We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Mentana 7, 40126, Bologna Italy
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Hotel University
Updated 13/05/20

About

#45 of 111 in Bologna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situato nel cuore della cultura Bolognese, a due passi dalla più antica università del mondo, a fianco del teatro comunale e della pinacoteca nazionale, l'Hotel University è un vero e proprio salotto in città per chi cerca un ambiente elegante e la calda atmosfera che solo le piccole strutture sanno dare.A piedi ed in pochi minuti è possibile raggiungere tutti i punti più interessanti della città: le due Torri, le chiese di Santo Stefano e San Francesco, Piazza Maggiore con i suoi palazzi Medievali e la Basilica di San Petronio.Il quartiere ospita numerosi ristoranti osterie e trattorie tipiche.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
433Reviews3Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 169
  • 114
  • 22
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Berk wrote a review Dec 2020
Bologna, Italy2 contributions
I have stayed in this hotel for almost 15 days and I am very impressed by the cleanliness and staff. Cleaning ladies come and clean the room every morning. Rooms are quite new, well decorated and really comfortable. Staff were friendly and one of the cleaning ladies even brought my breakfast to the room every single morning with a cute, smiling face. Cheaper than the ones offering similar facilites, and 5 mins to the university by walk. Perfect in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Konstantinos N wrote a review Mar 2020
Lagonisi, Greece4 contributions
Very cozy with comfortable rooms and rich breakfast buffet. Many restaurants and cafes nearby and walking distance from the main attractions of Bologna. I would definitely recommend it for a couple to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Thanos M wrote a review Feb 2020
Athens, Greece41 contributions19 helpful votes
Very nice little hotel, walking distance from the city centre. We stayed for 4 nights in January. No issues with cleaning. Personnel friendly and helpful. Breakfast with several options each day. I would recommend it for a stay in the city of Bologna.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ColinRosewarne wrote a review Jan 2020
Wallan, Australia315 contributions123 helpful votes
Not bad digs. If you are large you are going to hate the showers. The are tiny. Quiet, clean, comfy and conveniently located in the Ini District. Reasonably priced with modern beds that aren’t like boards.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Nick Howells wrote a review Oct 2019
High Wycombe, United Kingdom481 contributions177 helpful votes
Decent hotel in the centre of Bologna. Positives first. It’s very central, really close to the main historical centre, easily a sub 10 minute walk to Piazza Maggiore and the Twin Towers. Set in the middle of the University area it’s surrounded by good bars and the excellent Osteria dell’Orsa, and le Stanze, plus very close to Trattoria Anna Maria.  The breakfast was good, selection of continental style breakfast, cereal, pastries, yoghurt, fruit, bread, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, tomato, juices and a coffee machine, nothing hot or cooked as I expected.  Room was fine, bed was good, comfortable and good sheets, always cleaned, turned over every day. Bathroom clean, and ok towels, BUT the shower was tiny. I always appreciate I’m a big guy, 6 ft tall. 17 stone, but the tiny cubicle in the corner is a joke, shower was ok and powerful just tiny. I’m sure a smaller person would also struggle. Price I paid was ok, €80 ish a night with brekkie is good, a nice late 11am checkout too. Perfectly fine no frills accommodation. Air conditioning was exellent in room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Savageculinary wrote a review Sep 2019
Barcelona, Spain63 contributions55 helpful votes
Our stay there was an overall disaster. - Arrival: recepcionist didn’t have any information regarding the city and places to eat. We asked for recommendations but they didn’t give us any. We insisted, and they suggested the restaurant next door the hotel (where we didn’t go as it looked disgusting from outside). They don’t have a proper room to store the luggage, so you need to leave it next to the entrance (with no security)!!! - Rooms: they say it’s refurbished but electricity plugs were half of them broken - Breakfast: short variety and bad quality - Departure: we asked the receptionist to keep our luggage (2 small bags) behind the front desk but he denied and we had to leave it again at the entrance with no security.. Receptionist at the c/out was really rude.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelUniversity, Proprietario at Hotel University
Responded 29 Sep 2019
An anonymous review that we have no chance to answer without knowing who we are talking to. It is impossible that the receptionist did not give explanations about the places and did not let them deposit their luggage behind the reception. Luggage is always safe because we check them. We always do it without problems and it is our habit to provide our guests with the best information about the city and where to dine. The opinions of our customers on the staff speak for themselves and it will certainly not be an anonymous review to change your mind. Best Regard
Read more
Mary2222222 wrote a review May 2019
Naples, Italy8 contributions45 helpful votes
