We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Papessa

Show Prices
#96 of 3,660 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Papessa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Papessa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I am a single older woman traveling alone and La Papessa made me feel "at home" in Rome. Katerina and Marcella were extremely helpful in helping me find some unusual destinations and tickets to the opera. You can't beat the location, friendly staff, and large rooms. I would definitely recommend this guest house to my family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocio H
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review

Hello Dear, thank you very much for your comment. You're really a lovely person and we all were pleased to meet you and we appreciated when you helped us (you know how!) We really hope to meet you again. Un abrazo, Caterina, Marcella, Monica e Massimo

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week. What a hotel.. Beautifully decorated rooms, great breakfast, very clean bathroom. Room was quite big, tv with english channels. owner lady is wonderful. She gave us so much information about rome, that was really helpful. The location is absolutely perfect. You can reach to almost all the monuments in 5-10 minutes walk. Bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Global T
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review

Hello Dears, thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to have been helpful and that you loved our location and our city. We really appreciate what you wrote and.. sorry for the shower door !!! We hope to meet you again and soon at La Papessa. Grazie and Ciao, Caterina and all the staff

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My family (including my 10 and 8 year old) had a great stay at La Papessa for 4 nights in October. We enjoyed the perfect temperature for exploring Rome, though we were surprised at how many tourists were there even in October. We loved wandering the streets, sampling ice cream and looking at the street artists and beautiful old buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trailgirl10
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review

Hello lovely family, thank you for your comment. First of all we apologize for the mistake as you are right regarding the city tax. It was nice every morning, at breakfast time, to have the smile of the two young boys, hope that they miss the "ciambelle" that we prepared for them when we knew that those sweets were their...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This well-kept hotel is tucked into a pharmacy building on a busy street, but you would never guess the gem that is inside! The room is neat, clean, and updated. The continental breakfastwas tasty and offered a nice variety. Marcella cannot be beat for her kindness, helpfulness, going out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesseRed
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this review

Dears, thank YOU! This is the most beautiful comment that I have ever received. What can I say? I try everyday to do a good work for our guests and you make me understand that I can! "Grazie mille" again and I hope with all my heart to meet you again very very soon. A presto, Marcella.

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Our stay at La Papessa was wonderful experience. The Hosts spoke English well (which was nice for us) and were very helpful. The location was excellent. Our room was large and beautifuly decordated, quite and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Our private bathroom was big and had lush thick towels. The B & B is located on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review

Hello Dears, thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enajoyed your stay at La Papessa and that you recommend it to other guests. It was nice to talk with you during your stay and we really hope to welcome you again!! All the best, Caterina and all the staff

Auckland
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were first daunted by the stairs, we were told by a workman the lift wasn't working and 6 flights of stairs with bags was hard work. The lift was working by the way!! Our room was remarkably quiet and a good size , importantly it was quiet. The only downsides were the shower cubicle, it was a tad cramped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAuckland
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review

Hello Dears, thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, the shower cubicle of your room is the smaller one in the B&B but also it is the only one with Jacuzzi shower system!! We really hope to welcome you again at La Papessa, Ciao a presto, Caterina and Marcella

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My mother, sister and I stayed in a double room with extra bed, and the room was great. Big bathroom too. The air conditioning worked fine, but the wifi in the room was very in & out. Our telephone did not work either. The breakfast is good but not great. They are very helpful in planning your trip, providing maps,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TakingmymomtoEu... S
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review

Dears, thank you for your kind review. We were pleased to welcome you and, yes, sometimes there were some technical problems (wifi and telephone) that didn't depend on us but by network problems of the citybut and we have not been able to solve them. As we always say, we appreciate all the suggestions of our guests (I mean for...

Herne, Germany
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The visit in Rome was a surprise for my wife and my thirteen years old son at the end of a four week roundtrip. I chose the La Papessa after I've checked more than hundreds of other accommodation facilities in and near Rome. I am very happy that I've found the La Papessa as a base to explore Rome. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael_Gr
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review

Dears, thank you very much for your review. It was so nice to talk to you at breakfast time and to know about your experience in the other country where you stayed before checkin at La Papessa. You're really a lovely family! Massimo and I hope to meet you again (there are more other unknown places in Rome to visit...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 August 2012

At the corner of Via del Corso and Vicolo Sciarra, the inn is located on the 3rd floor of an old palace. It has only six bedrooms, all with 12 foot ceiling and private bathroom. A cab was sent by the inn keeper to collect us at the airport and a gentleman was waiting for us when we arrived. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reimmop
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to welcome you and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa. Hope to meet you agin in a future. Ciao, Caterina

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

The is so central. No complaints. Avoid the restaurants at the entrance to the hotel as they are for tourists who don't know any better. We did take a restaurant reservation for Il Flachetto da Donato from this hotel which I also reviewed. Wouldn't recommend. Anyway. Check in was a treat and the hotel transfer arrangement was welcomed. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TORN1

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#153 of 1,291 in Rome
1,498 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#86 of 1,291 in Rome
1,434 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Caravita
Hotel Caravita
#89 of 3,660 in Rome
318 reviews
Trevi
I Tre Moschettieri Luxury Guest House
Trevi
Town House Fontana Di Trevi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Trevi

Neighbourhood Profile
Trevi
A non-stop photo and souvenir opportunity, Trevi is all about action. From early morning through the wee hours, the piazza surrounding Trevi Fountain hosts a never-ending flow of tourists hoping to make a wish or take a selfie. Clever restaurants, charming gelaterias, uncanny bars, kitsch shops, and a range of hotels make up the local landscape. Beneath the bustle are the remains of an ancient neighbourhood that you can visit by heading over to a repertoire cinema and asking for a peek underground. There is something for everyone, but if peace and quiet are what you seek, plan to visit in the early morning hours.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Papessa

Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Price Range: €79 - €380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Papessa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Papessa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let them help you arrange car service to or from the airport”
 of 5 bubbles Kat0chs, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to front desk get better wifi coverage.”
 of 5 bubbles kmtrezza, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that It does have an elevator to reach the 3rd floor. It looks like a door..”
 of 5 bubbles Argonza, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles gloriamundi, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take potluck”
 of 5 bubbles 72bjb, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay