We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Zumalacarregui, 40, 48006 Bilbao Spain
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 5% OFF
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Barcelo.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (188)
360
Panoramas (9)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Bilbao
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 54 in Bilbao
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Welcome to Occidental Bilbao, your Bilbao “home away from home.” Occidental Bilbao aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Basilica of Begoña (0.1 mi) and Plaza Nueva (0.5 mi) make Occidental Bilbao a great place to stay when visiting Bilbao.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Occidental Bilbao offer a flat screen TV.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. Guests of Barcelo Avenida Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant. For travellers arriving by car, parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out La Casita de Sabino, Zapirain, and 18 Lobster Bar, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, La Ribera Market (0.5 mi) and Casco Viejo (0.5 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Occidental Bilbao.

Occidental Bilbao puts the best of Bilbao at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Taxi service
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 5% OFF

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
31Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1031Reviews28Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 545
  • 320
  • 105
  • 40
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Global61428433064 wrote a review Yesterday
Lewes, United Kingdom2 contributions
Needed a hotel with parking for our 2.5m camper. This hotel came up trumps. Very friendly and helpful reception. Large comfortable room with great aircon. Good bar / restaurant snacks. Easy access to centre metro.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jimbo19682015 wrote a review May 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom23 contributions35 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Had booked to stay here at the beginning of May through Hotels.com. The hotel kindly refunded my money that had been paid prior to the Covid outbreak. Will defenitely re-book once this nightmare is over.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerGX, Customer Experience at Occidental Bilbao
Responded 26 May 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our Occidental Bilabo hotel for you stay. We regret not being able to welcome you as planned due to the circunstances. However, we're very pleased to read about your satisfaction on the management of your booking cancellation. We hope you are staying safe and to have the opportunity to receive you in the near future. Customer Experience | Barceló Hotel Group
Read more
neilkelleher1 wrote a review 16 May
County Cork, Ireland1 contribution
A nice hotel on the face of it but felt they didn't genuinely care. One of our main reasons for picking it was swimming pool which is front and centre of all their advertising/marketing, but when we got there it was not in use, an indoor one was available but only at an extra charge. We up graded to a king size room but the room was very small and had no bath. 1st night got a beer at the bar from the tap, which was not very cold, said it to the barman who said "oh I thought that alright" but he had still given it to me and said nothing until I complained wherein he landed something else in front of me with no label on the bottle and walked away. All in all a very disappointing way to round off a lovely Camino experience. You are paying big money and its all very shallow, would be better off staying somewhere smaller where they value your custom.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent standard of service for all our guests, and it appears in this case we fell short. Please do not hesitate to share more details with us, because it is through our guests' feedback that we learn and find ways to improve. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
Read more
jtak843349 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect for us. The food, the pool, comfortable bed, nice shower. The pool was very welcome after walking all the steps down and up again from the old town. Couldn’t wish for more
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ChorleyLichfield wrote a review Sep 2021
Alghero, Italy112 contributions48 helpful votes
We had rooms on the 7th floor and these had the most comfortable beds I’ve ever experienced at an hotel. House keeping was unpredictable and disappointing. Rooms not cleaned and when they were the door was left open. They did eventually supply an ironing board and kettle. The breakfast is comprehensive and good although the hot food is not very hot. The hotel is well located about 15 mins walk to the Old Town and 30mins walk to Guggenheim. The metro is 5 mins from the hotel and Guggenheim is 3 stops away. Parking is 20€ per day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Burç Angan wrote a review Sep 2021
14 contributions5 helpful votes
Beds were not solid furniture. More like mobile platforms. Had 4 feet and 2 wheels. Felt like im sleeping in an extra bed i ordered despite i was expecting a room with a proper queen size bed. Everytime you move it moves under you and you fee like you have to be careful not to slide down. Sleeping at a hotel that i pay 100€ per night?? it was like a joke. Says hotel has parking but here is the tariff: if you stay full duration you pay 20€. if you come to your room for a shower and refreshment and decide the leave for dinner by car, you pay around 10€ AND 20€ the next morning. Good way to make money. i ordered the room including breakfast. But guess what? it starts at 8.00. when ur visiting for business, waiting till 8.00 for breakfast is usually too late. Starting should be 7.00 latest. When i wanted to exclude the breakfast front desk said they can prepare a take-away for me and i said that would be great. They didnt deduct the amount and take-away never came during my whole stay. i paid for the breakfast i could never eat. on the comments it says hotel is pretty close to the center, in walking distance. it is pretty close but no one mentions the hundereds of stairs you need to climb on the way back. dont think that you can walk to center and back if you are not ready for a good climb. last and not least, i choose the hotel because it has a pool and i was thinking maybe icwould enjoy it if i had the chance. But you are limited to a maximum of 1,5h at the pool and you need to book in advance. Never seen such thing in my life, i felt like i was scammed by whats told here about the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