first of all maybe it's my fault in choosing this place as I didn't have much time to browse and I had budget limit. when entering the room I was so disappointed that I honestly didn't want to open my luggage. room very small. it seems clean but the bed cover and wool blanket ( where for god sake you can still find these things in a hotel?! ) I am germ phobic so I really hated the bed, cover duvet and mattress and pillows ( so uncomfortable that my neck was very stiff in the morning! not to mention the bathroom and toilet: this place needs a renovation for real: the sink didn't work well so water was slow. the shower was small and to be honest not sure about how clean it was. breakfast staff was very nice but the food was terrible, even a simple croissant was not that nice. coffee is not recommended. travelling with a baby in this hotel? better to look for other places I won't definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelUniversity, Proprietario at Hotel University
Responded 31 May 2019
Gentile Sig.ra Mary Le rispondo in italiano visto che lo parla benissimo ed è italiana,avendo perfettamente il ricordo di lei di suo marito e del suo splendido bambino.Gli ottimi feedback sulla pulizia del nostro Hotel sono ben visibili a tutti e le assicuro che è la cosa a cui teniamo di più in assoluto. Le lenzuola, il copriletto e le coperte di lana vengono cambiate giornalmente e mandate in lavanderia. Se lei è "germofobica",come descrive nella sua recensione,nessun articolo al di fuori di quelli utilizzati a casa sua le sarebbe andato bene. I nostri prodotti della prima colazione possono piacere o non piacere come tutto del resto,ma le assicuro che sono prodotti di prima qualità e anche quelli molto apprezzati dalla nostra clientela. Il consiglio per tutti i nostri clienti rimane sempre lo stesso, la reception è aperta H24 qualsiasi problema può essere risolto al momento per il bene di tutti. Scriverlo il giorno dopo su internet non risolve niente. Speriamo possa tornare a trovarci per farle cambiare opinione Cordiali Saluti
Read more
bbooth2 wrote a review Mar 2019
Hoover, Alabama6 contributions1 helpful vote
Photos online do not reflect the actual hotel. Rooms are quite small, and the shower is hardly big enough for one person to even get in it. Also, this is Italy, so there is no air conditioning at all (which this American was not aware of beforehand). That being said, you will want to keep the windows open at night to let some air circulate, however there is a bar next door and it gets VERY loud on Saturday nights until 3 or 4 in the morning so bring ear plugs. The front desk staff was average, but did not go out of their way to help. All in all, it was a cute little hotel in a good, central location, but I wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for a room with more windows (1 in the bed room and 1 in the bathroom) to allow for more...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maria P wrote a review Dec 2018
Athens, Greece32 contributions4 helpful votes
We ended up in this hotel after a long internet search. Everything seemed more than great but the reality was completely different... As soon as we saw the hotel from outdoors, we understood that something is going on... Very old building, extremely small bedroom for 3 people, and the most important...the pictures we had seen on the internet do not reflect even the 30% of the reality... After the first shock, I decided to speak to the receptionist so as to find a reasonable solution (we didn't want to ruin our vacation). However, the receptionist was not friendly at all, he didn't want to listen to our concerns, and apart from that he insisted that this is the first time someone told him that the hotel on the internet seems really nice but the reality is completely different. In the morning we went downstairs to make the checkout, since we found a better place to stay, and the other receptionist didn't seem surprised with our decision to leave! Last but not least, it is a pity to upload photos of your hotel which do not reflect the reality, amd also to ruin someone's vacation in order to make money...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kisdeszk wrote a review Nov 2018
Becej, Serbia927 contributions264 helpful votes
+1
Great location near the city center in a quiet street. The room was clean, modern and spacious, as the bathroom. There is a safebox in the room. Very helpful staff. Good wi-fi signal in the room. The breakfast is various and excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university hotel bologna
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of BolognaBolognaSan Vitale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel University
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel University?
Nearby attractions include La Macchina del Tempo (0.3 km), Osteria Del Sole (0.5 km), and Le Due Torri Torre degli Asinell (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel University?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel University?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mò Mortadella Lab, Amole - Cucina Cinese, and Trattoria La Treccola.
Is Hotel University located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Bologna.
Are pets allowed at Hotel University?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel University?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel University?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Piazza Maggiore (0.6 km), Piazza Santo Stefano (0.6 km), and Basilica di San Domenico (0.9 km).
Is Hotel University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.