We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$131
View Deal
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$132
FindHotel
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (232)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (237)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Tigaiga
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
4Attractionswithin 0.5 km
343Reviews19Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 280
  • 52
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nuffinbettatwodo wrote a review May 2020
Calne, United Kingdom26 contributions11 helpful votes
We can't praise this wonderful family-owned hotel enough in every aspect of its long established operation in a quiet and gorgeous parkland location above the Puerto of Puerto de La Cruz. The rooms, the food, the charm and enthusiasm of the experienced management and loyal staff are all exceptionally and so refreshingly rewarding. The clientele, mainly German and British, are a friendly bunch but who respect your privacy, the pool service is excellent and both in the a la carte restaurant and the main dining room you can eat outdoors under the palms of the well kept gardens if you ask to do that. The current young family members who run the hotel so enthusiastically well can't do enough for the guests, whom they treat as individuals with individual tastes to ensure you get the best from your experience, including really high quality musical entertainments, and help finding just the venues and shops etc you especially would like. No mass herding of guests here but plenty of good old fashioned service of a kind that has disappeared from so many places today. On top of all these virtues the hotels prices are relatively modest for such an impressive place. One slight downside: If you know Puerto you will know that it's quite a descent on foot to the City and sea shore but a taxi back up to the hotel is only about 2.5 euros. So its not perfect for say, a wheelchaired guest who has not hired a car.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga
Responded 25 May 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your Tigaiga experience with other TripAdvisor users. It is a great pleasure to read your highly complimentary review. We are really delighted you enjoyed relaxing holidays appreciating our services and facilities! It would be a pleasure to receive you back in the near future: keep safe! Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Read more
mazjohn wrote a review Mar 2020
Marchwood, United Kingdom43 contributions54 helpful votes
We were back for our 5th stay, again for 3 weeks, and as always we have enjoyed our stay although we were a little disappointed not to get a room on the 3rd floor as we always ask for a higher floor. All the staff here are always friendly and helpful and we see the same faces every year which is nice. We stay on half board and the food at breakfast and dinner is excellent. We like the mix of buffet and waiter service so please don't ever do away with the waiters! We were there during La Calima - the sandstorm and wind from the Sahara. It devastated the beautiful gardens but the garden crew worked so hard to clear up and get everything looking lovely again. Luckily we came home just before the coronavirus situation got worse but we are very much hoping we will be able to go back next year. We wish all at the Tigaiga good health and hope to see you all next year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Teide side are sunniest but both sides have lovely views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thank you for your Tigaiga visit and for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor travellers. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed an overall pleasant stay and that you have appreciated our hotel’s services and facilities. It would be a pleasure to receive you back in the near future to enjoy another relaxing holiday KEEP SAFE Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Read more
HD5349 wrote a review Mar 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom33 contributions43 helpful votes
We arrived in Tenerife early afternoon on Monday 24th February, having feared that our flight would be cancelled due to the huge sandstorm that had raged over the previous 2 days, but we were fortunate. Our first impression of Hotel Tigaiga was favourable, however once in our room, and unpacking, warm air was coming out of the vent, and attempting to turn the air conditioning on, failed. A quick walk down to reception, and it was explained to me that in fact the hotel did not have a full air conditioning system, ie (When it was very hot) it could be activated, and otherwise it was off. This is extremely unsatisfactory, as the website states quite misleadingly "Air conditioning" as a feature of the hotel. We had opted for Half Board option, and the breakfast was excellent (Although the selection of bread could have been fresher, and not feel as it had been defrosted that morning), but we had only one evening meal, which was poor. Thus we decided in the evenings to use the A la Carte restaurant(At extra cost ), which was fine on our first night, but went steadily downhill after that. The waiting staff did not seem to have a good command of English, and after seating us at the table and taking our drinks order, tended to disappear for 10/15 minutes. One of the management team, Ursula, sampled the tasteless ravioli on one occasion and agreed with our negative comments. Food apart, the hotel is a delightful place to stay and set in wonderful tropical gardens, which had been badly damaged in the sandstorm, but were very swiftly being restored to normal by a dedicated team of gardeners. The owners, three siblings, are