esla702 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We have an unforseen circumstances and required last minute urgen accommodation. The booking was quick and check in was very efficient. By the time we were paying for the room we went from 2 single beds to a luxury double one, perfect for our needs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sventrachsel wrote a review Aug 2021
Dietikon, Switzerland168 contributions118 helpful votes
I would never go back in this hotel. The staff is not helpful at all. There is a super long queue when checkin in. The double room with a dou le bed comes with two single beds. Well errors can happen. But what happened at the pool side is ubelievable. There is 8 sun chairs for all the hotel guests which are occupied all the time. The hotel provides a slot of one hour for every hotel guest to relax on the sun. But even with a reserved time slot, there will be no sun chair guaranteed. So people have to lie down on the grass. All the rest of the sun chairs are empty because they belong to the hotel gym. As there is 8 euros to pay for the gym, there could be a chance to get a chair. It is as well possible to pay 20 euro for the spa and the gym. I‘ve never been in a hotel where it is not possible to use the gym for free. The staff over all is very rough and does not speak english well. There are many nicer hotels for the same price - stay away of this hotel which is even not in the city center.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear Sven, Thank you for sharing your review. We were concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced during your stay, especially because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to deliver to our guests. Please rest assured that your review will be shared with our heads of department for their information and so that it can be addressed. Moreover, all our team members speak English although some may have a higher level than others. Nevertheless, they will always make the best effort they can to understand all our guests and respond promptly to their requirements. We have taken good note of your remarks concerning your check-in experience and apologize for any delay. We appreciate your insight and will do our utmost to improve this aspect of our services; we again extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards, Guest Relations Team
Read more
agu289471690 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is very clean and beds are super comfortable; I appreciated the sustainable choices for shampoo and shower gel. The view from the lobby was great as well you could see the mountains And enjoy a drink. The only thing is that the location is not so much of a walking distance unless you enjoy going up and down the stairs / hills
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao
Responded 1 Sep 2021
Dear Agu, Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We are glad to know that during your stay you were able to enjoy our lobby bar, and also enjoy the views. After the total renovation of the hotel, our huge windows were created with views of the city. It is the fact of being on the Begoña hill that allows us to have these views, but we also need to get to the hotel. For this we can use the comfortable Bilbao metro, made by the famous architect Norman Foster. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Guests Relations Team
Read more
Paula O wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
We had a very good and relaxing time during our holidays in Bilbao and in part thanks to Occidental Barcelo hotel which was well located, fair price for the value, and a very comfortable room. Thanks for all
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao
Responded 1 Sep 2021
Dear Paula, Thank you for posting this kind review about your recent visit. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible with us and it is rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Guests Relations Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo avenida hotel bilbao, barcelo hotel avenida, barcelo hotel bilbao
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao
LOCATION
SpainBasque CountryProvince of VizcayaBilbao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Bilbao
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Bilbao?
Nearby attractions include Guaridaventuras Escape (0.5 km), Leyendas de Sleepy Hollow (0.3 km), and Basilica of Begoña (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Bilbao?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Bilbao?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Bilbao?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Bilbao?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mole Tex Mex, Kebasque, and Restaurante Marisqueria Karlo's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Bilbao?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Bilbao?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Bilbao offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Bilbao?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Occidental Bilbao?
Many travellers enjoy visiting La Ribera Market (0.9 km), Ermita de Santa Agueda (5.1 km), and Cementerio de Derio (4.1 km).