We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Laris

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostal Laris
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We stayed over Easter, with 3 kids, and had a good break, but with hindsight would have preferred to have spent a bit more money to stay in a nicer hotel (in a similar location). This hotel is in a great location for visiting Madrid. Almost everything is within walking distance. There are also some good places to eat. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank I W
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This budget hotel is perfectly situated two minutes walk from gran via metro station and many of the central city attractions. For the price it offers comfort and security although, understandably not the service you would expect from a four/five star hotel. The location did have several working people, both tradesmen/builders in the daytime and working ladies in the evening.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nworknet
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Dear Nworknet, Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Laris Hostel in Madrid. We have passed all your valued comment to all employees. We are glad to hear that the location was great for you and also the general value for money. We hope to see you in your next trip to Madrid and be... More 

Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

the reception was rather dull but the staff were very pleasant. when i go to my room it is VERY tired and TV didnt work the stool in the bathroom had died and gone to heaven i think ! it wasnt dirty but not great ! The location is wonderful right next to the grand vie and some good shops!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda W
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Dear Lynda W, Firstly, we would like to thank you for having shared your comments about your stay al the Hostel Laris at TripAdvisor site. We would like to explain you that the Laris is a HOSTEL not a Hotel So, this is the reason why you could be a little confused about the rating and also regarding your expectations.... More 

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed four nights at the Laris over Christmas. Very professional and friendly staff, nice, large room, and everything was clean and functional. The location was perfect for me (it's two minutes from Gran Via metro station, right between the hip cafes of Malasana and the crowds of the large avenues). I had a great time!

Helpful?
3 Thank XavierB499
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review

Hell Xavier, Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hostel through TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a good stay and the location of the Laris was great. All of them help us to keep improving the service and work hard for our guests. We hope to see you soon in... More 

south africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good breakfast, clean rooms and excellent location near Gran Via metro - many eateries and coffee shops near - the hostal is in a downtown city sidestreet but the general location makes up for this - supermarket near the hostal - carpets are clean but old and need to be replaced. The breakfast is very good compared to other hostals.

Helpful?
2 Thank dekoker
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I've stayed in many hotels across the world but this was by far the worst that I have experienced. Didn't have our booking so put us in the last remaining rooms, no air conditioning, bed bugs!, mattress which sunk in the middle, no toiletries. I ended up staying in my friends room as we had nowhere else to stay on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 46col_12

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

great location 1 block to bus and metro routes. elevator and private bath for hostal rates staff not 100% english speaking, but enough to get points across and very helpful

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were 1 minute away from the Gran Via and 2 minutes from the metro station. A lot of shops and restaurants around, especially cafe la Luz was a favorite! The rooms are quite noisy though...

Helpful?
Thank hhollandd
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I travelled as Single to Madrid mainly for party and Nightlife. I always book a double room for two person in order to avoid discussion in case I take someone to my room and I expect from a hotel privacy. In this hotel, it was not possible. They would start a process of registration and ask my gust an ID.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Francesco V
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We arrived late Friday night and were told there was a problem with our room, althought we had validated our booking the day before. We were mooved to a lesser quality hotel, thus not being with our friends. The hotel was even smaller (no air con, no bath tub ect)but cheaper. But Laris Hotel debited the full price from my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Vince02

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#347 of 447 in Madrid
34 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#353 of 447 in Madrid
47 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Plaza D'ort
Hostal Plaza D'ort
#355 of 447 in Madrid
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Valencia
Hostal Valencia
#291 of 447 in Madrid
143 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#100 of 447 in Madrid
3,254 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Continental
Hostal Continental
#357 of 447 in Madrid
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Malasana

Neighbourhood Profile
Malasana
Hip bars and galleries, independent theaters and music venues, young people with tattoos and funky hair, narrow winding streets — this is Malasaña. Near the center, Plaza Dos de Mayo is a gathering of friends outside bars, dog owners, artists under craft tents, and creative types with notebooks and sketchpads on the plaza’s benches. It may not be as neat and tidy as many other parts of the city, but this only adds to the Malasaña edge. Shops and bars here range from hippie-crunchy to upscale trendy, and on weekends, the streets are bustling around the clock as the nightlife progresses from dinner to bar to disco to late-night food. On the west side of the neighbourhood is the subdistrict called Conde Duque, named after a large pink fort in its center that has been converted into a cultural center for exhibitions and performances. Prettier yet just as edgy, this intimate corner of Malasaña is home to a young international community.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hostal Laris

Address: Calle Barco 3, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Price Range: €41 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Laris 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hostal Laris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Laris Madrid
Hostal Laris Hotel Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Laris staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostal Laris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room without any neighbours.”
 of 5 bubbles 554iw, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i only saw one !!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 202lyndaw, 6 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Try to get a room not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles dekoker, 9 Oct 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay