We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Show Prices
#235 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the service was first class located near bus and metro with a train stop located 2 blocks away also had restaurants a block away there is a food store near by it is in a residential area but the coliseum was 15 min by bus and the Vatican was 25 min by metro

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basbabru
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel had all that was required; the internet worked well, breakfast was good and staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. On arrival, we were told about a bus service which would take us to the centre in 15-20 minutes which was really helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenn365
Cangrande R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, we're very pleased for your review about our Hotel. Hoping to have you again as our guest, best regards.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel last year June, the hotel rooms are basic with nice little balcony. i think its a great stay for travelers looking at budget hotels. the service was just about ok! we asked for a hot kettle that was given to us after some delay. The location of the place is a plus. Close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Poonam B
Cangrande R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, we thank you for spending your time in leaving your opinion about your recent stay in our Hotel. We'll try to improve in our failures, and we hope to have you again as our guest! Best regards.

Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bathroom was full of mold and mildew. When I complained to the front desk, they changed the room, but it wasn't much better. Still mold in the bathroom, the room and hallway carpets were filthy. They say they are a four-star hotel, but in my, experience, they are far from it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolenm
Cangrande R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Let me express my deeply regret about the issues you have encountered in both rooms you were lodged at our property. After you first complain we immediately informed the Maintenance about the mold in the bathroom, certainly you referred to the silicon used to seal the shower-box that we are currently replacing in some rooms with new...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The breakfast is horrible. The wifi wasn't great. The room was basic and clean which is what I expected, and I was ok with that. It is not as close to attractions, as I wish I was. I probably wouldn't stay here again jus because it wasn't close enough to the major sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CG B
Cangrande R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I cannot hide my regret reading your review but honestly I really don’t imagine the reason of it. You say the breakfast was horrible, I kindly invite you to read what more than 800 Guests wrote about the Hot American Breakfast Buffet we offer as complimentary in room rate: one of the best that they have had!...

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Rome and this hotel came as a package deal . It is outside the city , only a 20 minute ride by taxi or 15 minutes by the Metro to get to the major attractions . The hotel is quite modern and the staff is helpful . The restaurant food is good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jillbird1
Cangrande R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5-stars review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our courteous staff, our comfortable rooms and our Hot American Breakfast Buffet. We want every guest to have a memorable experience while staying with us, and we are glad we were able to impress. We appreciate the recommendation and we...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 days on my first visit to Rome as it was a great rate and a good location with good links to the Metro and the city center, the hotel was easy enough to find so no problems there. Whilst the hotel is one of the older generation styles of Holiday Inn Express with the triangular features,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin J
Cangrande R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5-stars review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our courteous staff, our comfortable rooms and our Hot American Breakfast Buffet. We want every guest to have a memorable experience while staying with us, and we are glad we were able to impress. We appreciate the recommendation and we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there as part of a tour, and it so happens that I'm a Spire Elite member so it worked out well. I've stayed at probably 40 different Holiday Inn's and I have to say that the staff here was top notched. They all spoke English, and we received great recommendations for restaurants that were within walking distance. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cangrande R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the positive review! We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our courteous staff, our comfortable room Thank you also to bring at our attention the bacon wasn’t of your taste, let me assure you I’ll forward your complain to the Food and Beverage Manager. We look forward to hosting you...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights. We were upgraded to an executive room with a balcony and although it was February it was warm enough to sit outside. The breakfast was the best in any Holiday Inn Express that we have stayed. the evening meals were also very good. t They catered for my wife's gluten free dietary needs. Staff were...

Review collected in partnership with handy
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrar2017
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your stay at the HIE Rome San Giovanni . It was great to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities we have to offer especially the complimentary mobile phone called “Handy” had met your needs and expectations. These devices are provided for free and allow you to call and...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed here as part of the tour; clean and comfortable rooms. The staff was friendly. The neighborhood looks shady, however, it is at a walkable distance to a train station which can take you to the main attractions. Breakfast was standard. This can be the hotel for a quick trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing good value accommodations. Regarding your feeling about the neighborhood looks shady, I’d explain the Hotel is situated in the south part of the historical city...

782 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (443)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (Handicap Accessible) (49)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (159)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#289 of 1,292 in Rome
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#110 of 1,292 in Rome
1,176 reviews
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,292 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,292 in Rome
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to qualified and multilingual Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. The Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city centre at only 4 km. far from the Coloseum, the real Rome's heartbeat. The most important Sightseeings are reachable by metro in about 15/20 min. ride from the station of Pontelungo, far from here only 750 m. Recently built and totally renovated, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, 32" flat TV set with international channels, direct dial telephone, self-control air conditioning/heating system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers at the toilettes, bidet and shower choosen to protect the environment. A complimentary Hot American Breakfst Buffet allows to choose among over 100 products, many of them daily home - made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. We are really proud to announce the new opening of the In-House Restaurant, thus ours Guests would be able to enjoy the real homemade Italian cuisine together with International flavors. High speed internet Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the structure. We also offer a private garage with direct lift to the Lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi, 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range: €79 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rome
#63 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
#268 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms which do not overlook the train station.”
 of 5 bubbles Helenn365, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You are close to the Metro so I am not sure any room is going to be quieter . It stops at night , so no big deal .”
 of 5 bubbles Jillbird1, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“double bed rooms have a gigantic super king size bed !”
 of 5 bubbles blanckat, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter (except room 140)”
 of 5 bubbles MrsLFortune, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for adjoining (for family) ask for a bath..some rooms just have showers”
 of 5 bubbles 167antonias, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5