We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Maximus

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Maximus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Residence Maximus
 Click to rate
Mons, Belgium
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We booked standard triple room at this hotel. When we arrived they provided us double room and tiny kid's bed which was too small for our kid. We asked for our reservation with standard beds but they told all triple rooms are sold out and they had nothing to propose. We decided to search for different hotel but they never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irina P
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear, we are in contact with your travel agency regarding your reservation, you booked a double room with extra bed, not a triple one. Sorry for all inconvenience, we hope to get the best solution about it. Our best regards, Andrea - Director

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my best friend stayed in a 1 bed apartment here last month (unless you count the sofa bed as two) The apartment we stayed in was the last room down the corridor with steel round stairs going up to the bedroom and bathroom. Why do I say this room is mainly for younger people? and by that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tasha A
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your precise and long comment, we hope to have you again as our guests! Best regards and Happy New Year! Andrea

Reviewed 26 November 2016

What is great is they have a number of units for you to choose from, if your not happy with one, they are happy to offer you many options .the staff is great. They have everything from studios to full apts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
Residence_Maximus, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Jeffrey, thanks for your comment, happy you liked being in our residence. See you next time! Andrea

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I'll start with the positive as it is a big positive, the location is fantastic you are walking distance to everything including great food, tourist locations and public transport. Also the price is good, however there are some real problems, every time water is used in the bathroom you cannot be anywhere near the kitchen sink or the stench will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoelHall
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your comment. We will verify all problems you had, to improve our service for future clients. Generally clients like our beds and mattress, sorry you didn't, we will take care of it. Regarding reception, it is just a temporary one, the new one will be ready very soon and easier to find, it's a promise! Hope to...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Nothing like the apartment shown in the photos advertised. Entire apartment consists of one small room with a cooker, sink and fridge in the corner, and a toilet and shower with a partition around it. Everything is contained in the same room. Condition of room is old and run-down and neglected. There is a smell from the sink everytime the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M-a-r-k_H-11111
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear Mark, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your staying but we are surprised: you stayed 10 days without telling us any of your problems, so we couldn't fix any of them and try to make your staying better. Please to inform us immediately if you come back in our residence in the future! We have a reception and cleaning...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

On arrival at the apartment, the two of us visited the office to collect the keys. We were informed that the apartment wouldn't be available til 2.15pm which wasn't a problem so we popped next door to the Irish bar for a drink (also not a problem!) The host took us to the apartment and even carried our suitcase up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGeor
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your staying and hope to have you again as clients. Best Regards

New Jersey
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The location of the service apt is unbeatable. Its a 10 minute walk to the Colosseo metro station. The view of the Colosseum from our bedroom window was a nice treat. The room was clean with all amenities. Bed comfortable. Pillows fine. Free wifi which is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosh70
HomeTownSuites, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear guest, we hare very happy that you felt good in Maximus Residence. we are waiting for your next stay in Rome. kindest regards. Andrea.

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Price and location is why you should pick this place , some suits have great colosseum view , the other rooms are 200m from the colosseum . Extended our stay here and they bumped us up to a suit for no extra cost as rooms were running out . Great scooter and motorcycle rental please the street over

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair B
Residence_Maximus, Direttore at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Alasdair, thanks for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to have you in our suites and rooms. Best Regards, Andrea

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The pictures are very misleading and no washing machine was provided in our room. The kitchen had a toaster, oven, hob, kettle and fridge freezer. However it lacked basic things like oven gloves, oil, sieve etc... only staying for a couple of nights we were not going to buy all of this so it made cooking a little tricky. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1402
Residence_Maximus, Proprietario at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for review and for your stay in Maximus Residence. each review are very important for us to improve our service. About washing machine we proposed you to wash your dress because in your flat there wasn't washing machine. we have an office a few metres from apartment and our staff has been available for you for all...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 24 July 2016

It's clean. The bedding is horrible. The pillows are thin like paper the sleeping sofa is broke and is noise like crazy. We switched our room to the suit because of the smell in the bathroom. The suite was in front of the colosseum which had a nice view but the window is not keeping the noises so you think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Residence_Maximus, Responsabile reception at Residence Maximus, responded to this review

Hi Helen, thanks for your comment. We are sorry you had problems in sleeping, the suite is in an ancient building, so it has ancient windows and the view on Colosseo is beautiful but near the monument is always very noisy for taxi, people coming and going, car passing through: it's the heart of Rome! Next time we suggest you...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#702 of 1,292 in Rome
130 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#552 of 1,292 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#390 of 3,734 in Rome
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#470 of 3,734 in Rome
56 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#434 of 3,734 in Rome
255 reviews
Monti
Imperial Rooms
Imperial Rooms
#1,374 of 3,734 in Rome
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residence Maximus is in Rome's central Celio hill, right above the Colosseum. It has guest rooms as well as apartments with cooking facilities, and all units feature free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The rooms are cleaned daily and each one has a private bathroom. The apartments include a kitchenette and a washing machine, which are available for longer stays. All units are furnished with modern furniture. The area surrounding the Maximus Residence is also famous for the clubs and restaurants of the pedestrian area in Via di San Giovanni in Laterano. Colosseo Metro Station, Line B, is just over a quarter mile away and is 2 stops from Termini Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Maximus

Address: Piazza del Colosseo 9, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: €82 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Maximus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Maximus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Maximus staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Residence Maximus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms have lofts”
 of 5 bubbles LizzieQQQQ, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We had room number 5, which had red decor throughout and a very modern en suit bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles JaninaM991, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2