 with beautiful Italian singing! The staff were very helpful in every respect. They guided us anywhere we wanted to go & assisted with a airport water taxi, concerts, forgotten medication, tours, etc. The hotel felt beautifully Italian & had a lovely atmosphere. The intimate bar & lounge were wonderful to visit with new traveling friends. It also hosted a delightful breakfast buffet with a large array of fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, potatoes, oatmeal & much appreciated coffees. I would absolutely recommend this hotel & staff. Our stay enhanced our experience in romantic Venice!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 3 weeks ago
Ciao Pamela! Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our house. We hope to see you again soon! Enrico & staff Hotel Ala
Read more
HoustonGalveston wrote a review May 2022
Houston, Texas10 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a wonderful hotel - the room was a delight, there is a small elevator for tired knees after a day of stairs in the city. The little breakfast buffet had a great variety of choices. The desk staff was so helpful. I loved arriving via water taxi from the airport!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest!!! Thank you so much for the beautiful review! Truly happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house! Hope to see you soon!! Ciao, Enrico & staff
Read more
K B York wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights and had a wondedrful time. Everything about the hotel was first class. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a room with a little balcony, which we made full use of. The breadfasts were good and plentiful. The location is great - everywhere is within a short walking distance away and many restaurants abound. The terrace was a great bonus and we used it quite a few times, and this gave us a chance to meet other guests. We cannot recommend it highly enough and would definitely stay here again if visiting Venice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal and found it very quiet once the doors/windows were closed.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 24 May 2022
Hi Karolyn! Thank you for the nice review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We hope to see you again soon!! Ciao, Enrico & staff
Read more
Traveler157383 wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions9 helpful votes
I was given a room in their Annex Easy Going. This was not indicated in the third party booking site and only by email after booking. The annex is a short walk away so location is not an issue but there were a few problems. Firstly, there is no lift and the room is up four flights of stairs. This is challenging with lugguge or for anyone with mobility problems. Secondly, the floor below is under renovation. Workmen come in very early and noisy renovation starts before 9am. Also, upon check in, the bathroom waste paper basket was still filled with the previous guest’s trash. This was cleared when I alerted housekeeping. The annex seems to be treated like a lesser cousin with bottled water not provided in rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid booking the annex.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Salmaso, Vendite at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear Customer, We are sorry that your experience at our Easy Going annex was not positive. However, we would like to point out that all the features of our annex are present within the room typology. We apologise for the inconvenience. Regarding the work downstairs, we are sorry, but as we do not own the property, we cannot intervene. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon. Ciao, Enrico & staff
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ala hotel venice, best western venice, hotel ala venice
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Ala-Palazzo Maurogonato
LOCATION
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceVeniceSan Marco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia
Which popular attractions are close to UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Nearby attractions include The Gritti Epicurean School (0.04 km), Palazzo Zaguri (0.06 km), and Virtuosi di Venezia (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Conveniently located restaurants include 60/40, RistoPub Rossini, and Ai Mercanti.
Are any cleaning services offered at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Doge's Palace (0.6 km), Ca' Zenobio degli Armeni (1.0 km), and Scuola Grande di San Rocco (0.7 km).
Does UNAHOTELS Ala Venezia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.