We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Save
Share
Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 12, 24121 Bergamo Italy
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$126
Hotels.comUS$126
PricelineUS$119
TravelocityUS$126
StayForLong
Destinia.comUS$135
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (416)
Room & Suite (168)
Dining (64)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 34 hotels in Bergamo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1048Reviews5Q+A81Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 376
  • 455
  • 157
  • 34
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
HKPiper wrote a review Oct 2022
Hong Kong, China131 contributions137 helpful votes
You exit the Bergamo railway station and head straight down the main road opposite it. About 8 minutes walk (with a wheeled suitcase and small daypack) is the Best Western Cappello D'Oro. It's that easy to get to. Likewise if coming from or going to the Bergamo Airport, the bus stop for the No. 1 airport bus is directly the opposite the hotel (either side of the same road whether coming or going). Likewise the same bus will take you to the enormous and superb Orio Center shopping mall which is just an 8 minute walk from the airport. The bus stop is just 20 metres from the hotel entrance. If you want to go and see the old town taking the funincular then start walking along the main road in the other direction and after about 12 minutes you'll come to it. There are a lot of bars and restaurants all around the hotel including an excellent Irish pub called The Ritual about 150 metres away round a corner. So it is in a superb location. Check-in and out were simple and quick. No issues whatsoever. The staff told me where the room was, the lifts were, when breakfast was served, the gym was located and where there was a terrace to sit outside (on the 1st floor). The room I had was a maybe a queen or king sized bed. The room was clean, the furniture fine, the wifi was reliable and reasonably fast, the air-conditioning worked fine, the usual toiletries were supplied and there was a mini bar as well as a kettle with tea/instant coffee. As someone who gets up earlier in the morning, the fact that breakfast commenced at 0630 and went on until 1000 was a huge bonus. Many hotels in Italy will not open breakfast until 0730 or even 0800, which I hate. A matter of choice, but for me it was very welcome. Great selection of food on offer, in fact one of the 'continental breakfasts' I have come across during my stays in about 20+ Italian 3/4 star hotels. Eggs/bacon/sausages as well as cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, croissants, various breads and pastries/cakes, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, two coffee machines and probably more. It was tasty and there was a great variety, more so than most places. If I returned to Bergamo, I wouldn't bother looking for anywhere to else to stay; I would simply book a room here without any hesitation. A typical chain type hotel, but it was good value for money and the staff were polite, it was clean, well located and I felt secure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheHappyCamper2013 wrote a review Sep 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands430 contributions174 helpful votes
The hotel is centrally located, but not easily accessible by car without the prior knowledge to use the bus lane as parking to unload. The staff mostly was very helpful and service minded. In general the hotel is outdated and reception, hall and the one elevator are lacking the luster to be considered a 4-star hotel. Hotel bar and restaurant prompt going outdoors. Breakfast itself was good. The room was very small, far too warm and where lacking real air conditioning could not be made comfortable. The room we booked via Booking looks like being furnished in the late 60-ies and is lacking an espresso machine. The bathroom, with plastic cups to try to drink out of, was cramped and without space to place much more than a toothbrush. I hope the hotel will be reviewed by the brand soon to bring it up to the standard we experienced in e.g. the BW in Modena.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not expect much from this hotel if you want any level of luxury. We trusted the brand based on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simon F wrote a review Aug 2022
Amalfi, Italy507 contributions285 helpful votes
I visited Bergamo recently for the first time. Everyone told me that the city is lovely and indeed it is, WELL worth a visit. I chose this hotel as it is VERY central and thus convenient for almost everything. I arrived by car and my mate arrived from the UK by air and the taxi ride to the hotel was only 15 Euro! They have a great car park only about 100m from the hotel which is also secure. Rooms are lovely breakfast also excellent and the staff first class. EXCELLENT.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher up is better!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eran U wrote a review Aug 2022
Israel132 contributions40 helpful votes
We arrived for one night to tour Bergamo. This hotel is located right in the center, on the boulevard to the upper city. Lovely room, clean, convenient, warm service. Good breakfast. No view from the window - who cares. 15 steps to the bus station, in the city and to/from the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
H1034AFpaul_s wrote a review May 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom128 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Just returned from stay here great hotel ideal for exploring Bergamo and the old town which is a must,rooms very comfortable try and get a city view one well worth it,staff friendly and helpful and breakfast in the morning was excellent enough choice considering it was continental
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Honeyinmyveins wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stated in Capello D'oro for a few days. For a chain style hotel it was pretty good though getting a little tired. The rooms were spacious and quiet and the service was friendly and helpful. It's biggest attraction was location, less than 10 minutes from the station (where the airport bus also stops) and near the shops and 10 mins from the funicular. It was a great base for the start of our visit. Our room was on the main road side but surprisingly quiet. If you want functional and a good locaiton this is it. We had looked at the other Best Western nearer to the station and this was clearly the better (and cheaper) choice of the two
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judy C wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a lovely hotel in every regard. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was gorgeous with a view over the city. We had bathrobes and slippers in the room and a fridge. Beds were very comfortable too. The location is excellent. Shops and restaurants are very close and the bus stop to the airport and the Orio centre is right outside the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
suirtean wrote a review Jan 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom135 contributions36 helpful votes
We stayed two nights in the Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro it is a very good location in the city. Easy for shopping and walking around Cita Basso. !0 minutes from the train station and close to get to the historical old city. room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average. The obvious Covid-19 rules were in place and observed. Staff were professional. We were happy with the price level of comfort and location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve W wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Blame what you want on COVID but our friends staying in hotels nearby did not have our problems. Breakfast was like feeding time at a zoo..everything spread over two rooms was like hunter/gathering had returned. A table with one lovely lady asking what the next person in the line wanted..then the eggs and bacon were stone cold and terrible standard. Booked superior room on westerns.com site and was given just the standard room , told could not move as hotel too busy! No bar, it's a few optics bolted to the wall..not to socialise or feel comfortable. Would not stay again, our friends hotels we visited were much better. Sadly...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Premier Cappello D'Oro, Owner at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Dear Stephen, thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us and for choosing Hotel Cappello D’Oro for your recent stay in Bergamo. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We are really sorry to read you didn't enjoy our breakfast which is usually appreciated by our guests. We will use your feedback in order to improve and offer a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Besides I wanted only to inform you we didn't assign you a standard room, We are sorry to read you didn't like the room. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards, Roberta front desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eamonn2013 wrote a review Sep 2021
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely perfect location in the midst of the hight street shops, restaurants and a stones throw from the Old City accessible by Funicular.Staff at reception ,restaurant and room services were so friendly and helpful.A special word of thanks to Verdiana-Cristina who organised our stay from Dublin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western premier cappello d`oro hotel bergamo, best western hotel bergamo, best western bergamo, bergamo best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro
LOCATION
ItalyLombardyProvince of BergamoBergamo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN HOTEL CAPPELLO D'ORO - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Bergamo, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Nearby attractions include Il Sentierone (0.2 km), Teatro Donizetti (0.2 km), and Torre dei Caduti (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kura, Goss Grill Restaurant, and Miyabi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Bergamo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.