We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
49 Casa Vida, 30397 Cartagena, Municipality of Cartagena Spain
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Trip.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Pool & Beach (6)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 17 Specialty lodging in Cartagena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Comfortable spaces and bedrooms that have been suitably designed for your comfort and well-being. You can enjoy secluded Mediterranean gardens with mature plants and trees. Alternatively the terraced swimming pool garden, with sunbeds, umbrellas and seating is the perfect place to sunbathe and chill out.
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pool / beach towels
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
44Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karen R wrote a review Oct 2018
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom10 contributions
I came to the Tara Cass retreat in June. I loved it so much, I booked again, and have returned this week, to enjoy mosaic instruction, for a week. The retreat is a lovely space to relax, unwind, and have some 'me' time. As a solo traveller, I feel so well looked after, and safe. The food is home cooked, and quite delicious, the onus on healthy eating, but there is plentiful. Mosaic tuition from resident mosaic artist, is second to none. Very informative, and patient. His love of teaching mosaic art, shines through. This is not for party people. The retreat is rural, but not too far from the beach, or Cartegena town, which is quaint, and well worth a visit. Viv, and Dan, the hosts make you so welcome. I feel so relaxed, and well looked after. I would highly recommend this retreat if you wish to learn mosaics, or improve your skills. There is a large get swimming pool, and a scented garden, to sit and relax. 5 star!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 3 Oct 2018
Thank you Karen, how lovely to see a review when you are actually here. You are also a very lovely guest and a talented mosaic artist in the making. We are grateful for your warm and happy company with us here in this sunny October. enjoy the rest of your week Viv and Dan xx
Read more
CJGKRPNN wrote a review Aug 2018
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
I've just got home from a wonderful few days at Tara Casa. It really is a place to go to get away from it all, the house is set in a little village around 9km from the town of Cartagena. And get away from it all we did! Yoga in the mornings and mosaicing for as many hours as we fancied in the day, with regular breaks for dips in the pool and the lovely vegetarian meals, made with fresh local produce. I felt so relaxed, enjoying Dan's gentle humour and the setting's sounds and smells of local birds and flowers. I'd highly recommend it to anyone wanting to relax, exercise and get creative!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 30 Aug 2018
Thank you, we are so happy you enjoyed it Viv and Dan x
Read more
Caroline R wrote a review Jun 2018
Warwick, United Kingdom224 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
This retreat was booked through my yoga teacher who had used this facility in previous years. The house is in a quaint little village surrounded by almond groves and located in a very rural area. We had a hire car which I was very glad of as we were able to visit the local town cartagena or pop to the shops. There is nothing within walking distance so if you don’t have a car you’d be reliant on taxis. The house is very much a home, not a hotel; it’s a bit like staying at a friends house. That will suit some people but not others. There is a communal dining area as well as lounge. A fridge is available for guests use. There is also water available at all times as well as tea, coffee and milk. All the food is vegetarian and prepared by the hosts. The package we had paid for included brunch served around 10.30am and dinner at 7.30 pm. If you are not used to long breaks between meals you may wish to consider providing your own snacks to keep you going. I shared a small double room with its own ensuite. There were two single beds and some storage. A hairdryer was provided and there were some toiletries available in the bathroom. Each bedroom has its own aircon unit. Towels are provided. There is a pool at the property but no hot-tub as described in previous reviews. The gardens are lovely and well planned and in two separate sections. The outdoor yoga studio is great, but sadly we were plagued by flies so we took all our classes indoors in the air-conditioned studio. The hosts are keen dog rescuers. If you have a dog allergy or really don’t like dogs then this probably isn’t the place for you. You don’t see the dogs a lot but when you do they are all well behaved. Not a problem for me as I have a dog at home. It’s a real break from the outside world - a chance to relax and unwind. Closest airport is San Javier approx 30 mins by car.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 30 Jun 2018
Hi Caroline, thank you for your review. We do have different options with Yoga teachers, so we can do breakfast, lunch and dinner but most teachers prefer the brunch and dinner option, for their groups, it works well around the itinerary. Usually solo guests opt for 3 meals a day and groups for the previous option, some like to make a space, in order to have an eating out option. Flies can be a nuisance at certain times, I think a mix of some damp weather and hot weather coming in makes it worse, and also spanish countryside can attract them. It was a shame as we erected the Yoga marquee especially for this group, as they used it most days last year. I hope next time you come it will be better. Its definitely out of the way but we have a great taxi guy, who always comes when we need him, or Dan and I often take people to the beach, or to town, if there is only one or 2 people - for a small charge, full taxi is obviousy more cost effective, so we make ourselves available when needed. Cartagena and beach are 15 to 20 minutes in the car, as you discovered The hot tub has been taken off just a few weeks ago and taken off the website. We are really hoping that next year we will have something else in its place, possible a sauna - watch this space. It was getting a bit tired, having been there for 10 years. We hope to see you again in the future Viv and Dan
Read more
Penny B wrote a review Jun 2018
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom2 contributions
