We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal San Lorenzo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal San Lorenzo
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal San Lorenzo
 Click to rate
Edina, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Conveniently located, this hotel fulfills those with basic needs. The rooms have French doors with a very small balcony overlooking a square and the street. The staff is knowledgeable about transportation options, directions, and attractions (however one member did not know when museums were closed). Rooms are clean. The bathroom is fine, but would be tight for a large person.

Thank TCKoon
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Booked San Lorenzo as part of a budget Easyjet break and was really pleased with what the hotel had to offer. The hotel was a 25 minute (€30) drive from the airport and is positioned in a really central location to explore the city. We were greeted by a helpful man on reception who offered to show us directions to...

Thank Eve W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

My single room was small, and the bathroom very compact. It overlooked a laneway with noise from adjoining restaurant equipment. Furnishings were average but generally comfortable. Wi-Fi was excellent. Breakfast was somewhat basic (eg, pre-toasted bread, low-cost cereals) but adequate. Reception staff ranged from wonderfully helpful to fairly disinterested. The reception and hallways all reflect a more luxurious experience than...

Thank Allan L
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 8 October 2016

A very "basic" older property like the ones I frequented in the 1980s. That said, the hotel provided all the creature comforts (including black-out drapes) and I had great corner old style balcony room with views of the nearby "happening" square. If your looking for "cool" or "glitz", this is not for you. Room Mate Oscar is right across the...

Thank jgb10011
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I have paid 399 Euros for a room with 3 beds which would have been worth 100 Euros. The Hotel is old fashioned, very badly equipped, if you are bigger than 175 cm you will not fit into their beds. It is never a 3 Star Hotel. I cannot recommend this place and would never stay there again.

Thank Ale x
Caernarfon, North Wales
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The location was excellent, the room was plain but fine and the cost was reasonable. It was very clean and the breakfast was as expected and offered good value, so we had it every day. What was a little frustrating was little things, which brought it down; one of the metal window shutters...

Thank jim006
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Fairly basic hotel, but if all you want is a place to stay so you can explore the city then it fulfills that need. Room and bathroom were okay. Breakfast buffet was pretty poor in my opinion and unless you have it included it is €5 per day. Staff were all good. Overall it was an okay place to stay,...

Thank Morgan F
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, they are helping in any situation , the room are very clean and big and they were doing cleaning every day, bath also very clean, if L'll be in Madrid I'll prefer to stay In San LOrenzo, The location is great heart of Madrid, everyplace is near.

1Thank Gana A
FFVHSL, Director de Recepción at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this review

Dear costumer, Thank you for your contribution. We hope to see you again. Best regards, H. San Lorenzo

Paruzzaro, Italy
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my schoolmates for a school trip and we were expecting to have a hard time as some reviews were extremely low: It turned out that Hostal San Lorenzo was a good hotel, the breakfast room was a bit small but as we were ~40 people it was understandable how we could not all have...

1Thank iRoxas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Brilliant location, very pleasant staff, with perfectly adequate rooms. Had room 109, which is at the rear, and during the night is absolutely silent. Twin room, small TV, all UK or USA made programs can play in original language if you can handle the remote , a small bath with shower over, heater/cooler in the bedroom. Good price.

1Thank bagabroad

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (56)
Room/Suite (25)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Bathroom (5)
Dining (1)
View from Room (2)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (68)
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Room/Suite (13)
Dining (8)
View from Room (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
#140 of 445 in Madrid
644 reviews
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#321 of 445 in Madrid
271 reviews
Hostal Montecarlo
Hostal Montecarlo
#307 of 445 in Madrid
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#178 of 445 in Madrid
219 reviews
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#136 of 445 in Madrid
558 reviews
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#274 of 445 in Madrid
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chueca

Neighbourhood Profile
Chueca is the hip, gay neighbourhood of Madrid where many of the streets are narrow and intimate, but where the hustle and bustle and the eclectic storefronts and people give it a distinctly urban feel. The main thoroughfare is Calle Hortaleza and the main square is Plaza Chueca, completely filled with terraza tables serving copas (mixed drinks) during summer. A mixture of trendy and grungy, some of the adult businesses here are explicitly racy in their signage. From the rainbow flags to the signs above the entrances of its many funky bars, to the date spot restaurants, Chueca is a vibrant and colorful place. It's always interesting to explore the different corners of Chueca by day, and by night, the area becomes a major nightlife destination when the clubs open their doors.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
H. San Lorenzo has been recently remodelated on the most part of it's installations, situated in a beautiful historical and artistic building, everything is set up to make your stay unforgettable. We offer a vast array of rooms: single, double, triple, quadruple and familiar, all with their own ensuite full bathrooms and free wifi connection, wide windows to enjoy the spectacular views over Vazquez de Mella Square. Within our services are included transfer to the airport, optional breakfast, information service over serveral topics and, above all, a personal treatment from our multilingual receptionists and everyone in our personnel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Price Range: €58 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal San Lorenzo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Clayton-le-Dale, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal San Lorenzo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the upper floor facing the street are attractive, but may be a bit noisy for some.”
 of 5 bubbles TCKoon, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles jgb10011, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the window shutters work as it is in a noisy district.”
 of 5 bubbles jim006, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great Hotel, Nice Staff, Excellent location”
 of 5 bubbles gayana188, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 102.”
 of 5 bubbles ZoricaSr, 14 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5