of Germanic descent, and a significant majority of the clientele are from their homeland, which manifests itself in what seems excellent German being spoken by the staff. The ladies on the Reception Desk all had faultless English and could not have been more helpful. There are some absolutely charming little touches, such as a greeting design on our table cloth at breakfast on my wife's birthday, together with a card and book. Also on our departure day bon voyage design at breakfast. So thoughtful and unusual. But then a couple of silly negatives, a small daily charge to use the safe in our bedroom and no bottled water provided (We had been told by a member of staff that the tap water in our room was not for drinking) We would certainly return, but take all meals outside of the hotel, except for breakfast, and hope the Air Conditioning tag is removed from the website. New chefs and menu planning would be welcome. I have noticed that managerial comments on previous reviews only concentrated on the positives, and didn't react to negative criticism!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Tigaiga stay in TripAdvisor As spoken with you personally your suggestions are very important to us. We are very sorry, for the misunderstanding with the hotel´s centralised air conditioning system and assure that your suggestions and comments in reference to our a la Carte Restaurant will be taken into account in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Yours sincerely Irene Talg - dirección
Read more
CamdenGuy61 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom48 contributions64 helpful votes
We booked for a week in half term for our family of 4 and have been very happy with the choice. This seems to market itself to mainly older German tourists, I am in my 50th and definitely felt like one of the younger crowed. We did however make a positive choice to choose this hotel because it seemed much more tranquil than many of the more family orientated hotels we looked at. The breakfast was one of the best I have had at any hotel, buffet style with a huge range of choice. The only disappointment was the bacon which was a bit limp and greasy (I like mine crisp) but still a 5 star breakfast. The “a la carte” restaurant was also very good and not overpriced and we had several very enjoyable meals there. The real selling point of this hotel is the gardens in which it is set which are lovely and tranquil and amazing views over the town, it really is possible to spend all day in the hotel and not get stir crazy! The only real negative point is that they don’t have kettles in the room or a fridge so there is no way to keep drinks cold. We got a bucket of ice from the kitchen to cool some cans of coke we bought but they charged me €2 for the ice which left a negative feeling. Plus points Quiet Very pleasant and secluded grounds heated pool Good restaurant Minus points No tea or coffee making facilities in room. No fridge in room or any ice making machines so no way to cool any drinks you might buy in the local supermarket. Limited opening times of bar (clases at 11pm. Charge €1.5 a day for the safe in the room which is a bit petty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for choosing the Tigaiga and for sharing your feedback ! We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed an overall pleasant stay with us and that you have appreciated the breakfast, our subtropical gardens and tranquillity during your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to receive you back in the near future to enjoy another relaxing holiday with us. Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team PS Tea making facilities, fridge, ice can be easily ordered on request, they are seldom required by the majority of our guests.
Read more
jan21102013 wrote a review Feb 2020
Solihull, United Kingdom17 contributions26 helpful votes
We have just returned from a wonderful week at this lovely hotel. From beginning to end every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking Teide and the sea. The rooms were immaculate and everything we needed was provided including a kettle at a small extra cost. There was an extensive choice of cold and hot food at breakfast. We chose the a la carte menu on several evenings and the ample delicious portions were very reasonably priced. The beautiful grounds are well kept and full of stunning tropical vegetation. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your lovely contribution. We are delighted you had a wonderful Tigaiga experience! Your feedback stimulates and helps us to continue improving our service and quality standards. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifePuerto de la Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Tigaiga
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Tigaiga?
Nearby attractions include Parque Taoro (0.09 km), El Rastro del Mercado Municipal del Puerto de la Cruz (0.4 km), and Pub Limbo (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Tigaiga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Tigaiga?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Tigaiga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Tigaiga?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Tigaiga?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alberto's Bar, Al-Amir, and Terraza Taoro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Tigaiga?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Tigaiga have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Tigaiga offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Tigaiga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Tigaiga offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Tigaiga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.