We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Venice

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Venice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 627: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Visited Venice for a couple of days tagged onto the end of a business trip. The hostel is brilliant, lovely atmosphere, nice food, great bar. The dorms were warm, comfortable and everyone was helpful. The staff were brilliant also. It's on the lower Island of Venice so you have to jump on a water taxi but that's part of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VARogers1
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear VARogers1, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay here in Venice, we are glad to hear that you loved our staff and location. We suggest to all the guests to purchase a tickets that covers the length of the stay in order to save money and that allows to reach all the corners of the lagoon We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Chilling out in the common room/ dinning area. The hostel is clean and has every thing you need, clean towels for €3 and if you need a lock then it's just €3.50 The breakfast for €4.50 is pretty basic so I opted for the scrambled eggs with bacon for €2 more (€6.50) is by far better. Breakfast is from 7-10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinxme99
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Jinxme99, Thank You very much for your review We love receiving feedback from our guests, therefore, give us the opportunity to implement improvements. We hope to see you again as soon as possible! Sincerely Yours, Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Here is one of the best places that you can find in Venezia, but you shouldn't expect too much. First you should consider that you have to buy a ticket for boat which costs 30€ for 3 days to arrive to this location, then bring a lock with yourself, otherwise you should buy it. (3,50€) I stayed here 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiva S
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shiva S, Many thanks for sharing your experience online after your stay in our hostel. Our hostel is located on Giudecca Island, in front of St. Mark's basin, just 5 minutes by boat from the city center. We suggest to our guests, to purchase a ticket that cover the length of the stay. . The Rolling Venice Card is...

Reviewed 9 November 2016

This hostel gets the basics OK, comfy bed, hot showers, lockers, a bar and food but the music i. the common area is too loud and no one is listening to it anyway. You need to turn it down, choose more relaxing music like they have at Starbucks and provide a quiet room for people who want quiet. I have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deptford1593
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Deptford1593, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We have taken on board your comments concerning the music, we hope however you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you here soon best wishes Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 8 November 2016

I loved the location and the building! Awesome atmosphere and multicultural environment. Everything is new and the lounge bar is really cool. The rooms are big but not the toilets: their cleanness could be better. Overall, a great experience for the cheapest price in Venice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria I
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Daria I, We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us here at Generator Venice, Your comments and feedback will be really well received by the team, who work tirelessly to ensure our guests are getting the best possible service and enjoy a memorable time with us. So pleased to hear we’ve met the mark...

Reviewed 4 November 2016

This hostel was very clean and professionally maintained. However, I found the reception staff to be pretty curt and they would talk down to people, and they seemed to have no knowledge or recommendations on the area. To be honest I wasn't particularly impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shane C, Thanks for sharing your opinion. It is not certainly not great to read your comment knowing the effort that we put every day in delivering the best atmosphere, but we fully accept that it might not ideal for everyone. The team is fully trained and expert more important from Venice. They do have a deep knowledge of...

Sorrento, Italy
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I got food poisoning from their "restaurant." Staff wasn't friendly nor helpful. My room was very dark and my bed light was broken so I was constantly in the dark. Location was decent and beds were comfortable, but I wouldn't go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576lillianh
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear 576lillianh, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your Generator experience with us after your stay in Venice. I was sad to hear that we had perhaps not met the mark on this occasion and would like to hear from you if you have any further feedback at all. I can be reached on: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com Please rest assured all...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This is a very modern hostel and provides brilliant rooms, the thoughtfulness put into the design of the rooms, beds and quality of the linen provided was very high. Just a water bus away from all prime tourist places with a bar and restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaynem892
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear jaynem892, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at Generator Venice. We are thrilled to read such as good review and to understand that you really enjoyed your stay in our property the hostel is facing st.Mark's square with magic landscapes and is located in a central location few minutes from the core of Venice Our...

b2ong
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Clean. Good location with water bus day pass, else too costly to travel between hostel and venice. 4.50 buffet breakfast is decent but lack variety. Bread, jam, ham, cheese, can fruit, yogurt, corn flakes, juice, coffee. No kitchen, hot water, microwave... facility not friendly for budget traveller.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank b2ong
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear b2ong, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and for highlighting the areas we could look at improving. Your comments regarding the breakfast have already been shared with our team and our food and beverage manager will be continuing to monitor this. We will thrilled to welcome you back here in Venice Best wishes Generator...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Normally a hostel checks credit card info before confirming the reservation. Not the case here. Family room was confirmed 2 months before, only to be cancelled by the hostel the day of our arrival, due to a typing mistake in the expiry date. Our room was given to others and we were sent to a hotel elsewhere on "their expense"....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0m289

468 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 386 in Venice
480 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#153 of 386 in Venice
2,024 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#38 of 386 in Venice
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
812 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#101 of 386 in Venice
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: €39 - €336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“clean room”
731hanym, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“13 beds room not a problem!”
LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views, cheap food & drink, lovely food, great staff, clean rooms, ideal location”
  • View from location
jenniferfT5705KJ, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As with all hostels, the large dorms are cheaper, small ones are nicer.”
DawnMarieGoz, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5