We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel

Save
Share
Paseo Alfonso XIII 40, 30203 Cartagena, Municipality of Cartagena Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$86
View deal
Priceline
US$74
View deal
Hotels.comUS$86
TravelocityUS$86
HurbUS$101
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 12 hotels in Cartagena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4-star Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII is located in the main avenue of Cartagena, where you can walk to all the monuments and tourist areas of the city. The hotel offers various services such as free wireless Internet in all areas of the hotel and even great ideal to celebrate your best events (congresses, meetings, weddings, ...) lounges. Our 7 meeting rooms are equipped with audiovisual technology and services that may be used in any event in Cartagena . Sercotel Hotel Alfonso XIII offers 124 completely renovated in 2018 with a modern and elegant style. Whirlpool in all rooms . Hydromassage and shower cabin in the double superior room and junior suite Bicycle rentals and concerted gym. Citywide mobile (portable minirouter) WIFI. Free tea/coffee service in the room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
160Reviews5Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 41
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The-Nolans-Liverpool wrote a review 8 Aug
Liverpool, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
First time in Sercotel Fabulous hotel 10 pleasant walk to centre or 15 minutes to port . Had a,family suite which was two very spacious rooms coffe machine and fridge. Beds very comfortable air conditioning perfect and rooms very quiet. All perfect. Breakfast very good although plenty of bakeries close by. Maria Jose the chamber maid was so very helpful we couldn't figure out the coffee machine and she very helpfullly sorted it out. Her customer care was excellent. Maria Jose on reception was also very friendly and helpful Cartagena is a lovely small city went to the music festival seen 91 year Cuban Legend Omara in an amazing open air amphitheatre. Will definitely stay in a Sercotel again and highly recommend this one Many thanks mucho gracias
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
luckyd2005 wrote a review Oct 2021
Surfside, Florida158 contributions31 helpful votes
We stayed for just one night on June 2017 and the experience was terrible. First, our prepaid reservation disappeared even with the printed confirmation on hand and front desk staff was mot to happy to honor the rate. Second, elevator to the lobby wasn’t working, therefore we had to carry our luggage because no one there to help. And third and worst, air conditioning wasn’t working at all. We call the front desk and a maintenance guy came and checked and said that the room should be cold in 30 minutes or less. We went to dine out and when back to the room it was still incredible hot. Calling again the front desk we were told that maintenance people were already gone for the day, so they offered a portable ac. Next morning the room was flood, including the carpet because the portable ac. No apologies or discounts for the inconvenience. Since this bad experience, we try to avoid hotels from this brand.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
martin r wrote a review Sep 2021
34 contributions36 helpful votes
Firstly not very disable friendly, there is no disable slope to get into the hotel,and the lifts unusable because of no way to turn. No guarantee of parking, no bar because they say covid, the other 2000 restaurants and bars are open. No shelves in bathroom for your toiletries they say satellite TV but apart from bbc news none. I'm sorry but they can't and I mean can't call this a 4 star hotel and just to add there are building works going on all day. Barely a 2 star hotel I hope they offer me a refund. Very unhappy Martin Radford JP 0
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kmer0807 wrote a review Sep 2021
34 contributions
Highly recommend this hotel excellent service, clean room, good ac, comfortable beds, excellent location, really good breakfast buffet, affordable. Everything is in walking distance, they have a good transit system as well. Safe area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Colin D wrote a review Sep 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom62 contributions16 helpful votes
Booked in for a 2 night midweek stay with friends for a sight seeing visit for a members birthday. The hotel it's self is very clean and decorated to a good standard, the room was big and we had plenty of room, the bathroom was great with a spacious shower. The only small issue we had was that the aircon wasn't great but not bad enough to spoil the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trekker2020 wrote a review Sep 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia1953 contributions346 helpful votes
Conveniently located in Cartagena, the hotel is modern, clean and well appointed. There is parking right next to it, but there are other options that the receptionist will gladly share. The rooms were massive and extremely clean. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff was very helpful. We walked to the historic part of town from the hotel and it was very easy. I will definitely stay here next time I am in beautiful Cartagena!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Roger U wrote a review Oct 2020
Church Gresley, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent a month working in Cartagena staying at this hotel. My room was up on the 9th floor so minimal traffic noise. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Housekeeping didn't just make the bed but also changed the bedding most days. Laundry was left out at 6pm when I went to work and back 6am when I returned. Look oit for Maria and Mariano the loveliest receptionists. They will happily give you the inside frack on the best parts of Cartagena and are really friendly. I would actively look to return to Cartagena for a holiday and stay in this hotel by choice, after a month there I couldn't fault it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Carlos Garcia, Director General at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Thank you very much for sharing your experience to your stay in the hotel, and we are delighted to know that you felt good in it. I am going to forward your kind comments to Maria José and Mariano. Have a nice day. Juan Carlos García General Manager
Read more
Richard A wrote a review Jul 2020
Ingleby Barwick, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice hotel on main road into town 20 / 25 min walk from centre and port . Our room on 7 floor so no noise, room was a Deluxe for € 75, hotel was Quiet as was Cartagena due to Covid 19. Hotel was clean and so was the room , shower was great , good water pressure. Air con not that great in the room, large room small air con flow , ok for one night though . Staff and reception did everything they could during a difficult time and difficult period ,Covid 19, to make us feel safe and welcome. Reception also recommended a great Tapas in town which we used . Well done the hotel under these circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Carlos Garcia, Director General at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the hotel and for your confidence. Best regards. Juan Carlos García General Manager
Read more
luckyd2005 wrote a review May 2020
Surfside, Florida158 contributions31 helpful votes
We stayed for just one night on June 2017 and the experience was terrible. First, our prepaid reservation disappeared and even with the printed confirmation the front desk could find our room. Air conditioning was not working when we finally checked in, we called maintenance and someone came and "fixed" but said to give it like 30 to 45 min to cool the room. Meanwhile we went to eat and see the city, just to realize when we were back that the AC was still not working at all. The front desk responded was that the maintenance crew was already gone for the day and the only solution was a portable AC. Not only was noise and big, and all the outside sound were in the room since we need to opened a window to place the hot AC exhaust, but we wake up a room completely wet, the carpet was soaked because they never took care or place a bucket to get the water from the portable unit. The breakfast was included but was so poor and looks so bad that we went to eat outside. No apologies at all for all the inconvenient from the hotel. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Carlos Garcia, Director General at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2020
Dear customer, I am very sorry for your inconveniences at the hotel three years ago.I would like to tell you that we finished a complete refurbishment last year and I am sure that our new hotel would be really appreciated by you now. Best regards Juan Carlos García General Manager
Read more
AlanONYC wrote a review Nov 2019
Ardsley on Hudson, NY314 contributions118 helpful votes
Great location for walking major sites of Cartagena, parking garage right there too. Good clean rooms try and get one in front with view first room we got was not but staff accommdating when complained
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room on front higher floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Carlos G, Director General at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2019
Dear guest, I appreciate that you have shared your experience in our hotel and we are happy to know that it was satisfying for you. Have a nice day! Juan Carlos García General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western cartagena, cartagena best western
LOCATION
SpainRegion of MurciaMunicipality of CartagenaCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museo Historico Militar de Cartagena (0.4 km), Punic Wall (0.5 km), and Basilica de la Caridad (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Magoga, A LA BRASA Taberna Mediterránea, and El Revellin.
Is Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cartagena.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sercotel Alfonso XIII Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arsenal de Cartagena (0.9 km), Cerro del Molinete Archaeological Park (0.5 km), and Cartagena Puerto de Culturas (0.7 km).