We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Continentale

Booking.comUS$80*
View Deal
#375 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Continentale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Continentale
 Click to rate
Paris, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice, calm ,typically roman hotel in the hart of Rome. The personnel is perfect, very vivid.very calm, nice sleep. The breakfast is like having in a morning family table. I will surely revisite it in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liaderma
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was by far the worst hotel I have stayed in on my travels. Our room was 224 and it barely met basic expectations. Every morning we were woken up by noise in the backyard (recycling/rubbish man), the lock on the door was broken, the walls were paper thin and you could hear other guests talking/mobile phone ringtones, our bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
CustomerCareM, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear Miss. Julia, I was most disheartened to read your comments with regards to your personal experience We try our best to ensure all guests have a positive and memorable experience, as customer care is amongst our highest priorities, and we will always try to be as flexible as possible to accommodate our guest’s requirements.I am sorry to learn you...

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in Continentale in April 2017. The staff was friendly and the room was quite nice given the price point. The breakfast was also ok. The problems were fairly loud street noise (which was to be expected) and the smell of sever in our bathroom. The smell lingered to the bedroom as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metabolikku
CustomerCareM, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Continentale.I am of course glad to read that your overall experience was a positive one, but I am really sorry to read about odour. Had you mentioned the issues regarding the odour in the room we would have been more than happy to either send...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This met my expectations, plus a bit more. For what I paid this did not disappoint and I left quite satisfied. Overall everything was clean, functional, and relatively modern. My room was a bit larger than expected with a full bed rather than a twin. A courtyard view which I requested was honored, but I did not expect to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
CustomerCareM, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Neil, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is a pleasure to read such a detailed review.Your feedback will be gratefully received by the whole team. We try our best to give our guests a wonderful holiday in one of the most important cities in history. We apologize for any inconvenience due to noise the in the...

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The rooms are on the 3rd floor and there is a small elevator to access. The hotel staff were friendly, accommodating, and helpful. We were able to communicate in English without any issue. The room itself was bigger than expected for having booked the small room size. Bed was very comfortable, however the pillows were a little flat, and only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissEm83
CustomerCareM, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear Miss. Em, May I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to read such a nice detailed feedback, we ensure every guest feels welcome and at home whilst staying with us. I do apologize for the noise from the barAs you observed our location is perfect for exploring the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I had intended writing this review some time ago but wanted to say something different to what many reviewers have already said. The truth is that I can't. The hotel is exactly as described by many reviewers and on its own website. The location is excellent. If travelling from Ciampino Airport dispense with the nonsense of haggling with taxi drivers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnGDublin_Ireland
CustomerCareM, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear Mr.JohnG, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful review about your recent stay at Hotel Continentale I am delighted to read that you had such a nice stay with us and that our staff have contributed to make it special; our top priority is to make our guests feeling welcome and comfortable as soon...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Two star hotel, but actually better than this rating. Stairs to reception on first floor. Staff have good English, and are very helpful with transport links, advice and help with printing emails and local customs-pretty much anything. The economy rooms are small, but clean, well lit and have heat pumps. Breakfast 5 Euros if not included in room tarrif. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GordonMW
Iolanda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear M.Gordon, thank you very much for your review.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your days with us and we hope to have you with us soon again Yours sincerely, Jino Joy

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Location is good. very close to termini station and even closer to Republica metro station. Room size average. good staff. Breakfast buffet good. arrange airport transfers. No elevator from the ground level to first floor where the hotel reception is. Therefore you have to carry suitcases about 20-25 steps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdm372
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear guest, We're very glad to know that you liked our staff, breakfast and location, in the center of the Eternal City. Infact without using any form of transportation you can reach in 6 minutes to different museum such as National Roman Museum - Baths of Diocletian, The ‘Giuseppe Tucci’ National Museum of Oriental Art,National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent location in a very good area. Good and clean rooms and the staff is very polite! You can visit a lot of places on foot without considering about metro. Easy access to metro (both termini and Castro Pretorio) and super markets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vasilisdask
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Vasilisdask, Thank you for choosing our Continentale for your recent stay in Rome. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and that you felt at home with us. We would be more than happy to have you soon again with us. Warm regards Jino Joy

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Just had a good 3 night stay here, great value for money for somewhere walkable to the centre. All staff were really pleasant and lovely, spoke great English and were a pleasure. We had a "small" room which was actually normal sized. Safe, tv, aircon etc... only improvements would be a kettle, fridge and a switch for the ceiling light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 84K
Guest-Rela-Manager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Continentale, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Continentale.I am of course glad to read that your overall experience was a positive one, thank you for appreciating the cleanliness, price value, location,staff etc.I do apologize for your discomfort but if you would have informed us about this problem we would have solve it...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
568 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#274 of 1,257 in Rome
511 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
632 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#164 of 1,257 in Rome
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Continentale a central low cost hotel in Rome Center,our main priority is guests complete wellbeing!Hotel Continentale, a charming no frills low cost hotel in Rome centre offers best deals price quality rooms of all hotels in Rome for family vacations, romantic getaways, business travel and week-end escapes. Boasting easy access to historical city center Hotel Continentale, best budget accommodation in Rome, features an unsurpassed Rome center downtown location, best room prices, lavish breakfast, WI-FI access, exclusive hospitality and a classy ambiance.The central location allow you easy walking distance to Trevi fountain, Diocleziano’s thermal baths, the Quirinale (President Palace) the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.The nearest bus stop and underground station are a mere 30 metres from the Hotel, enabling those who prefer to use these service to reach the more important monuments quickly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Address: Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: €48 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continentale 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#322 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continentale staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continentale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the street if you're not a heavy sleeper.”
MissEm83, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not room 234”
keithcc2015, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard”
Courtney65, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Book somewhere else.”
simpstra, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Perhaps a higher floor, there are many other hotels near by which could be noisy.”
emmabZ2485FZ, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$80
Hotels.comUS$80
Expedia.comUS$80
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates