We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parador "Hostal San Marcos"

Show Prices
#3 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Parador \"Hostal San Marcos\"
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Start your review of Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
 Click to rate
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently returned to the Parador de León, which really is an amazing experience. Located in a late medieval hiatal for walker's on the Camino del Santiago it retains many of its original features and one of the things we enjoyed the most about this place was wandering the hallways, church and courtyard. We took the guided tour offered by...

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietten683
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review

Dear customer: We are pleased enormously to know their assessment, and have been so at ease. We'd like to inform you that the Parador is planning its closure for renovation for the month of October 17. We transmit your congratulations to the team of the Parador. We hope to see you soon in San Marcos

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is worth every penny. Private parking and breakfast included. Just follow the parking signs. It is a beautiful building and very cosy and not at all posh. If you go through the bar you can sit outside on a lovely terrace with trees. Great complimentary nuts. Room is really big with balcony and Good WiFi. Ten minutes walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith N
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review

Dear customer: Thank you for making us know your valuation and who have visited the Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos and have been so at ease. We transmit reviews team the Parador We wish to see you soon in San Marcos

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the very cool things about Spain are Paradores. In a nutshell, they are usually old convents, monasteries, or palaces that have been transformed into luxury accommodations. I recently had the the luck of visiting and staying at the Parador de San Marcos in Leon. If you like the modern/chic aesthetic this is not for you. If you happen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy_Was_Here
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review

Dear customer: We are delighted of know your valuation and that have visited the Parador of León Hostel of San Marcos. We transmit the congratulations to the team of the Parador. We thank you for your visit and comments. We want to see you again in San Marcos

Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The ancient hospital of pilgrims in the Way of Saint James is the ideal complement for a visit to the many historic buildings of León, all at walking distance. The rooms are big and well equipped, so as the bar and restaurant. Only the wi-fi was weak in the room, but fully useful to download the newspaper in the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank homedelsac
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Indicarle...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

This is an amazing Parador in the heart of Leon - a palace of a place with modern bedrooms added on at the rear. Our first impression was appalling - I was barked at by the receptionist for not immediately producing my passport, but when I returned with it the next receptionist was quite charming. We didn't eat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Les...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The two nights we spent in a suite in the historic part of this supposed 5 star hotel was the worst (and most expensive) accommodation of our entire trip throughout Spain and Portugal. The bed was hard, the pillows even harder, the linens scratchy, the wifi barely functioned, the room was drafty, one refrigerator did not work and the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigintrepidTraveler
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Indicarle...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We booked a two night, half board stay at this hotel, including the special Christmas Eve 'Nochebuena" dinner for which we paid a supplementary €40 per person. We had a very comfortable room in the newer wing of the hotel, furnished in the same style that ran through the hotel, solid wood doors and comfortable furnishings. The Nochebuena was superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 328guest
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Indicarle...

Montayral, France
Reviewed 28 December 2016

we stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas 2016. We arrived on 24/12 & were booked in for the Special Christmas Dinner where about 250 of us enjoyed a superb meal attended by first class waiting staff who attended to our every need & made the whole experience so much more enjoyable. Our room was clean, comfortable , warm &...

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pembler
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Les...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 26 December 2016

While the food was outstanding, the bed and room left somewhat to be desired: bed was cheap, on casters with no brakes, rolled away from the wall if you tried to rest your back on the headboard, which was merely propped between the bed in the wall (rather than affixed to either), and the mattress (or bed) was exceedingly squeaky.

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9700VNluisr
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos. Indicarle...

Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We arrived to a very warm welcome form the car park attendant, however walking into the hotel I was shocked to see how shabby the exterior of the building was. The check in was fine and we were accompanied to our hotel bedroom. The corridor was very dark (5th floor) and during our stay we had difficulty in finding the...

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBWORK
Alberto S, Gerente at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente: Nos agrada saber su valoracion y que hayan visitado el Parador de León Hostal de San Marcos que...

1,652 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (347)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (572)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Double Room with Salon (27)
Viewed
Quevedo Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
The Tower (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
1.4 km away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
1.4 km away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.6 km away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
474 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Real Colegiata de San Isidoro
1.9 km away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hostal de San Marcos is one of the most extraordinary historic hotels on the Old Continent. Construction of the building was begun in the 16th century, together with the bridge across the River Bernesga in the outskirts of León. It was built to house the peninsula's western headquarters for the Military Order of Saint James. The project was financed by King Ferdinand the Catholic. The magnificent hotel is a museum of stately function rooms, with a spectacular cloister and chapter house; spacious, elegant guest rooms; a library; and a wonderful restaurant that offers beautifully prepared traditional cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Parador "Hostal San Marcos"

Address: Plaza San Marcos 7, 24001 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Price Range: €112 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador "Hostal San Marcos" 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Parador "Hostal San Marcos" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Leon Hotel Leon
Parador De Leon León
Parador De Leon Hotel León
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leon
#2 Business Hotel in Leon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Parador "Hostal San Marcos" staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Parador "Hostal San Marcos" staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the room named Quevedo for a special treat, or otherwise room 559”
 of 5 bubbles 555ya, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“5th floor was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Vonaljo1, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do Not Stay Here!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 172margaretc, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel bit noisy as tent venue nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles Jo62Bloggs, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the front of the hotel or you will walk a mile.”
 of 5 bubbles LafayetteBud, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5