We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mari 1

#3,176 of 3,707 B&Bs / Inns in Rome Save
1.4 km from Rome centre
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Showing 14: English reviews
    Start your review of Hotel Mari 1
     Click to rate
    The Netherlands
    Reviewed 3 April 2015

    i stayed in this hotel for six days in march 2015 it was the most comfortable hotel i ever visit, nice staff good service helpful and interesting people, they insist to help you even in your private needs ,i did enjoy my stay in hotel mari 1 , i new the staff of hotel mari 2 talked to the staff...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank mahmoudshams
    Auckland Region, New Zealand
    Reviewed 6 January 2014

    We got there at 11pm as indicated on our sheet but there was no one at reception - after climbing 4 flights (which are actually 8 flights) up to the hotel. We didn't have a italian sim so had to find a place to call the number given on the little sheet on the door which just said Hotel Mari...

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank Bananna24
    George Town, Grand Cayman
    Reviewed 17 July 2013

    I stayed there for 5 nights in July and for the price I was happy. Yes, reception is on the second floor and rooms are on the fourth, so expect to climb quite a few steps. I personally found the staff helpful and pleasant but there were a couple of negatives. Although connecting to the hotel wifi network was easy,...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank DanB007
    Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

    Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing our hotel Mari 1 for your stay in Rome. We are very glad to know that you appreciated the hotel and also the good value for money. We also thak you for your suggestions : we will do our best to fix them. It will be a big pleasure...

    Gainesville, Florida
    Reviewed 6 November 2012

    When I went to the hotel after climbing 4 flights of stairs, they said they could not charge my credit card when I booked online and I had to pay cash for the booking. This is a scam. They charge everyone twice!! NEVER go to this hotel. When I said I did not have cash, they kicked me out and...

     Report
    Helpful?
    7Thank OnceSaw_k
    Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review but I am pleased to point out something very important: sometimes it happens that credit cards give problems, and in fact there has happened more than once that we are being denied the transaction but in fact the money was taken anyway. I want to emphasize, however, that all the guests that has happened this...

    Orebro, Sweden
    Reviewed 5 October 2012

    First and foremost,we booked for 4 nights and knew we are goin to climb the stairs but never thought 4 flights of stairs. People with heavy lugguages,lack of stamina and with small kids,Iwould not recommend this hotel. Though it was cheap but staying with open windows at night,is a nightmare. People patronising at those restaurants down below are annoying because...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank LaiMS54
    Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

    Thanks for your review, we appreciate very much. It is in fact the hotel has no lift and for technical reasons we were not able to install it yet but we are working on that and there are good possibilities. we are pleased that you found the hotel clean and the breakfast satisfactory. We are pleased that you appreciate the...

    san francisco, ca
    Reviewed 31 May 2012

    First and foremost, if you don't like going up 4 flights of stairs with all your luggage, DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are on the 4th story and it's very tough to carry your luggage up that high. Secondly, you have to check in at the other Hotel Mari 2, which is probably a 15 minute walk, with all...

     Report
    Helpful?
    2Thank lex025
    Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

    dear girls thank you for your review. We appreciate your advice that no doubt will help us to improve. We are pleased that the rooms are to your liking and they were clean. We are pleased that the staff was friendly and courteous. In addition, we are pleased that the strategic location did you allow to move freely around the...

    Reviewed 23 February 2012

    We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one...

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank Christian C
    Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

    Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day.

    Haifa, Israel
    Reviewed 18 April 2011

    I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists...

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank Nik0letta
    Portsmouth, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 17 January 2011

    Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank jasminwalsh
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Reviewed 15 January 2011

    The price that we paid for the room was really not worth it. No elevators. The receptionist was really unfriendly. The fan and lights in the room were not working.In short, that was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

     Report
    Helpful?
    2Thank cuk3

    27 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (5)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (1)
    Viewed
    Other (4)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (22)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (13)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (6)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
    Hotel Baltic
    #1,071 of 1,292 in Rome
    352 reviews
    Esquilino
    Hotel Continentale
    Hotel Continentale
    #383 of 1,292 in Rome
    384 reviews
    Esquilino
    Residenza Giustiniani
    Residenza Giustiniani
    #2,685 of 3,707 in Rome
    15 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Esquilino
    Funny Palace
    Funny Palace
    #975 of 3,707 in Rome
    208 reviews
    Next Stop Roma Porta Maggiore
    #2,831 of 3,707 in Rome
    14 reviews
    Prati
    Comics guesthouse
    Comics guesthouse
    #141 of 3,707 in Rome
    317 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Staying in Esquilino

    Neighbourhood Profile
    Esquilino
    Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
    Explore this neighbourhood

    Amenities

    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Family Rooms
    Internet
    • Public Wifi
    Services
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge

    Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

    Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
    Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
    Amenities:
    Price Range: €33 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mari 1 2*
    Number of rooms: 14
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mari 1 staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “Avoid the hotel at all cost. It is a scam”
     of 5 bubbles OnceSaw_k, 6 Nov 2012 | Read review
    1 of 1