We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel des Artistes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel des Artistes
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was in Rome for 3 days. Being a tourist, I did a lot of touristy things, which meant I had to take the metro. This hotel was absolutely ideal as it was only a few blocks from the main train station termini. This made travelling around easy. The hotel was outstanding. The rooms were clean. I had a massive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Josh We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, location, services and breakfast options and are very happy to know that we were able to contribute to your pleasant memories. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Sincerely, Olivia

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and two of my friends stayed here, the hotel is actually a hostel just to be clear. This place is very basic, has shared bathrooms, but serves pretty good breakfast for the price. One of the major downsides is the fees that they ask you to pay when you check in, they say they emailed us about them but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Digital A
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dea Guest Thank you for leaving you feedback on the hostel part of our property. We are sorry the inconvenience you found upon arrival but it make us happy to hear that you spent a good time in Rome, despite that. Best regards Olivia

Porth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a pleasant stay this hotel is extremely basic and although the room was clean we encountered a lot of noise . Doors slamming and footsteps on the stone /tiled floors . However the worst for me was the noise that can only be described as "ladies of the night performing " preceded and followed by arguments over payment ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen t
DES ARTISTES R, Lorenzo Manager Hotel Des Artistes at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Helen, The management and the staff of Hotel Des Artistes appreciates all comments from our guests both positive and negative which we use an instrument to improve our services to our future and returning guests. We are very sorry regarding your experience had during your stay with us. This comment however was surprising because guests travelling at the same...

athens greece
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Close to the termini station where all airport and buses leave ,large clean rooms,amazing breakfast.Luggage keeping service and close to bar,supermarket and restaurants.very convenient for sightseeing .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank spact
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We do our best to keep and improve our standard and it is a pleasure to read that we reached the expectations with you. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Olivia

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I think it is too small room for 3 people. I don't like that it doesn't have kettle in the room. Blanket is not warm. But I like painting in room decoration. It looks like old castle. Hotel is good location near metro about 5min near restaurant. Although it is small hotel but it has escalator for convenience. Staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nam N
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Nam, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found our room small, and I hope that overall you spent a good time with us in Rome Thank you for your special appreciation to our staff. It makes aus very happy and proud. Kind regards Olivia

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Worthy of 3 stars, if not 4. Very comfortable room, providing the window was left open at night as the central heating was extraordinary. Staff very friendly, helpful and easy to communicate with. Morning breakfast was a little bit of a 'party', but all bases were covered. Even my wife could get her morning tea and honey fix sorted. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pristle
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation offer at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you spent a good time with us We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, staff , breakfast options and our neighborhood We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Sincerely, Olivia

Malta
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for seven nights with my son. I asked for tea and coffee service in room which was provided free of charge as soon as we checked in our room 106. Staff excellent all round. Room well decorated with all necessary electronic plugs plus a big TV. Breakfast was excellent, they can improve only by frying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmanuelGalea
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review regarding your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us, it helps to understand on what details and services we have to work better I appreciate your comments about the aspects you have appreciated and those you found uncomfortable. I also hope we will meet you again in...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

I really liked the room design, made me feel just a bit like in a palace because of the nice paitings. I recommend it to couples, being a bit romantic. But also seemed a bit noisy. The location is ok, just one subway station from Termini, or a 10 min walk. Breakfast was ok as well, but did not impress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosmina P
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We do our best to keep and improve our standard and it is a pleasure to read that we reached the expectations with you and we can still do better We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Olivia

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband visited here for 3 nights on the 11th December. From the moment we arrived at check in the lady who spoke to us was very nice and was extremely helpful. Another member of staff took us to our room,he also carried our bags. On the second night our toilet broke and within 15 minutes of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fulham15
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation Office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your beautiful review. We are happy to know that we have been part of your pleasant memories and that you have appreciated our staff, our breakafst and our location. Should you travel Rome in the future, we hope to have as our guest again. I wish you a happy new year. Best regards Olivia

Bristol
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed here for 5 nts. Everything you need from a rome hotel.... Comfy mattress, hot water, good shower, quiet rooms and a good selection of food for breakfast. Room was cleaned and received clean towels every day. Close to the metro and only an easy 10 minute walk to the termini. Staff were friendly and courteous. Excellent restaurant 2 doors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HJG01
DES ARTISTES R, Olivia, Reservation office at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, breakfast options, location. Thank you also for your special appreciation to our staff. This makes us very proud, We hope to meet you again in the future Best regards Olivia

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)
Viewed
Triple Room (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#323 of 1,292 in Rome
543 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#242 of 1,292 in Rome
500 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#370 of 1,292 in Rome
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#196 of 1,292 in Rome
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: €59 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
#287 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel des Artistes staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel des Artistes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very budget, watch out for hidden fees.”
 of 5 bubbles digitala2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask staff when booking as this hotel is like a block of flats with old floors and heavy doors”
 of 5 bubbles helent583, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the room over calm street. No problem with noice”
 of 5 bubbles 123andrzej321, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is on a quiet street, so all rooms likely are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Chpl-Hill-Traveler, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third Floor in Main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Vick_star87, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5