I have just spent a truly relaxing week at Tara Casa full of yoga, mosaic and sunshine by the pool. A place to really chill and get away from everything, I only went out once in the whole week. The accommodation is clean and homely and hosts Dan and Viv could not be more friendly and helpful. Although not a vegetarian myself, the food all cooked by Dan, was absolutely delicious! This was the second visit to Tara Casa and I would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Frondyoga wrote a review Jun 2018
Inverness, United Kingdom1 contribution
This was my second year taking a group of yoga students for a yoga retreat at Tara Casa and, again, it was a wonderfully relaxing, healing and fun week. Dan and Viv are perfect hosts, on hand whenever we needed anything, and infusing the villa with their warm, homely vibe. The food was great, the rooms were clean, the yoga studio perfect for our classes and the optional mosaic-making added an extra element of fun to the week - Dan's patience as a teacher is amazing! The outside world feels a million miles away here and it is the perfect place to slow down and unwind, although trips to the mountains, sea or Cartagena are easily arranged if you want to explore. We really enjoyed excellent holistic massages from the fabulous visiting masseuse, Carlos, and the dogs are a wonderful additional therapy (although if you don't like dogs you won't see them - Dan and Viv are very sensitive about this). I highly recommend Tara Casa and will no doubt be back for more of the same next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 26 Jun 2018
Thank you so much Becky Dan and Viv
Read more
knitwoollysocks wrote a review Jun 2018
Yorkshire1 contribution
I had a wonderful 5 day yoga retreat at Tara Casa at the end of May. The accommodation was clean and homely and we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Dan and Viv. As a vegetarian I was in heaven. Every meal was delicious, freshly prepared and plentiful. Tara Casa has a great pool that is surrounded by pretty vegetation and secluded from neighboring properties. Between yoga classes, meals and crafting ( optional!) we enjoyed quiet, restful afternoons in the Spanish sunshine, dipping into the pool to cool off. This was the perfect place to unwind. Thanks Dan and Viv!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 9 Jun 2018
Thank you Dan and Viv
Read more
Chartersmead wrote a review Jun 2018
Ingleby Cross, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
I have just spent a relaxing four days at Tara Casa with friends on a yoga holiday. It was extremely relaxing, having the feel of a welcoming home with excellent food and facilities. Our hosts, Dan and Viv were friendly but non obtrusive and were available if we had any queries. The accommodation was clean and homely, and the meals each day were so good that no-one in our group noticed that they were all vegetarian. For those that wanted to do so,there was the opportunity to do mosaics which was great fun, but there was also ample opportunity to relax around the pool and take advantage of the beautiful weather. It would not suit anyone wanting a lively holiday with bars/restaurants and night life as there is very little around the villa but is an ideal holiday for anyone wanting to escape from the stresses of life.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 6 Jun 2018
Thank you Viv and Dan
Read more
J P wrote a review Jun 2018
Yarm, United Kingdom3 contributions
I haven't been abroad for ages so this was a great way to start using my passport again. I shared a room, with a spacious bathroom, with a friend and we were both very comfortable. The studio was light and airy and perfect for our yoga classes. We had all our meals outside. The food was delicious and although I am not a vegetarian, Dan could easily convert me! The pool is large and is surrounded by lovely plants. The sun beds are arranged at either end of the pool but can easily be moved. I felt so relaxed in this home from home and would happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 6 Jun 2018
Thank you :) Viv and Dan
Read more
kerrdra wrote a review Jun 2018
Yarm, United Kingdom1 contribution
One of the best weeks of my life! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, tranquillity reigned. Viv and Dan could not have been more helpful, always there in the background to provide for every need (but never imposing). I especially loved my little attic room - it was very cute and cosy but still had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. The food was incredible, and it was exciting to see what was on offer each day. I was very proud of the mosaic I made (cough - thanks Dan). Hopefully will be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 6 Jun 2018
Thank you so much from both of us. We will keep your room especially for you for next year. Viv and Dan
Read more
Daisy C wrote a review May 2018
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
A very warm welcome received from Viv and Dan who couldn't have been more helpful. I confess I was disappointed with the size of the room and ensuite allocated to my friend and I, although given that it is a home from home, this was more to do with my expectations. The communal spaces were comfortable to use and enjoy. The delicious wholesome food (as mentioned in other reviews) and other amenities were all very good indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from PIlatesYogaTaraCasa, Owner at Tara Casa
Responded 30 May 2018
Hi Daisy, we are glad you enjoyed it apart from the room. It is our smallest room and shower and if you return, we will make sure when the group rooms are allocated, that you will benefit from one of the bigger rooms. Thank you Viv and Dan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainRegion of MurciaMunicipality of CartagenaCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tara Casa
Which popular attractions are close to Tara Casa?
Nearby attractions include Playa El Portus (7.1 km), Puerto De Cartagena (7.5 km), and Ceip Beethoven Cartagena (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tara Casa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Tara Casa?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, an oven, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at Tara Casa?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tara Casa?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tara Casa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Tikka, Casa Beltri, and El Trovador.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tara Casa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Tara Casa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa del Comandante (7.5 km), Depósito De Juan Paca (5.6 km), and Torre Del Moro (2.1 km).
Is Tara Casa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.